1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Good motherboard for LGA 1155

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Tintai, May 4, 2013.

  1. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    378 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    Hey

    What motherboard do you recommend for LGA 1155(i7-2600k) and Corsair Vengeance?
    Now I have ASRock p67 PRO 3 B3 but I want to change.

    Mobo must have:
    - USB 3.0 and pin connector inside.
    - Minimum three SATA III connector
    - I don't need two or more PCI-E so maybe one PCI-E.
    - UEFI

    Hmm maybe Asus? Or Gigabyte?

    ~Tintai
  2. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Tintai says thanks.
  3. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    what is your budget for a new mobo?
  4. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    378 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    ~120$.

    Thanks Asylum. But I wait for another proposition.
  5. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,498 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    930
    Tintai says thanks.
  6. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    My Motherboard is fine.
    There is a pro version which does just as well but gives you an extra thrid party SATA 3 controller and Firewire.
    The GEN 3 allows you to upgrade to Ivy Bridge if deciding to do so in th future.

    Latest BIOS maybe an issue since it appears it is catered for either Win 7/8 or Win XP/Vista.
    I just didn't bother to update.

    AsRock has their own version which I think is a Z68 Extreme 3 or 4.
    I think it is cheaper but just as reliable.
    Tintai says thanks.
  7. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,288 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    Tintai where in the world r u? bcs maybe find something in ur country would be cheaper so u don't need to pay taxes of what u order outside.

    but there r a lot of good boards out there like Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z/Gen3, V Gene and so on where u get nice features and in the expensive but u can get a "OPEN BOX" at newegg for 149,99USD: ASUS Maximus V Gene Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - ...
    Tintai says thanks.
  8. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    378 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    I'm from Poland and this Asus Maximus V cost $223. Non "open box".

    Maybe 2 PCI-E x16 slots is good for me. Maybe I buy in the future second card.

    Can anyone recommend me mobo with 2 PCI-E 3.0 x16?
    And I have PSU 650W.
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You're not going to find a board without a PLX chip on skt1155 that can do two slots of full 16 lanes and those boards can get expensive. If 8 lanes is fine, most motherboards already have that and you're not going to see a whole lot of difference between 8 and 16. I'm not sure what kind of options you have where you live though.
    Tintai says thanks.
  10. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,288 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    it has actually been proven that running through a PLX chip is sometimes slower then running native 2 x8
    Tintai says thanks.
  11. Baum

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    465 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Germany,Hannover
    Asrock Z77 Extreme4 120€ in germany, if you can live with it features :p
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z77 Extreme4/

    my friend got Z77 Pro4 for less, and it's uefi is equal that means you just have to look for features
    Tintai says thanks.
  12. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    378 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    I see. I must increase my budget.
    If I would take ASRock Z77 Extreme4 or Asus Maximus V my OCZ 650W would suffice?
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Yes, it should be more than enough.
    Tintai says thanks.
  14. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    292 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    this one is cheaper and quite god...,u dont realy need to spend extra cash of mobo...!! psu is fine with one graphic card!:respect:
  15. Tintai

    Tintai

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Messages:
    378 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Poland
    Thanks.

    I think I'll take Asus Maximum V. But if you have any other suggestions...
  16. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page