1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Good enough?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by entropy13, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,935 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    Look at sig for list. ;)

    How about the CPU cooler though? Any suggestions? I'll be getting these within the next 10-12 hours.
     
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    good enough for what?
     
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Tt Frio, Venomous X, TRUE, H50 or CM Hyper 212+. Question is though, with it being a non-K cpu, I don't foresee you overclocking. So chip will be fine on stock.


    @cheesy
    I am assuming he means these.
    "Asus P8H67-M LE (B3), Intel Core i7 2600"
     
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,182 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Graphics card :) For CPU cooler it depends on how good the Acer cooler is, it might be quite a bit better than your stock variants (and on par with the 212+ class), or it might just be your average run off the mill one. No way to determine which one unless you run some tests.
     
  5. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    lies i tell you, there are risks to using a card like that!!!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QkyfGJgcwQ&feature=youtu.be


    i meant what purpose is he using it for (sounded like a question to do with frame rate in games etc)
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Oh gotcha....
     
  7. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,935 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    Hmm? Regarding that Acer cooler, it's actually a big, one-fan three-heatpipes cooler which is way better than what you get from Intel and is at par on the mid-range aftermarket coolers. I'm talking about the one on my sig though, and I haven't chosen a cooler yet. They have a Coolermaster V8, but I checked Coolermaster's site and it's not compatible with LGA1155.

    The GTX 570 is the best available GPU in the place I'll be buying them. The next one would be a GTS 450. The 460 is out of stock, as well as the AMD's (5850, 6870, 6950).


    Good enough for gaming obviously at 1920x1080. Essentially there should be a significant improvement over a 4870 limited in vRAM.


    I'm also itching to buy Ripjaws instead of those Kingston RAMs though lol
     
  8. Brandenburg

    Brandenburg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Waco,Texas
    Hi def porn maby lol... COULDN'T resist saying it.. damnitt.. i tried:banghead:
     
  9. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,935 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    LOL the Hot Girls Thread is in GN, you might have been lost. (and I haven't posted pics in that thread in quite a while :laugh:)
     
  10. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,182 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Your cooler sounds fine, upgrade graphics card when they have them in stock?
     
  11. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    he should just buy the 570 now and upgrade later

    do you know how easy upgrading is - even a monkey can do it!!!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1DPQW0e9ufM&feature=related - yes everything i say needs a video or picture to prove it
     
  12. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,935 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    LOL

    This is a completely new build, the system listed in System Specs would remain intact (except for the Seagate HDD).


    EDIT: Nevermind the cooler, I think the V8's enough for me. I most probably misread the specs page LOL

    So should I get some Ripjaws? I doubt they have other LGA 1155 mobos however.

    Would there be a big difference between a 2600 and a 2500? Why not the unlocked ones, you wonder? IF I GOT TO THEIR SHOP EARLIER I COULD HAVE RESERVED THEM LOL, but now they're out of stock.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2011
  13. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,182 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Nevermind my blindness :eek:

    V8 is fine.
     
  14. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,577 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    It's a good system, but if your budget permits I'd get a better graphics card. And possibly a SSD as well.

    It all boils down to what you intend to use the pc for -- gaming? benchmarking? office work (ok prolly not that but you get what I mean)
     
  15. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,935 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    I've made a bit of a change in what I bought. They got an ATX MSI board yesterday which I chose, since the Asus was only mATX. The V8 was out of stock, although it was a blessing since it wouldn't be easy to mount considering the heatsinks of the MSI board. The Vortex Plus is a good enough cooler anyway, 37C (idle @50% fan on all the fans in the case; "system temp" is 44C apparently) right now even though I've OC'd it to 3.8GHz. And I'm perspiring right now, the tropical summer is well and truly here. LOL I got 2x4GB of RAM too (OC Genie got it to 1333MHz instead of the stock 1066MHz).
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2011
  16. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,817 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,345
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    thermalright silver arrow lokks pretty good on it
     
  17. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,935 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,182 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Nice set of loot you have go there! Cable management can be better though, but I suspect you are not really bothered with that.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  19. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,935 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    It's good enough, the clump of cables are at least confined in that empty space surrounded by the board, the PSU, the bottom of the case, and the hard drives. It would definitely be worse if the case had the PSU mount on top. Then those wires would be covering the RAM slots.
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Mmmm. Very nice! Don't take this harshly, why the coolermaster cpu sink? Or should I say that particular one.
     
  21. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,935 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    It's the only one they have. :laugh: Besides there's no point in getting something "better" than a Coolermaster Vortex Plus when the CPU is a 2600 (note the missing K). :p

    In the future I'd most probably try getting a K and/or a different cooler, although in the case of the cooler considerations have to be made concerning the heatsinks of the motherboard that are surrounding the socket. Good thing my RAM have no heatspreaders. They would be touching the CPU heatsink now if I got the Ripjaws for example, even though it's a "medium-sized" cooler. If it were a bigger cooler it (the RAM, perhaps even if it's in the 2nd slot) would definitely be touching the heatpipes/heatsink/fans already. lol
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2011
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Oh I know what you're saying. I like the whole build looks good. [​IMG]
     
  23. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    I heard the CM extreme plus psu are quite bad.
     
  24. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,935 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
  25. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,182 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    I sense cable management getting into your nerves? :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page