1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte Socket AM3+ Motherboards Get UEFI BIOS - Finally

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 24, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,570
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Gigabyte's entire fleet of AMD 9-series chipset socket AM3+ motherboards, launched in 2011 with AMD FX "Bulldozer" processors shipped with Phoenix AwardBIOS, even as other motherboard makers such as ASUS, MSI, Biostar, and Sapphire moved on to AMI Aptio UEFI BIOS. Gigabyte's AwardBIOS implementation did feature the company's biggest excuse for delayed implementation of UEFI across its entire product line, HybridEFI: a BIOS tweak that lets you boot from volumes bigger than 2 TB.

    In the wake of second generation FX "Vishera" processors and Windows 8 with its UEFI-enhancements, Gigabyte finally decided to make amends to its socket AM3+ motherboard lineup, by introducing revisions of existing motherboard models, featuring AMI Aptio UEFI BIOS, and its dual-UEFI redundant BIOS technology that protects against failed BIOS updates. Gigabyte's UEFI-equipped AM3+ motherboards will follow revision number scheme from 3.xx, jumping from its canonical revision number scheme of 1.xx. For example, pictured below is the newly launched 970A-D3 Rev 3.0, which jumped from Rev 1.4. The revisions are largely identical to their predecessors, except of course implementation of the AMI Aptio UEFI BIOS and dual-UEFI feature. When buying, look for the revision number in the main barcode sticker on the box, and on the bottom-left corner of the motherboard itself.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2012
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,570
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    FAQ #1: Can I...?: No, you can't update older revisions that have AwardBIOS to AMI Aptio. The latest BIOS updates for older revisions do add FX "Vishera" support.
  3. Chaitanya

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pune
    Damn, I bought Gigabyte board 2 months back for AM3+ platform. Still no BIOS(non-Beta) update for the newly launched CPU on website.
  4. Vinska

    Vinska

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,376 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    They jumped to UEFI?

    [​IMG]

    One of the few main reasons why I chose their motherboard was having none of that UEFI crap. Now that they have it... :mad:
    Why Gigabyte? Why? I thought You were good and won't use that crap. But now You did it... Where am I to get my not-soiled-by-UEFI mobos now?? *sob* *sob* *sob*
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,136 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Why are you so against the UEFI? what's the problem?
    Zubasa and [H]@RD5TUFF say thanks.
  6. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yes do tell . . . .


    If anything you should be upset it took them this long to implement it. UEFI is great, it's nice to be not using a technology older than myself to adjust and control motherboard functions and components.
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Good finally one less reason to not buy Gigabyte.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page