1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte Radeon HD 7970 Blank screen

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Masterthor, Mar 16, 2013.

  1. Masterthor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Greetings. When I boot up the computer it shows nothing but a black screen.

    I'm on my 3rd Gigabyte Radeon HD 7970 3GB, I returned the first 2 thinking they were dead on arrival, now I'm starting to think I'm missing something.

    I'm upgrading from a Sapphire AMD Radeon HD 6870.

    I have tried:
    removing the old graphics card drivers.
    taking out the battery from the motherboard to reset it.
    Using HDMI and DVI on a different monitor.

    Is it just a bad luck streak with 3 dead video cards in a row? or am I missing something?

    My Motherboard is a MSI P67A-G43 and power supply is 750w and Windows 7 64bit.
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,597 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Check PSU [still outputting what it should]

    Check HDMI and or DVI cable for bent pins

    Check vga card 6 and 8 pin power connectors are secure

    Remove the CPU [check pinouts] clear cmos [while cpu is removed]; reseat the CPU; boot with minimal hardware, one stick of RAM [seated in DIMM_1], reseat VGA card [able to boot to bios][able to boot to DOS prompt]

    -hdd attached [able to boot to windows safe mode]

    -check mobo bios is up to date Note:*"download and execute the file in USB pen drive only."*

    Look - here

    Edit: Test the vga card in another PC

    Edit: Welcome to TPU

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013
    Masterthor says thanks.
  3. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Maybe check to see if your sata cable has become dislodged from the ssd/hdd.
     
  4. Masterthor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yay!

    Got it, thanks Law-II

    Updated motherboard via pen drive
    and
    started it with minimal hardware, was able to plug everything in and it worked fine.

    Thanks again!
     
    Law-II says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page