1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Good gaming setup ?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by figgyx, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. figgyx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cpu: intel core 2 duo E8400

    MOBO: ASUS P5G41T-M LXT S

    Graphics card: 1GB ATI RADEON HD 5770

    HDD: 500GB SERIAL ATA 3GB/S

    Power: Corsair 650W PSU

    OS: Windows 7

    RAM: 4GB SAMSUNG DUAL DDR3
  2. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Welcome to TPU! Were you directed here from Yahoo answers?

    Is the rig just for gaming? How much is your budget?
  3. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,406 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    aside from needing ddr2 not ddr3 that combo should work fine with a decent case
  4. figgyx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was indeed, and my budget is about £500-£550
  5. figgyx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I thought that MOBO supported DDR3 ?
  6. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Yea that was me that directed you here.
    Don't forget to use the "edit" button on your post, rather than double-posting ;)

    The board does support DDR3, you are right.
    Is the case included in the budget, or do you already have one?
  7. figgyx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is The Coolermaster 690 II Case good enough ?
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Don't think so, only a few LGA 775 mobos have DDR3 on them.(like the 790i)

    That's a pretty decent gaming rig, nothing to spectacular, but a solid rig none the less .
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  9. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    that board DOES support DDR3

    I would say get a board from the Asus P5Q series, and downgrade the PSU to the HX-520 then you're pretty much sorted.



    EDIT: Oh, and change for some DDR2! 4GB will be fine.
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  10. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    It does support DDR3 :toast:
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I agree . Nothing too special but it is a solid rig .
    You should be looking at a Quad core IMHO . Why a dual core ?
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  12. figgyx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wouldnt a decent dual core be better than a low end quad core? Plus im a bit low on cash as it is.
  13. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    the q8400 is about the same price as the e8400!

    [​IMG]


    Bit overbudget, but that's me!!!

    Downgrade the case maybe to keep it in budget?
  14. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  15. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
  16. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    [​IMG]
    Sorted
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  17. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Scan needs to leave to be honest.....their prices are Scan-dalous. :shadedshu



    eBuyer is often cheaper by a few £, take the 955 for example; £108.62 @ eBuyer - £111.57 @ Scan.


    Shocking.
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  18. figgyx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is it possible to save a bit more on the case? Thanks for all the feedback btw.
  19. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    Even then some of their other products like gpu and hdd is just more expensive than scan and the cases aswell is abit more on ebuyer than scan.
  20. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Sure but you will have to get a Quad core then :D
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,726 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,869
    The E8400 is a lot better in games than the Q8400, a higher clocked dual wins over a lower clocked quad in all but a select few current games.

    I think I would go with a P45 or at least P43 board so you can push the E8400 to around 4GHz.
    scaminatrix says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  22. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    The stuff I buy most often is cheaper on eBuyer; to each their own. :)
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  23. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,578 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Before this thread suffers mass derailment, how can figgy save money on kurosagi's suggestions, people?
  24. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    When i look at them it seems scan is like £1-3 cheaper on parts than ebuyer i want lol.
    Also i think the build i put together is perfect with a quad and a GTX460 MSI cyclone version aswell.
    Edit: easy just switch the case to the NZXT Beta Evo which is £35 or get a casecom 6788 or 6988 which are excellent budget case:
    Casecom 6788 Black Mid Tower Case with Full Black....
    Casecom KM-6988 Black Mid Tower Case with Full Bla...
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  25. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    While you are right, there is no point buying a dual core this late in the game.


    Certainly not when you can get a quad for around the same price and be happy with 2 more cores regardless of how much they get used.

    It's nice to have the extra power for later use and who knows; maybe he will decide Photo Shop is the way forward and we all know that app loves cores. :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page