1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Google Android users clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by crazy pyro, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    digibucc says thanks.
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Crap! Oh well, I have been playing around with theme chooser as of late. Makin it all "perty" LOL

    Oh also, just recently tried ou something called MIUI, it's basically an iPhone-esque UI with some "Sense" involved. I kinda like it but it needs refined as its a little laggy on my D1, might be just that the D1 is a little old.
  3. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,914 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    anyone who bought an evo had better have rooted it, or the
    tech gods shall strike you down!

    yeah stupid carriers. but miui is cool, but like you said needs refinement.

    you'll find one that will meet all your needs, it just takes looking. after
    like 10 different roms i came across "fresh" for evo and hero, and i love it.

    simply because it is so minimal, faster than stock with a slightly modified
    interface.

    just keep looking :) that's half the phone at the start!
  4. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    You can do this without rooting on most phones putting them in Airplane mode then turning wifi on and going to the market, its annoying but for ppl that don't want to/cant root there phones it works.

    Personally i use Cog 4.4 with launcher pro on my Captivate so i don't have these problems.

    just thought id share
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well I have been switching back and forth between Liquid frozen yogurt (Froyo 2.2.1) and the new Simply Stunning(2.3.4) can't really make up my mind. But have decided that a 250/900 LV kernel is perfect for me. Only differences I found was that Froyo gives me longer battery but ginger gave me multitasking (& of course Netflix).
    digibucc says thanks.
  6. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Droid X users are getting an official OTA gingerbread update now. Congrats! Don't think I'll ever see one for my Incredible.
  7. blacktruckryder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    326 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Morrow, Oh
    Ok, new phone for me! Picked up a T-mobile HTC HD2 . Hacked and running Android, HyperDroid CM7. Overclocked to 1075Mhz for daily use.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,609 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,996
    I actually don't mind the way it is now. I'm quite happy with my Incredible. I keep not needed applications and services turned off using Astro and my battery life is excellent. I've been using it as a modem every day at work as the 3G is faster than my DSL connection there. I figure this thing can last me a while yet.
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I don't think I'm budging from my Incredible until Verizon has a dual core HTC smartphone with a 4G radio. I am quite happy with it. I actually rooted it and messed around with CM7, but I'm in the process of bringing it completely back to stock. I really do like HTC's Sense UI.
  10. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,914 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    +1. I hear tons of crap about sense but personally I prefer it.
  11. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Ok, so HTC decided NOT to update the Desire to 2.3... That means I'm going to drop Sense and start rooting soon.
  12. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    There are ROMs with Sense in them, too :)
  13. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
  14. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Yeah, but Sense chomps up a lot of space, so if I go the root route, I will drop Sense. I'm not that attached to it, since I've been using ADW before on my x10 mini, and on this Desire for a while.

    Yeah, I saw that just a bit after I posted too :D Still, I think I'm going to do it.
  15. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    494 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Hello friends,I just need a little advice,my friend asked me yesterday at work,that if I could help her with HTC HD7,altough not an android phone,I know you will be happy to help:)
    So basically,she said her smartphone is not being recognized by the system after connecting to her pc.of course my first thought was that she hasnt got the appropriate software installed.since I never had any HTC,I dont know what is HTCs equivalent to lets say SAMSUNGs Kies....of course I could google it,but I thought I didnt speak in this thread for a while,so I'll ask :toast:
    As far as I remember,I also had to install Kies first and only then was everything working as it should with my Galaxy S while connected to a computer.
    A faulty cable is excluded,cos the girl said she tried her phone in a mobile shop and it was fine and then she took the same USB cable home.
  16. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Its an awesome phone for tweaking isnt it ?

    I am dual booting two OS's on my HD2 and couldnt be happier. :D
  17. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Doesn't WP7 devices like the HD7 require the Zune software to manage the files in the phone?
  18. Rado D

    Rado D

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    494 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    Just like I said,I've used any HTC,so I dont know,but thanks :)

    Oh,by the way I noticed that shes got Zune on her phone,but apparently not on her computer,assuming that we know it desnt work properly.
  19. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    726 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    I think you need to have Windows Mobile software and the Zune software installed on the PC. Not sure if you require both but i'd go with the Zune one 1st for Syncing and the sort.
  20. blacktruckryder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    326 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Morrow, Oh
    Yes the HD2 is a great phone! I thought about dual booting windows and android, but decided I like android much better.

    As for the HD7, I had to have the Zune software installed before I could sync anything. I had an HD7 for like a week.
  21. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    I have an LG-P500 or LG Optimus currently running 2.3.3 Gingerbread with Cyaogen Mod. Can I run Darkys mod on my phone? o_O
    Or can anyone name some other good roms to run on an LG -P500?
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  22. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    To the best of my knowledge Darky's is only for Samsung Galaxy S phones. I've never seen it running on anything else but a GS.
  23. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Do you know of any good roms for my LG-P500?
  24. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Unfortunately I keep my distance from LG phones since owning a KF600. Your best bet is to look on the XDA Dev forums.
  25. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Anyone know how to flash and install roms on a Samsung B7320L? It's my secondary phone and has decent specs(600mhz proc), yet WM 6.5 doesn't utilize it well.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page