1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GK104 Board Draws Power From 6+8 Pin Connectors, 3+2 VDD Phase Power Supply

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,670
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The top desktop graphics card based on the NVIDIA GeForce Kepler 104 (GK104) ASIC, which has come to be known as GeForce GTX 670 Ti, is reported to use a 5 NVVDD phase power supply (VRM) design that draws power from 6-pin and 8-pin power connectors. The card will hence have 300W of power at its disposal. NVVDD phase 1 and 3 will be wired to the 6-pin connector; phase 2, 4, and 5 to the 8-pin connector. NVVDD phases 2, 4, and 5 feed power to the GPU, while phases 1 and 3 power the GDDR5 memory and other components on the board.

    [​IMG]

    Source: VR-Zone
     
  2. sparkyar

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    88 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    stop killing polar bears:cry:
     
  3. thematrix606 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    89 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Hmm, that's as much as my 7970. So it COULD end up being faster >.>

    Let the flames hit my invisible anti flame shield \o/
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
  4. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,220 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    845
    Is this really surprising anyone?
     
  5. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,557 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    So then the 680 will be double 8 pin? Usually the x70s have less pins than the x80s.
     
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    Kepler: Tales of Mystery and Imagination
     
  7. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    And the 690 would be 3x8pin :nutkick:
     
  8. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,670
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The 6+8 pin configuration could be there to give it that high-end 'feel', even if it doesn't need 6+8 pin (and can do with 6+6). Looking at the power figures of the HD 7970, for example, you'll see how the 6+8 pin config is a little overkill.
     
  9. thematrix606 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    89 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    What about overclocking headroom? :)
     
    1c3d0g and btarunr say thanks.
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,670
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ^Oh, and that. Out of the box, these cards barely need 6+8 pin. :)
     
  11. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Seems that nV is going for outright performance rather than performance per watt. Shame, a double win would have been a win for all.
     
  12. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    It really only needs the 8pin and slot power but any clocks over 1GHz it needs that 6pin or did I get that backwards it really needs that 6pin and slot power but any clocks over 1GHz it needs that 8pin
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,681 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,155
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    All the extra two pins are is Ground. We have ran a 5870 off two PCIex 6 pins fine.

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    PCI-E 6pin - 2.083 amps for a total of 75 watts
    PCI-E 8pin - 4.167 amps for a total of 150 watts

    Those two grounds allow for a higher amperage

    12V x 2.083 amps x 3 Wires => 74.988Ws, 75W
    12V x 4.167 amps x 3 Wires => 150.012Ws, 150W
     
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,681 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,155
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea I know, but it is possible to run off two 6 Pins. Also I have noticed that most cards come with a 6pin to 8pin adapter cause some even high end older PSUs have no 8 pin. I have a Enermax Liberty 500W 40A PSU with no 8Pins and a Rocketfish 700W 60A with no 8pins
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    Some PSU manufacturers use ATX gauged wires for PCI-E
     
  17. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,372 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,222
    Like those extra grounds make a damn bit of difference. 6 total 12V+ wires and 8 ground, I would worry more about the board trying to supply too much power through the socket and frying than two extra grounds.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. alwayssts

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    371 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    I think me and bta agree.

    Imagine gk104 has perf/clock between pitcairn (20% faster core) and 7970 (20% faster through core + bus width difference).

    What happens when your card is limited to 950mhz at 225w and your lesser competitor is not at all constrained by tdp on a process capable of 1200mhz give or take at reasonable and/or perhaps stock voltage?

    I'll tell you who you are...nvidia.

    If they want to compete against 7950 and not 7870 they will need the tdp of 7970.

    I wonder what happens if sea islands has a 28-30 cu 32 rop part(s) with 256-bit bus and 225w tdp...
     
  19. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,110
    You also have to remember that 6-pin only requires 2 +12v wires, even though most good PSUs use 3. The 8-pin spec requires all 3 +12v wires.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    This is always the case with nVidia, power efficiency is never a concern for them. They seemingly always lack refinement in their design's :eek:
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,681 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,155
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This is the 5870 I speak of, Its a ASUS 5870 V2

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. borden5 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    66 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    ok now give us spec nvidia
     
  24. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Exactly.

    The ampacity is not determined by the two extra grounds.

    In fact, are those two extra 'grounds' actually not simply 'sense' wires that do not even carry current?
     
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,048 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,110
    Correct, in fact in a lot of 6+2 power supplies, the 2 extra ground pins are just split from two of the other ground wires. So they only run 3 ground wires from the PSU to the connector, then split the extra two pins off from them, you can even tell that is what they are doing in the picture shown as an example.

    However, those two being there guarantees that the 3rd +12v wire will be there, which is really the important thing.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page