1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GIGABYTE X58A-UD7 is it worth buying?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by dr emulator (madmax), Jan 17, 2010.

?

would you buy it ?

Poll closed Mar 18, 2010.
  1. yes

    51.7%
  2. not sure

    18.4%
  3. no i don't think so

    29.9%
  1. DreamSeller Guest

    this thread is so old yet so alive o_O
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Agreed.

    But i think the thread should be re-named to ''Help me pick out parts for i7 build'' or something along those lines Since we have already gone way past the original point of the thread.(which was solely to give him feedback on that gigabyte mobo)
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2010
  3. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
    I'd say go for it, especially if you are water cooling. I've always had great success with gigabyte mobos, and that 10x SATA ports is sexy.
    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
  4. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    true but it brings in people, 13500 last time i looked :D so the name stays for now ;)
    i hope to be building it before i have grey hair :laugh: just i picked up a damned virus from a pron linky site :eek::shadedshu:cry: so i daren't use my debit card just incase i get ripped of, which means i have to phone them and it aint cheap ringing from a mobile 35 pence or 0.54 US$ a minute

    i curse that damned site :mad: infact i wish i had watched tv instead:cry:

    anyways b o t

    i'd like to know what you guys think of this low latency memory TR3X6G1600C7D - 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair Dominator, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600) CAS 7-7-7-20, DHX, XMP, 1.65V which i would have to preorder, but is it worth it ?

    or should i go for some of this higher latency stuff CMP6GX3M3A1600C8 - 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair Dominator, DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600), CAS 8-8-8-24, DHX, XMP, New connector, 1.65V (which is alot cheaper) and is available, what would you guys and gals do?

    what benefits would i get from the slightly lower latency using an i7 920 processor?
  5. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    well after a lot of faffing around i finaly got this ud7 to work on xp, so don't beleive it will be easy to get this working out the box with xp if at all,

    as i had to clone a working xp service pack 3 harddrive just to get this board up and running as it kept bsod'ing complaining about a pci problem with just the old xp pro disc, which is to be expected when trying to install 8 year old software :wtf::shadedshu, so that is a consideration you'll have to make before purchasing,

    is it worth it ?
    your damned right it is, a fantastic upgrade from the old machine
    i will upgrade to windows 7 somtime but as for now this ud7 is working well enough for me :D

    i'm not going to overclock it just yet, as it's running fine as it is

    all i can say even with xp(sp3) on, it's so much quicker than the old machine so i'm a happy camper :D
  6. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,027 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,139
    It took me less then one hour from the box hit my doorstep till it was running on XP. 5 minutes later it ran 4 GHz. Clean install with SP3. You have been unlucky I must say. Have fun with the OC.
    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Pickles24

    Pickles24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    167 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    The ATL
    It loves win7 and Linux for that matter. An i7 with this board on Linux is like a V8 on a tricycle.
  8. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,027 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,139
    A Black Caviar and a win7 in a seal box are just waiting for me to end my current folding/crunching jobs. Let's see if I get any performance gains out it.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. Pickles24

    Pickles24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    167 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    The ATL
    F6 bios. If you really want it to scream that new install smell.. Then something in DX11 with that Gtx.. :D
  10. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    did you have to slipstream sp3 onto your disc?

    as i said somewhere, i had to clone a drive to get this mobo up and running,

    i'm still thinking of doing another clone, as i have this harddrive (640 gb western digital 6 gb/s) on the marvell controller, (but forgot to partition it into 120 gb 480 gb respective), and now if i copy saved webpages or files with long names across from one driv to this wd 640gb, it says it can't because they are to long, and makes the ofline webpages barely usable, and changes the files to something like this COVERT~1 when it should say Covert Ops - Nuclear Dawn with a bit more writing, so clearly somethings wrong

    anyone any ideas i'm confused.gif
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2010
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Did you format it in FAT32 or something? That's how DOS naming behaves.

    I say throw Vista or 7 on it, and quit playing around with XP. Let XP die already. lol.
    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
  12. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    lol Agreed.
  13. Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    424 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Hà Nội, Viet Nam
    Ah, closed already. Well nice motherboard from Gigabyte :D One of the best X58 board outta there
  14. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I like gigabyte, but the UD7 I received seems to have broken ram slots. When I put the ram in the blue slots system doesn't boot so yeah I received quite a dodgy go.
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Did you set timings and voltage before trying? I believe mine says to boot from the white slots first in order to set timings.
    random says thanks.
  16. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    how much ram have you got?

    :respect: yes Wile E is correct (unless your using more than 3 slots, it says in the manual to use the white slots)

    :laugh: yes i know i should :D
    random says thanks.
  17. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,558 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Excellent Board! I love mine. Since I was forced to switch from DFI, since they stopped making them. I have used Gigabyte p45 ud3r (awesome motherboard) and now the UD7, also an awesome motherboard.

    Get your self some Kingston HyperX 2000Mhz ram, it matches perfectly, and runs 2050Mhz at CAS 9 with no problems.
  18. Konceptz

    Konceptz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Richmond,VA
    Gigabyte boards are good, but they aren't necessarily the best.....I've never had issues with EVGA or MSI or ASUS except for that horrible P5N-E motherboard.
  19. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm going to be posting a UD7 for sale over the next couple of days. Best board I've owned out of more than a dozen 1366 boards. I just need to downsize for a bit. Those considering this board should keep an eye out for it.
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Dammit Paulie, don't do this to me. My wife is already on the verge of killing me. lol
  21. Lubna

    Lubna

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Spain
    I buy one GIGABYTE X58A-UD7 with core 980x and 12 Gb of RAM 2000 ;)
  22. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686

    Ok so it definitely won't boot if I put it in the blue slots anyways? It will only boot if I have the white slots populated?
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    If you have everything on auto, yes, that is correct.
    random says thanks.
  24. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I have it set on "Quick" atm.

    THIS IS GREAT NEWS, I was going to RMA the board this weekend :laugh: I would have been stuck with the same problem, well technically its no problem, just my noobieness :).


    I love this board even more now! Its been running very cool and stable ever since I found the sweet spot in my settings :). http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1987800#post1987800
  25. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
    I'm just gonna pretend I never saw this lol.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page