1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte Ready with GA-890GPA-UD3H Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Gigabyte is ready with its first motherboard based on the AMD 890GX + SB800 chipset. The GA-890GPA-UD3H supports socket AM3 AMD Athlon II and Phenom II series processors, including support for AMD's upcoming six-core processors. The CPU is powered by a 5-phase VRM, it is wired to four DDR3 DIMM slots to support dual-channel memory with speeds of over DDR3-1866 MHz by overclocking. The AMD 890GX northbridge embeds a faster DirectX 10.1 compliant integrated graphics with display connectivity including DVI, D-Sub, and HDMI (with 7.1 audio pass).

    Expansion slots include two PCI-Express 2.0 x16 (electrical x8/x8 when both are populated), three PCI-E x1, and two PCI. The new SB800 southbridge gives out six SATA 6 Gb/s ports. An additional Gigabyte GSATA2 controller gives out two SATA 3 Gb/s ports and an IDE connector. An NEC-made USB 3.0 controller further provides two external USB 3.0 ports (color-coded blue), next to a number of USB 2.0 ports. 8-channel audio with Dolby Home Theater support, and gigabit LAN make for the rest of it. The board seems to make use of the Ultra Durable 3 Classic construction. Expect the board to be out later this year.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: OCWorkbench
    Hunt3r, suraswami, WarEagleAU and 2 others say thanks.
  2. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Wonder what the price is, or if the newer chipset will be able to push DDR3 clocks finally.
  3. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,787 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Cool. Anyways why is gb so keen to go with blue? they should seriously think about other colors! ;) I've already had 2 of their boards, and they all look the same! ;)
  4. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    If there's nothing wrong, don't fix it. ;)
  5. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    So this is the "795GX".
  6. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    no mosfet coolers again ? , would be better if one was fitted when overclocking would it not ?
  7. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    I'm not expert on MOSFETS and VRM but it looks like there are 4 MOSFETS per phase? I'm I correct and is this above the norm? That might be why there is no cooler on them if they are so spread out.
  8. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    i have had 3 gigabyte mobo's die due to overheating mosfets , even at stock speeds on one of them . poor job if you ask me
  9. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Hrm. Bad luck or a bad model? You weren't running bigger CPU's than spec'd (ie 125W on a 95W mobo) or had power supply issues? I've built many PC's with Gigabyte (and some Asus too of course) boards and never had a single one die on me. Oh wait... out of all the PC's I've ever built I had one mobo die and it was an ASRock. But I understand part of that is luck of the draw and of course everyone is guilty of making a lemon or two.
  10. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    DDR3 clocks are hampered due to the IMC, not the chipset.
  11. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I don't see a Clr CMOS button am I missing it ?_?, which is really not cool even with dual BIOS, especially as this seems to be being marketed as a budget OCer, also why no 5xxx embeded graphics ?
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    looks awesome, and I wondered why no cooling on the mosfets probably runs cooler.

    The 790FX chipset can push ddr3 speeds just fine, I can take this 1600mhz GSkill kit to 1821 if I try, its what I had when I first started messing around
  13. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I believe the point was that even though they can get to about 1800 MHZ by over clocking there still about 400 + mhz shy of comperable intel chipsets ( thought it's a limitation in the CPU rather than the chipset hopefully fixed by the new 6 core chips :D), as well as no 2000 mhz support. Also is 1821 24/7 solid ?
  14. shiny_red_cobra

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    What's the GPU onboard the 890GX chipset?
  15. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    " The AMD 890GX northbridge embeds a faster DirectX 10.1 compliant integrated graphics with display connectivity including DVI, D-Sub, and HDMI "

    Meaning it's not a 4200, but maybe something similar to or like a 4350, but it's not a 5xxx as it's not DX11. Which is lame, although I'm sure 3 - 4 months down the road well have like the 895w/e and it will have a 5xxx, why in gods name can't AMD just put all the features in 1 chipset and give us 1 or 2 a year rather than 3-5 every damn year.:shadedshu
  16. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,158 (5.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    I wished that they embedded a 5xxx for DX11, but I guess it will drive up the costs.
  17. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,070 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    hmm will this chipset support ACC or core unlocking? I bet the 6 Core chips will be sold in other variants and will be fun to unlock the extra whatever hidden lol.
  18. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I honestly believe this is not about cost and all about keeping people upgrading, watch in 3-4 months a new chipset that has a embeded 5xxx will come out.
  19. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Exactly my question.
  20. 7mm

    7mm

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    INDIA
    With IGP of HD4290, It could've been better pass 43xx series since 785 holds HD4200 too!
  21. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Were not talking OC though. Were talking DDR standards. My 940 could do 1250 but in the bios i could only set it to 1066. My i5 i can set default to 2000 but my 955 i could only set to 1600. Thats what were talking about.
  22. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    In any case this is no 890FX by far. (mofset coolers and the cool reset buttons and all the other "gimmicks/conveniences" you all like.)I think that's wot YOUR looking for. Maybe it will shoot to 2000 in the FX setup. Just cause u can default to 2000 means absolutely nothing. The setups are different. Im sure if there is a 1800, 790 (which really tops out at about 18XX from 1600) usual there will be a 2000 version for the 890FX from someone. The FX chips are made to overclock. They work hand in hand with the ram. Your suppose to oc or your not in the market for that particular setup... :wtf: The board above is a UD3... lol comon..

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
    Roph says thanks.
  23. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    With memories 1866 is pretty cool out .. it comes to overclocking 2200Mhz easy
  24. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    yep
  25. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,070 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    That board with heavily OCed 965 or six-core cpu with 6 power hungry GPUs will blow either my rooms fuse or neighbour's fuse whenever that thing starts up :roll:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page