1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Google Android users clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by crazy pyro, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,085 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah thats simple and great idea but i just found some memory card will fail if you backup your system in it
     
  2. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,123 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,359
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    yep that's unfortunate, i always use Sandisk or Patriot µSD but Samsung and other brand could do fine too, i wonder if it was some no name who had that behavior, only once i had a backup fail and it was a cheap no name "labelled" C10
     
  3. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,085 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Yep, ive micro sd from local brand and every 97% it always say fail to backup, i have PNY, sandisk for backup and i use local brand just to save data :)
     
  4. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,635 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    Just ordered my G2 to upgrade from my GNex. What are the best tools to backup my apps so I can restore them on the new phone? I know I can go to android.com and just install everything, but I don't want to lose my progress on some of my games.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,274 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,436
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    android.com?


    if you're rooted you can use titanium backup to backup and restore apps, but otherwise progress will likely be lost.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,635 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    Well, I thought it was. I guess it's just the web version of the Play Store.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,085 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,760
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    titanium backup but you need to root first
     
    t_ski says thanks.
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,200 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  9. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    got my nexus 5, waiting for my case to come in. a note for any sprint users, you will need to get a uicc (micro sim) card from a sprint CORPORATE store in order to activate your nexus.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,200 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416

    You can have your full size Sim cut to a micro one, so no need to change your number.
     
  11. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    that's a handy bit of info thank you :) unfortunately my htc evo lte on sprint did not use a sim card, in fact the nexus and iphones are all i know that do on sprint.
     
  12. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,937 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Guys, I'm having a really big problem with my Huawei. It seems that after a certain amount of time in standby, it does not get any notifications. I wake up in the morning/afternoon and I'll get about half a dozen notifications firing from various times while I was asleep. Even if someone sends me an IM, I won't get the notification till I unlock the phone, which could be hours later. This is absolutely ridiculous. It's been like this since I got it.
     
  13. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,635 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    Look at the notifications settings to see if it has any "quiet hours." it may even have the option to not wake the phone from sleep if you get notifications.

    Is this stock or rooted?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,937 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Stock ROM, rooted with EROOT. I can't find anything about "quiet hours" in the settings, and googling it mainly brings up results related to 3rd party apps or OEMs coding it directly into their custom ROMs. So maybe Huawei did that, I'm not sure.

    Other googling led me to this, which suggests it's a known issue with a fix in the works for 4.3. But Huawei aren't exactly HTC or Samsung when it comes to firmware upgrades.
     
  15. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,635 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    A coworker has that brand of phone and seems to like it, but I admit I don't know much about it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,274 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,436
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2555569

    4.4 kitkat is out for the i9505, modded i9505g rom :) veeeeery nice and about 1/3 the size of the samsung roms.


    check in the advanced wifi settings to see if wifi turns off when the screen goes off. could be doing that to save power (standard options are always on, off when screen off, on when charging/screen on)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    i'm definitely liking it as well. i ALMOST really like the hangouts switchup, but I still use a third-party sms (chomp) as it supports delayed sending and individual contact alert tones. I really like the Ok, Google feature, but i guess that's kind of about time huh? ;)
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,274 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,436
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i've had it all of an hour, so i havent played with many of the new features yet. i changed to the nova launcher which i think disabled the 'ok google' thing.

    what phone do you have? and please, more details on your 4.4 experience.


    mine coming from samsung 4.3 to google 4.4: it looks a lot simpler and plainer (lots of white or grey instead of color) but its 1/3 the size and runs a lot smoother.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,200 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,416
    I'm using a HTC one X, no kitkat for me, unless it's a custom one.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  20. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,123 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,359
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    15days after my S3 now i know why i hate officials roms :laugh: and indeed custom roms are a third the size of a samsung one since they have no samsung crap in it... (and samsung said the "aviable residual space scandale" in the main memory was unavoidable ... peuh... :D stock google/AOSP/AOKP (CM/Omni/Slim) those are way better ...

    as for my 4.4 i started with V6 and no bug and other joy now im on V15 avec Boeffla's Kernel 2,1 Beta3 but the beta2.1 was a bit better :)

    i wonder since i saw other GT-I9300 owner having those problems, i tried to re enact the event which where supposed to make the phone and rom bug and : nothing, same phone same rom ... only the user change, i wonder why xD
     
  21. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Woohoo! Bought a "defective" Nexus 4 that turns out to be working just fine :D
    Currently on build KRT16O, somehow no update to S available... Oh well, finally back on the latest versions :)
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  22. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,123 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,359
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    the S3 i have was supposed to be defective too :D it turned out that the previous owner did the infamous 4.3 update and the USB cable was defective so most of the charging problems and misbehavior of the device where from user error :D
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    44,274 (10.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,436
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    if its like the s4, the baseband (aka modem firmware) can vary and be the cause of oh so many problems, since it doesnt update with the custom roms and has to be done seperate.


    also since custom roms dont format the internal SD card, people tend to forget about crap they installed and dirty flash between roms and have lots of old tweaks nad crap stay active.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,123 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,359
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i dirty flash and never had to format the internal µSD

    oh wait you mean between different roms ... woops aherm WIPE CACHE WIPE DALVIK WIPE SYSTEM is mandatory anyone who forget that deserve the problems he get, and would be scolded harshly if he reports as a bug the idiocy of his actions! hum ... a little too extreme ... let's forget this :peace:

    most of the problems reported by other tester aren't related to the baseband so in the end it's only the organic part of the phone who fail :D (lame joke isn't it)

    the Optimus 2x was way more trickier than that on baseband RIL and other joyfull things to check, Samsungs Galaxy serie are so simple to work around ... and that since the Galaxy S, nearly unbrickable (you have to try your hardest to brick a Galaxy ... or be really clueless) and quite good hardware wise

    and now all my apps works just fine with ART with BanKs Gapps and the Boeffla's Kernel mentioned above (i think i might rollback to 2.1Beta)
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2013
  25. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,518
    just got a nexus 5 as my evo lte broke. I did the same and switched to Apex as my default launcher, and yes it does disable the always-on "google-on" , BUT with my phone I just have to slide from the dock menu toward the top of the screen and let go(the opposite of bringing the top menu down) and it brings up the ok, google screen from apex, which i like more than always on anyway.

    other than that, i'm just getting used to it. do to the unforeseen cost i'm being a little extra careful with this device. I am actually using a case! and I have not yet rooted and really don't plan to. The main reasons to root was to a) (gasp) use wifi tethering when work emergencies come up while i'm "on the go", and b) use more lightweight roms. being direct from google, my phone still has the wifi tethering option though i'm sure my carrier would rather it not. and also being from google it doesn't have all the extra manufacturer crap on it, so i may not void the warranty any time soon ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)