1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Google Android users clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by crazy pyro, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,396 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    so i hear lenovo buys motorola from google
    that was short lived
     
  2. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Got a source?
     
  3. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Actually found it:
    http://investor.google.com/releases/2014/0129.html
     
  4. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,434 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,716
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    mkay .... stupid google. to Lenovo that's really the worst case scenario ...
    well .... Motorola and Lenovo not the same homeland not the same mentality ... not the same .... Moto .... (oh the end is not so bad...)

    delet the post as i deleted mine ;) @Thrackan ... it must have been during my sleep (the only moment when i am not connected :D )
     
  5. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I'm more worried about never getting a Droid 5, or any full QWERTY slider with half decent specs. Dat LG F3Q is teh sux.
     
  6. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,434 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,716
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i am more worried about 13b buy 3b sales ... there is something strange about that ...

    the only slider i have atm is a X10 Mini Pro Moto i never brought any of the android set they did (before google) and i planned on maybe one of the googlemoto one (tho i love Lenovo/Intel/Android phone well the MTK they have are not so bad either) i had motorola phone before android : my 1st gsm phone my 1st razr then the 1st 3G phone i had was a V980i

    oh gosh i perfectly remembered the V980i xD and it was years before ...
    mov980_00.jpg
    Swisscom not vodafone .... and i still have it somewhere xD
     
  7. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    My wife currently uses a Droid 4, and besides the dated hardware and the locked bootloader it's a pretty good device (once you install CM). Before that she had a Desire Z, which was wonderful for its time, and a Milestone (Droid 1 European version).

    Sliders used to be my fav too back in the days before Android, and I actually wanted to own a X10 Mini Pro but got a X10 Mini by mistake :/
     
  8. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,396 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    hope it will still get timely updates for the moto g which i only got last week lel.
     
  9. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,434 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,716
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    normaly yes ... even if it will be lenovo, they are quite actual with updates, not like LG (Optimus 2x and 4XHD for exemples)

    on the best: google will still assure updates of the Moto G and X

    argh for the X10 Mini mistake ... my X10 Mini Pro is under a jelly bean rom but i have some charging issues (even on stock) must be the µUSB port
     
  10. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,145 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,429
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah
    lenovo goes bigger, and they offer better price ratio
    and i dunno maybe google better focus on software and leaving the hardware section for phone manufactures
     
  11. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,396 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    now that i remember it, our first (or rather 2nd) phone was a motorola. It was huge and one of the early text capable phone that arrived in our region, you can even use 4 aa batteries to power it lel
     
  12. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,384 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    869
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Hillarious.... was wondering if it could be done... oced my tablet. Just updated my revolution hd rom, and found the Zeus kernel. My cute little 1.4ghz quad promptly walked up to 1.6ghz!
    Seeing if a gpu oc will stick but not sure about that one...
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,826

    my 1.5Ghz tablet sits at 1.9 nice and stable, undervolted.
     
  14. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,145 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,429
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    sometimes i think android os need to optimized for more, today processor has more cores and has higher speed but no matter how fast your phone/tablet, you gonna have lag sometimes
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,826
    thats what 4.4/kitkat is all about. replacing dalvik with ART.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  16. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,145 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,429
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yep, im just waiting for kitkat
    and i hope the performance like what we expect before
     
  17. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Is there any way I can see if my rom is running ART or Dalvik?
     
  18. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,396 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    still waiting for Kitkat official update for dual sim version of Moto G, perhaps it would get released once it lands on India this february.
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,826
    by default, always dalvik. not all roms are compatible with ART, most custom ones arent.
     
  20. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,434 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,716
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    you can see it in the "developer options" if you have it active, if not just click(touch) 7 time the build number (or the android version i don't remember clearly xD)
    you can see it in the option on the dev section and you can switch from Dalvik to ART or reverse.
     
    Thrackan says thanks.
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,826

    if he's on a custom ROM, dont upgrade to ART without checking. if the roms been deodexed, ART will just soft brick the phone, and only a full wipe and reinstall will fix it.
     
  22. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,434 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,716
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well nothing that can be fixed, and if he had a problem he could just ask for help and we would have help him. i was just answering at the question he brought up. complication are the fun part for after the experiment (or huge success if it works on the 1st try)

    and one shall know that you never try a new thing on a Android device without doing a full NANdroid backup before, so then a full wipe or restoration is just a small matter.

    oh and my S3 ROM is Deodexed and i use ART since the V6 (V38 for me atm) i wonder if its from device to device (mixed up "is" and "is not" xD) hum i need to double check
     
  23. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,384 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    869
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Heh, Android Tuner... you can force all four cores to stay active... instantly increased my AnTuTu bench..... yes there is a bench for android... we should start a thread!
     
  24. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,384 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    869
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Some pics:
    [​IMG]
    Rooted, 1.4ghz arm with zeus kernel oced to 1.6, and core parking off.....
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,826
    In order:

    Galaxy tab 1, 7.0 (loaned out, due back this week)
    Tab 2 7.0, tab 3 8.0
    S1, S2, S3x3, S4


    I AM NOT A HOARDER, K!?

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page