1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte Preps GeForce GTX 680 OC with 4 GB of Memory

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Sep 30, 2012.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,197 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,133
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    Taiwan-based Gigabyte Technology is now working on releasing another customized GeForce GTX 680 card, a model codenamed GV-N680OC-4GD which is factory overclocked, packs 4 GB of memory (double the amount of most GTX 680s), and comes equipped with a WINDFORCE 3X 450 W triple-fan cooler.

    Gigabyte's card also has an Ultra Durable VGA design (2oz copper PCB, Ferrite Core (Metal) Chokes, Low RDS (on) MOSFET, Japanese Solid Capacitor), a GPU clocked at 1071/1137 MHz Base/Boost (standard is 1006/1058 MHz), a 256-bit memory interface, a memory clock of 6008 MHz, and dual-DVI, HDMI (gold-plated) and DisplayPort outputs. No word yet on availability or pricing.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
  2. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    i have the 580 version and this thing is SEXY, and the quality is amazing.
  3. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,377 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,186
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    >> Tri-slot.

    DO NOT WANT. >=[
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    ^lol saw that AFTER my post. 580 is dual slot.
  5. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,137 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Hell, i'd still hit it
    Except i already have two crazy 680s so...
  6. theonek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    And the cooling is again with these cheap fans.... everflow, which some have a deffect as they are made in factory.
  7. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,288 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    oh another 4gb version, maybe it's time to upgrade sooner than later :)

    soo many 4gb cards out atm ~.~
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2012
  8. Ghost

    Ghost

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Unknown
    Upgrade to this. It's 4GB! Two times faster than GTX 680 2GB :D
  9. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,288 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    lol, even GTX 690 got 4gb but it's like SLi still limited to 2gb even u got 2 cards, it's like i don't get why u need an extra card when it's like u only got memory usages of one card not both.
  10. Ghost

    Ghost

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Unknown
    Every GPU in SLI/CF config needs it's own memory. Calling GTX 690 a 4GB is misleading, because it's actually 2GB per GPU. Reviewers and other HW-related people should call it a 2GB card. I guess, tho, it's fair enough for manufacturers to call it a 4GB card, because those 4GB physically really exist.
  11. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    they should of just made all of em 4 GBs....
    Horrux says thanks.
  12. cmaxvt

    cmaxvt

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    158 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    CA
    Where does it say that it is triple slot? It just says Triple fan. If it's the same cooler as both of my Gigabyte 670's than it is just a dual slot.
  13. theonek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Look at the given pictures.... and hope this time they use more quality fans...
  14. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    It's purdy and all.. but.. considering its 6 series, why the need for so much cooling? Also, if it's not easily usable for sli setups, that's a fail. Those of you who buy high end stuff, will eventually sli until you can get the next gen! Right now a single 680 is plenty, but eventually... well probably sooner than later, you'll want more.
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,942 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    the fans take up a 3rd slot in a PCI bracket Configuration, most SLI motherboards are dual slot
  16. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,377 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,186
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    Exactly my reason for the DNW.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,942 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    yup cuz the top card still has to compile everything before its output on to the VGA/DVI/HDMI/DisplayPort)

    I Also recall alot of people bitching about how other cards have 4 GB of memory whats any different about this?
  18. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    That triple slot thing is manageable for me (tho really, was it necessary?), but blue PCB yet again? That's probably the biggest no-no for me. Not much of a problem for the custom builds I do tho...
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,942 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,335
    That is the Color Gigabyte has had for over a decade.
  20. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,377 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,186
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    To me, blue is one of the nicest colors for a PCB of a card.
    (can't say the same about mobos)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    If only it was dual slot, I would care a lot more.
  22. AnnCore

    AnnCore Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    266 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Neuchâtel, Switzerland
    Dual slot with a 3 slot backplate

    If you look carefully at the photos, it seems the card is about 2 slots wide but the back cover plate is for 3 slots...

    I know cards need some space to breathe but then again, if you want SLI or whatever, it'll work, right?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Ghost

    Ghost

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Unknown
    It looks like shroud base is at 2 slot height, but fans are stcking out a little more.
    AnnCore says thanks.
  24. AnnCore

    AnnCore Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    266 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    142
    Location:
    Neuchâtel, Switzerland
    Yeh the shroud holes for the fans sort of have a rim...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Ghost

    Ghost

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Unknown
    That's Gigabyte's problem. They should have made cut-ins in heatsink and placed fans there to make this card dual-slot. Or simply used heatsink from 2GB version...
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page