1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE Outs Corrective BIOS Update for GeForce GTX 670 WindForce 3X OC

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 6, 2012.

  1. Therion_I New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    48 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Personally I wouldn't update a gpu bios if I wasn't having an issue and/or the new bios didn't add new features. In this case I definately wouldn't update the bios until Gigabyte come out with something that actually works for all.

    Given that you're running yours on a PCI-E 2.0 you probaby wouldn't realise if you had a faulty card.
    Initialised says thanks.
  2. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,135 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Than guess what? my problematic GTX670 WF? runs on my 2500K system. It had problems before.
  3. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    849 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Were you having artifacts while in game? And was the card overclocked or stock settings?
    Initialised says thanks.
  4. Therion_I New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    48 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Then it was running on PCI-E 2.0 and thus was a completely different fault.

    Sounds like a complete cluster-f*&^ by Gigabyte. I'd serriously avoid this card till they at least admit they are having issues and promise to fix them either with another bios update or replacing all the faulty ones with new ones that are fixed!
  5. Hilux SSRG

    Hilux SSRG

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    849 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    It is a shame that a number of people are having issues. But there are plenty of users that have no trouble with their Gigabyte 670 cards, myself included.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125423
  6. Therion_I New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    48 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Indeed, but you too could have a faulty card and not know it. If later, for instance, you decided to upgrade to an Ivy processor but keep your 670 you may well find your 670 crashing constantly while in PCI-E 3.0. I know 2.0 won't bottleneck it but paying this amount of money for a GPU that is (in some part) broken is really disappointing. Some motherboards don't seem to have the option to downgrade to 2.0 either so you might be screwed.

    If you're looking for a GTX 670 this is a safer and arguably better one:

    ASUS GTX670-DC2-2GD5 GeForce GTX 670 2GB 256-bit G...

    If I get the offer of a refund I'm probably going to pick up one myself.
  7. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,135 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Stock settings, nasty artifacts and driver crashes in some games
  8. xulos New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    But what if i in close time i buy ivy and z77 and realise that my card is faulty too? Who will rma it when GB is acting.like nothings happen and wont confess this is their fault?
  9. Therion_I New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    48 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    They may just be still investigating and this may be something they can fix with another bios update. It would be nice of them to at least inform the community that they have heard and are investigating though.
  10. MarcusarilliuS_IRL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just flashed my cards from f1 to f4. It only just occurred to me after flashing weather I should have disable sli first or not? I used the gigabyte vga@bios software to do them. It seems to have worked fine but wondering if 1 card will only have been done or should both have been done together?

    edit:-

    in msi aferburner the first card bios is showing 80.04.31.00.58
    and the second card is showing 80.04.19.00.0f
    so I guess only the first card flashed.

    Should I revert the first card to the original one or how do I update the second card?

    edit:-

    I just reverted the first card back to the original bios with the vga@bios program and think I'll leave it at that as I was not having any issues to begin with anyway so I guess if it's not broke, don't fix it :)
    Running pci-e 2.0 and has been fine since day one touch wood.
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2012
  11. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Had a pair in SLi that were dropping out in Furmark and 3DMark11 stress testing.

    After the BIOS flash (F10 to F12) with the 304.79 drivers all seems OK.

    Thanks for this.
  12. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    You can only flash the first card in SLi.

    After that's done swap the cards over and flash the secondary. Really you should do it with just one card in the system at a time.
    MarcusarilliuS_IRL says thanks.
  13. MarcusarilliuS_IRL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply.

    As I wasn't having any issues to begin with I think I'll leave them as they are because I don't want to have to take apart my waterloop to flash each of them.
  14. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    You may be able to unplug the power to the top card, then connect your monitor to the second. This works on older cards and AMDs.
  15. MarcusarilliuS_IRL New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok will keep that in mind. Thanks.
    Think I will leave it as is until I have an issue that might need a bios flash to resolve, until then I won't bother.

    Thanks for the info though.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page