1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gigabyte Unveils 990FXA-UD3 1.2 Motherboard

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    PCI-E 3 doesnt matter right now and you get nothing from it. Besides they are always controlled through the Northbridge chipset.

    Gigabyte still hasnt moved to full UEFI yet. I wonder why that is? Until that happens that is going to hold me back from them.
     
  2. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    370 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    I want this, FX chip, and some DDR3-2000 please.
     
  3. XxAtlasxX

    XxAtlasxX New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Again another board without UEFI?? What're they gonna do when Win 8 lauches ?? (w/UEFI native support)
     
  4. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Looks yummy, I think this is going to be my new board.
     
  5. Dr. Nick

    Dr. Nick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    22 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Sometimes I wonder why motherboard manufacturers don't just open the ends of all the PCI-E slots. It's not like they're magically gonna use more bandwidth.
     
  6. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Basically.
    I wonder if it was because they ran out of Marvell 88SE9172 chips and couldn't get a good deal on another batch, or if they're just cutting costs and upping their margins, or because the UD5 has the Marvell chips and they were seeing more UD3s selling than they expected.
    I'm guessing the latter two reasons combined.
     
  7. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    You're assuming everyone will automatically upgrade to Windows 8?
    Anyway, it's likely that this board and its compatriots will not be in production when Windows 8 is released next year. So, unless you're planning on upgrading for no good reason, this board and Windows 7 is likely to have a long life -- consider all the hundreds of millions of users around the world who still use Windows XP...
     
  8. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    309 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    yea the not evening making it an option to get it when W8 is only a year out is retarded. people who build custom rigs ( aka the customers who will buy this board) are a lot more likely to stay up to date on the latest version of windows, and if it properly fully functional why would you buy it? it is certainly keeping me from buying one.

    im not going to buy from the ONE brand out there that doesn't allow me that option when every other board is just as good but DOES give me UEFI
     
  9. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Well, all things considered, I think you're assuming too much about upgrades.
    Also, the preview release of Windows 8, just released is a year of development from final release. Microsoft wants to hear feedback from developers so that they can tweak, tune, and modify what they've got so far.
    To a power user, the current iteration of Windows 8 is not ideal. So, if that does not change, then (just as when Vista was released), you'll see many people staying with the previous windows version, in this case Windows 7 (in the Vista case, Windows XP).
    It's wayyyy too soon to be talking final release features anyway...
     
  10. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    309 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    right but i don't want to have to buy another MB just to use W8, because "ideally" W8 will be better and i will want to use it
     
  11. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    I've spared a few minutes to look this up. I think there's been some misunderstanding about UEFI and Windows 8. At least as far as the current preview build of Windows 8 is concerned... The UEFI is only a possible issue if you're looking to dual boot with Linux, the fear being that it would not be possible with the Win 8 'secure boot' on UEFI machines. But 'secure boot' can be disabled allowing a dual boot:
    http://redmondmag.com/articles/2011/09/23/windows-8-dual-boot-possible-if-secure-boot-disabled.aspx
    and,
    "Early adopters can run Windows 8 Developer Preview even on modest, pre-Vista era hardware, and I don’t expect this to change for the RTM Build of the operating system. "
    http://news.softpedia.com/news/Windows-8-Developer-Preview-System-Requirements-222306.shtml

    So, the whole thing is a moot point; there is no problem with running Windows 8 on a Mobo with traditional BIOS instead of UEFI.

    The 'net may be a 'frathouse for retards' but it does have its moments :)
     
  12. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    I think Win7 is plenty good enough. I wonder what Win8 is suppose to bring that might make me want to "upgrade". Nah, I'd still be running XP if it supported DX11 I think...

    Back on topic, just got myself one of them mobos, installing it later today. :)
     
  13. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    735 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Well, what can I say? I installed it. It's version 1.0. It ran for about 15 minutes. I ended up disassembling my PC, looking for the mistake I might have made, reassembled it with that mobo, still same problem, disassembled it, reassembled it with my trustworthy ASUS M4A79 Deluxe, and everything is running fine, if with only DDR2 and SATA2 and without official SLI support.

    Meh.

    I think I'll stick with ASUS.
     
  14. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    I have Rev. 1.0, but I haven't had any problems with mine.
    Although I haven't overclocked my cpu too much; no voltage added.

    The only weird thing I've come across is the apparent AMD guidelines for the chipset saying that VDroop is to be expected when overclocking. Apparently, it's OK to run with a high voltage at idle, because the chipset will automatically reduce the voltage when running under load, to a safer and more manageable level for the overclock (aka VDroop). It feels like a loss of control, letting the chipset do its thing to stabilize the overclock.
    I can see why many people who initially bought 990fx boards complained about VDroop. AMD changed the overclocking 'rules'.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page