1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Google Android users clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by crazy pyro, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,913 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    you need to go to the "android development" subsection of the xda forum for your phone, and learn how to root your phone. once you'e rooted it, you just flash any of the roms in that same forum that say ICS or Ice Cream Sandwich
  2. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,915 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    Any specific roms to recommend?


    edit: I'll just wait. lol.
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2012
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,302 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    London, UK
    it's trial and error, you find what you like most :) take a backup of your original rom just in case
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Which version of the GS2 do you have entropy? Can't really help right now but once my company leaves I can walk you through it. Got Gtalk? jrracinfan@gmail.com

    EDIT
    @everyone else
    You can add me if you wish. I don't mind, I'll chat with yah. :)
  5. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,915 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    Samsung Galaxy S2 (GT-I9100)
  6. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,913 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,489
    it really is up to personal preference. do you want a nearly stock rom that's just tweaked to be more stable and efficient? do you want a cool rom with extra features and shiny things? it's up to you.

    unfortunately i don't have a GS2 so i can't recommend one ;)
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    entropy13 says thanks.
  8. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,915 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Once you root, if you got 3G, you can tether. Unsure if you have a data cap or not though.
  10. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,915 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    ...I need an SD card? :twitch:

    Anyway, I don't see anything specifically pertaining to upgrading to ICS on those two threads though...unless I'm missing something there. :laugh:
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    The 2nd link is an ICS based custom rom. Yes you will need an SD card.
  12. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,915 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    I can't even start rooting because I can't go to "Download Mode", the phone always take a screenshot. lol

    EDIT: Oh I reboot it first and then press that combination of buttons? We'll see, since the "read this thread" first never mentioned anything about rebooting the phone. lol
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2012
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  14. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,915 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    Yeah, I eventually figured that out LOL

    Now, to wait for 4-6 hours for the ROM you linked to. :laugh:
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    LOL

    Sorry. Maybe you can cancel it, log on to the forums on the GS2 and download that way.
  16. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    ICS cant be done ota so you need to download Kies Air for your pc then plug in your phone FULLY CHARGED and then the update will take place :)
  17. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,915 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    That would only happen for you (Australia) and people in the UK. I checked for updates using Kies and all it got was 2.3.3 to 2.3.6. :laugh:

    Do I get ICS by flashing that Foxhound ROM?
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2012
  18. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    If you have confidence in flashing roms then look around XDA for some ICS roms, just make sure you get one that works in the Philippines, or wait for an official rom :)
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yes, pretty sure it's based off 4.0.1.
  20. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,915 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    The instructions are this:
    1. Boot into recovery mode
    2. Format System / Factory Data Wipe
    3. Wipe cache and also wipe dalvik cache
    4. Install FoxHound ICS zip file. You will get install completed message.
    5. Select to Restart System Now and let the phone boot up to an Android setup screen.
    6. Setup the phone as requested including Google setup.
    7. Once Android Setup is complete, Reboot the phone into Recovery Mode again
    8. Wipe cache and wipe dalvik cache again
    9. Select to Restart System Now
    10.Now if you want install AOSP package

    Steps 1 and 7 are the only steps I understand and know what to do. :laugh: Help? lol
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    entropy13 says thanks.
  22. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,915 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well darn it. I am over here thinking you already got it :rolleyes:
  24. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    I can show you how to use the recovery, 2 secs I'll make a vid for you :)

    Hope this helps.. : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_7h3mUfgp8M&feature=youtu.be
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2012
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  25. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,915 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,193
    Finally done with upgrading to ICS (4.0.3), rooted already as well. Although it's LPQ firmware...is my firmware compatible for this one? No problems would be encountered due to that?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page