1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Go with Phenom II or not?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CDdude55, Jul 17, 2009.

  1. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Was wondering if i should go Phenom II or not, as its pretty cheap and my system is going to be dated fairly soon.

    All i do on my PC is tons of gaming and going on the webs.

    Now, my current system is fairly good, i just need to get a new video card. But i don't want to get a new card if the rest of the system isn't going to keep up with future game titles. I think that upgrading to a more recent platform will boost longevity and overall performance, but i would like some more opinions.

    :toast:
     
  2. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    If you want futureproof i7 is the way. PII is not much powerful from what you have now.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  3. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,157 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    i dont know the qx 6700

    but in any case your going to need to get a quad and 4gb of ram the x4 955 is pretty cheap DaMulta is selling a good one

    maybe sell both your drives and get a faster 500gb one

    i dunno the upgrade options on the phenom II are better
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Just overclock dammit lol If you got it to 3-3.2ghz it will be a lot faster. And you don't need to upgrade, it's not that far behind the phenom II/i7 in gaming. Games like high cache and high speeds, something your QX6700 CAN do.
     
  5. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    go to anandtech and you will see that i7 is better then P2.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  6. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    CDdude55, all you need is a video card, your current 8600 GTS is a let down, stick in a cheap 4870 to hold you down for about a year, in a year perhaps consider a full system upgrade either a Phenom II or i7. As it stands the QX6700 is very powerful still I very much doubt any non-SLI config can bottle neck it. The truth is the slower Q6600 is still in the top 10 of high-end Intel processors, s isthe QX6700!

    If you feel the compulsion to upgrade the CPU as well (not needed) it will be cheaper to keep your existing motherboard as you have adequate socket 775 board, just drop in a Q9550 or Q9650 this is my recommended route to go down after keeping your existing one and applying a mild overclock!

    On a side note for gaming the Phenom II would be just as fast as the i7, I fail to see how one could add more longevity in games when they are matched in that particular task?
     
  7. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,260 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Location:
    Ohio
    You have a QX6700... that processor was made to be overclocked. Don't worry about your mobo, you are excempt from the FSB wall that plauges quads on that chipset. You can raise the multiplier and overclock that way.
     
    phanbuey and CDdude55 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I haven't tried raising the multiplier, can i use stock volts tho?
     
  9. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    You've got the motherboard infront of you. Try it.

    I do not see why you couldn't get 3 GHz with stock volts.
     
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    You could easily get 3ghz with the stock voltage. Just set the multiplier to 11 and boot. Then stress it. If it fails, give the voltage a little bump. But I'd be surprised if you couldn't get 3ghz on stock voltage, honestly. Anything under 1.5v is not going to damage it in ANY way.
     
  11. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I could always try, kind of scared tho.:laugh:

    *thinks about the system BSODing and blowing up in his face*:laugh:
     
  12. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    As everyone is saying OC that damn CPU already! also, buy bigger HDD. maybe a new PSU in the future IF needed.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  13. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,157 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    what a pentium 2? LOL
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  14. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    ya overclock ur cpu....better than phenom..
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,691 (12.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,543
    BUY A NEW VIDEO CARD. If you are a gamer that would be the most important piece of hardware in your system. I'm sorry but for gaming the 8600 sucks. *Oh I see 4890 soon, good! Your processor on the other hand is solid.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  16. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I have a Core 2 Duo E4400 and a Freezer 7 Pro cooler laying around, i should try OCing with those, but i dont feel like installing anything right now.lol:ohwell:
     
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    The QX would be SO much easier to OC. You just need to raise the multiplier, the E4400 you need to mess with the FSB, which then equates to messing with the ram speeds and voltage and maybe NB voltage settings.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  18. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,029 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,632
    It won't really be a upgrade, unless you consider the money spent on it. The 4890 will be a huge upgrade, and if you do choose to go witgh a PII, then you will save on electricity needs from the whole package.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  19. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ya i am getting a 4890 soon. Hope it will be a nice boost in performance over my crappy 8600 GTS.:)
     
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,691 (12.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,543
    It most definitely will. A nice little mild overclock on your processor will go a long way too. You probablly will be able to run 3.2ghz on your quad with little to no voltage increase and that will really help! We'd all love to help you do it. :toast:
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  21. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    You say that like you're not happy with the current state of high end video cards. You do not understand that you're going to be going from only playing at 1280x1024 at medium settings with a lot of lag to being able to run whatever resolution you damn well want at whatever detail you want with frame rates peeking at 100 FPS. There is no comparison, I do not even consider the 8600 series a gaming video card they were just scams to get people to upgrade to DX10.

    If money is a problem you'd be better off buying a cheap 4770 or ATI 4850 than to wait for the 4890, please do not wait for hardware I bet you've been waiting to replace that 8600 GTS for a long time now.


    Be quiet fan boy, I took a look at Anandtech's review and it shows that the Phenom II and i7 are matched in gaming. Take your bias advice elsewhere.

    http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3551&p=14
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2009
  22. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia

    The only thing i am disappointed about with high end cards is the heat and noise they produce now a days, which was one of my gripes with the 4890, but i will overlook that.

    And yep, i have been waiting a long time to upgrade from my 8600 GTS:), as of now i am still saving to get the 4890 and would rather wait and save on that then go with a more lower end card and end up getting the 4890 at a later date.
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,691 (12.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,543
    The Sapphire 4890 VaporX card would be perfect for you. :toast:
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    If you want silence do not get the stock cooled edition lol My dad has 3 and with all of them at 100%, while awesome, is very loud. Never had the vapor-x one but silence is the selling point of it :D
     
  25. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Put $25 aside and equip it with a passive cooling system such as the Arctic Cooling Accelero S1 Rev 2. No noise, sorted.

    That is the wrong mentality, you'd always be waiting for hardware if you keep saving by the time you have enough for he 4890 the card it will be old news. You'd be better off spending $100 on a 4850 or $80 on a 4830 which are more than capable of running today's games at high detail at a peek of 100 FPS at high resolutions. You'd get almost 2 years out of it by which time the next $80 - $100 mid range card will be out and most probably out perform the 4890 whilst supporting DX11.

    e.g. I spent £74 on my 4830 at the start of the year (it was actually a free replacement after RMA'ing my old 9600 GT), and I'm enjoying playing my games @ 1440x900 at very high detail, 4x AA, 16 AF, Tombraider underworld @ 60-120 FPS, COD: WAW @ 60-90 FPS, even on my crappy processor, whilst you'll be waiting weeks maybe months for that 4890 whilst missing out on playing games well *Now*. - Heck my old 9600 GT gave me similar performance to my 4830, I bought my 9600 GT last year for cheap I would of kept it if I didn't have to RMA it. My point is high end cards are great but if it means that you have to suffer with bad frame rates and low detail now its not worth waiting when the midrange cards will suffice.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page