1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GK104 PCB Pictured in Full

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Here is the first true-color picture of the GeForce Kepler 104 (GK104) reference PCB shot in full (well, almost, excluding the uneventful PCIe bus connector). The picture provides a panoramic view of the card's VRM as shown in a drawing posted earlier this day, and reveals the strange double-decker power connector. The card is loaded with a 5-phase NVVDC configuration, as detailed in an older article. It also confirms that the GK104 has a 256-bit wide memory interface, with likely 2 GB standard memory amount. This is also the first picture of the GK104 ASIC, which has square package, and somewhat square die. While the PCB is green in color, it's most likely an engineering sample. The final product (branded GeForce GTX 680 / GTX 670 Ti), could have a black-colored one.

    [​IMG]

    Sources: ChipHell, Expreview
     
    Maban, Animalpak, Crap Daddy and 2 others say thanks.
  2. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    :laugh:Yay GK104 competetion here we come!

    first comment :)

    AMD has been riding the train alone for a while. Finnally some company.

    and price competition/ .
     
  3. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,619 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    The chip looks small below 300mm but i hope it will be as good as nvidia want us to believe.
     
  4. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    that looks odd around the pci-e power , how thick will it be ?
     
  5. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    do want!!!!
     
  6. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    At last! something to see in flesh rather than just words & words of speculation.. :ohwell:
     
  7. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,792 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    LOL all you guys miss the 2 fan ports .......Means 2 fans on the cooler ...uhm Where is my eggs.:roll:
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  8. NorthEndJon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Theres only one 4 pin PWM fan port at the end of the board. The 2 pin at the top has a JP under it, designating it as some sort of jumper. Likely not a fan port. Sorry.
     
  9. Spaceman Spiff

    Spaceman Spiff

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    639 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    130
    I hope so man. Since amd just threw their 7900 in a new price bracket and didn't displace the 69's, if gk104 outperforms the 7970 by only a tiny bit nvidia will still price it higher and I'm pretty sure amd won't budge on their price.

    But competition is always good!
     
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,127 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,327
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Looks liek a 2-pin Fan connector to me too. Could be a jumper, or perhaps a VRM test point, but I like fan power just as much.
     
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  11. NorthEndJon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Eh, I'd be inclined to agree, but once again, there is what appears to me a JP under that top connector. I've seen it on ALOT of Nvidia cards. I do belive its for Audio Passthrough, just incase you want to use your sound cards digital out instead of Nvidia's onboard. However, we're all just speculating. Given its markings though, I'm mighty sure its not a fan port.
     
  12. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375

    that seems a scary scenario.. just 'in case' GK104 is consistenly faster than 7970 but only a bit; HD7970 @ $550 meaning @ $600?! OH DEAR!:eek:
     
  13. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,792 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    274
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Looks like a 2nd fan port that reads rpm s ....But that is just what it looks like to me.Remember the old Y split Thermal take power fan with speed control cables like these http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&DEPA=0&Order=BESTMATCH&Description=y%20fan%20cable&x=20&y=33&nm_mc=AFC-C8Junction&cm_mmc=AFC-C8Junction-_-RSSDailyDeals-_-na-_-na&AID=10521304&PID=4176827&SID=1erucig6t6yda .could mean the 2nd fan is powered with the first and has it own rpm plug

    The audio pass through is a what????... it is 2012 and they are still using 95 specs for it to have sound......Looks more like a fan rpm plug.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2012
  14. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    150 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    GPU seems very small.

    Bring it on i say. For the consumer AMD need to drop their price now so if this is better then them nvidia put it just above. Other wise nvidia will price it at £500 and never drop it
     
  15. Filiprino New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    77 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    NVIDIA can go now and suck my *****

    What are those 2 DVI ports one on top of the other?

    Having only 1 line of ports is perfect because you can buy 1-slot backplates, put some watercooling and free up space for another card.

    Having a tower of ports like the GTX590 is not great.
     
  16. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,071
    Small and power efficient, NVidia finally turning green.
     
  17. NorthEndJon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    They have had Digital Audio Passthroughs on nearly every card I've ever seen from Nvidia. I know the GTX480 has one. Its so you can use your sound cards digital out with your HDMI connection to your TV.
     
  18. lukcic New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    if you buy this card you can't install any other hw in the case, it's humongulous :eek:
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,127 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,327
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I do not beleive that the 5-series cards had this audio port. As soon as you mentioned the audio port, I thought "heck, yeah, that's what it is...", and then Iremembered the 5-series cards...

    590(with similar secondary fan port):

    [​IMG]

    580:

    [​IMG]

    570:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. NorthEndJon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sadly, my job hasn't given my any 500 series cards to play with yet, so it seems my point may be moot. We refurb systems and the biggest card I've seen so far is the 480.

    HOWEVER, my gut still tells me not a fan header :D

    Edit: Just noticed that all those cards have the solder points for that header, and also have the same Designation as "J8". It appears thats what the one on the Kepler says too. J8 IS the HDMI audio passthrough on all of them, since the 8000 series. So I stand by my assumption.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2012
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,226 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    They haven't need the digital pass though since the GTX200 series. The 400 and 500 series all have a built in audio processor that outputs sound via HDMI so no sound input to the card is requried. The GTX480 definitely does not have an audio passthrough.

    I don't think it is a audio port. I think nVidia is done with requiring that now that they have a working sound card design that they can include with the GPU. As you pointed out, the GTX590 has a similar connector that isn't an audio connector. I'm guessing it is something else, possible a place to connect an LED or something for a light in the heatsink.

    Edit: I just went back and looked at the GTX590, the port is definitely used to power the little LED to light up the GeForce logo. So I'm certain that is what is is being used for here as well.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  22. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    745 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    175
    Location:
    Rīga
    You are right it is for the LEDs... the GTX280 had the same...
     
  23. NorthEndJon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The GTX480/470 and 465 do not have HDMI audio processors. Look it up. The 460 does.

    I do admit that this likely is what its for aswell. I didn't think of that.
     
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,226 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    Yeah, I just went and looked at the GTX480. It has the connector, but it is used to power LEDs as well, though the reference cooler didn't have LEDs AFAIK, but other manufacturers included them. I believe the GTX280 actually did use it as an audio passthrough, not for LEDs.

    I don't have to look it up, I own 3 GTX470s and a GTX465(look at my specs and sig;)), as well as I've owned 2 GTX480s. I can tell you they do have HDMI audio processors built in.

    If you want solid proof just read W1z's review of the GTX480:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/NVIDIA/GeForce_GTX_480_Fermi/3.html

    And actually, the GT220/240 were the first nVidia cards to not need the passthrough. But they didn't have onboard sound devices, they just passed the signal through the PCI-e bus. At the very least, I can't see nVidia using this method if they weren't including a sound device, because it is far less of a pain in the ass than needing a special cable and SPDIF output.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  25. nickbaldwin86

    nickbaldwin86

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    273 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Just me or does it looks like 3 pCI slots :twitch:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page