1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Google Android users clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by crazy pyro, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    great. now replace the OS just because you can. if its anything less than 4.1.1, its not good enough!
  2. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,235 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I just love this new toy! I also bought a silicon case for it.

    It lets me update to 4.0.4 but no higher. This phone I wont root like the Desire Z before. The benefit of rooting was not all to great.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    'ad free android'


    worth rooting just on its own.
    Ahhzz and digibucc say thanks.
  4. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,032 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Congratz on the buy! The thing that is a letdown on the note is that it MAY chug in some games since it has the same hardware as the S2 but a much higher resolution screen. This is why the galaxy s2 beats it in benchmarks! But its still an awesome phone, and will be even better once jellybean is released for it! :toast: Battery life is also amazing. I'm gonna wait it out and not take the leap on the GS3 since theres a new king in town the optimus G 1.4 ghz s4 quadcore lte, 2gb ram, 13mp camera and adrena 320 gpu should be one kick ass motherfu*$*n phone!
  5. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,235 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I installed the android 2.2 froyo on my old phone since i am gonna sell it. Is it still rooted now? Can I still install any android ROM on it?
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    May want to check with your buyer. I know I gave PaulieG an option when he purchased a Moto Droid from me. I included a 1GB MicroSD with the utilities to flash it back to an OTA.
  7. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,235 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    Any suggestions on a good ICS rom for my old Desire Z that I try to sell?
  8. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I have a friend running ICS on his HP touchpad, lol.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    I am too. It's so much nicer that GB :pimp:
    Irony says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  11. Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,235 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    I now also rooted the galaxy note n7000. hated the ads.

    here the steps:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1329360

    1.Rooting with stock recovery - Thanx to Entropy who direct this way,as well always looking for safety measures for us, Chainfire for creating great tool SuperSu (and many more), Phil3759 as files,scripts derived from his Thread and Linus Yang for Busybox.

    - Download Root_SuperSu 0.95
    -Copy downloaded file to Ext SD card.
    -Reboot into recovery (vol up+Home+power)
    -Select install zip from ext SD card
    -select 'root_SuperSU-*.zip' which you have copied to Ext card above
    -Reboot device
    -You can see superSU on appl drawer. open it and update.
    -Now This will give you only SuperSU not busybox, though application which doesn't depends on system busybox will still works.e.g.Titanium Backup.
    -To get full Root+busybox, Download Root_busybox *.zip
    -Copy Root_busybox* only to Ext SD card
    -Reboot into recovery, Select Install zip from Ext SD card. select Root_busybox* .zip and Flash.
    -Done !
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    got a new android toy.

    http://www.zenithink.com/Eproducts_C91_2.php


    This tablet, but with bluetooth and GPS built in. 10" screen and GPS is mindblowing. currently working on overclocking it, since its locked to 800Mhz on the launch firmware (and it can go upto 1.2GHz reliably, according to end user reports)


    also it had 256/512MB of app space, expandable to 2GB via kernel mods. seems weird, some of the decisions these chinese make.
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,465 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,009
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Is this the dual or single core A9?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,081 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    JR, I've got a question. I've got the Rezound, and I did the HTC unlocker on it to get root. Now the OTA ICS has been beating on my phone for over a month now, and won't load because of the boot loader, and won't defer (even tho it lets me set a time/date deferral date). It's driving me nuts. Every couple of days, I wake up/pull the phone out/go to a client, and my phone's got a terminal red exclamation, showing the update failed (again, duh):banghead:. I've been digging thru the webs, trying to find a way to stop the OTA completely, or barring that, undo the Dev unlock and push the OTA. I even dug out the toolkit from sda( http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1696394) trying to find some way to MAKE IT STOP heheheh. I found a rom for ICS, but it says I can't use it if I've unlocked it, and I can't find a way to undo it. I really don't, at this point, even care to get ICS on the damn thing; I'm happy with it running the way it is. Have you seen anything about undoing the HTC unlocker? Or a way to disable the damn OTA?
  15. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Lol, I love their descriptions: 'tablet series of a9 take the lead and beyond all types tablets.' Also, the memory 'give strong support to application and mass games and safeguard intelligent OS.'

    Looks like a pretty good deal, fairly cheap too. Does it have a sd card slot?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I'll write you a guide or assist when I get home tonight. You know, I dev for the phone now and got a pretty nice rom for you to try.
    Ahhzz says thanks.
  17. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I have a question. I don't think it belongs here entirely but I don't think its worthy of its own thread either.

    Newegg has an unlocked Galaxy S3, would it be possible to get that and a net10 sim card to use their plans?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @Aahzz

    OK, what rom are you currently running right now? Root access?
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    looks like single. i thought it was dual, but multi threaded benchmarks are slower than single.


    OC'd to 1.2GHz now, custom firmware installed. VERY snappy.


    came with a 16GB class 4 in the slot ;)


    features it doesnt list anywhere:
    HDMI
    100Mb Ethernet (via dongle i didnt get with it)
    bluetooth
    GPS
    USB port (works with NTFS USB drives, woo!)
    also, multi touch capable on latest firmware.
    Irony says thanks.
  20. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,081 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Just root access, unlocked with the Dev unlocker.

    And thanks for the assist :(
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Can you go into hboot for me and get all the numbers it shows and type them here. (Power off pull battery, power on while holding vol - til you get a white screen)

    You're quite welcome. :)
  22. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,081 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Hboot 2.11.0000
    eMMC-Boot
    Oct 6 2011, 15:43:22
    Right now, I'm "ReLocked" (told you I was trying that ToolKit heheh. Easey to unlock tho.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I know exactly where you are stuck.

    Download this:
    http://androidrevolutions.com/neo/files/RUU_Vigor_VERIZON_WWE_3.14.605.12_PH98IMG.zip

    Place it on the root of your SD card named as "PH98IMG.zip", through means of a card reader. That is essentially the OTA through other means not going through VZW for it though. Let it update, it should run through once, reboot, then a second time. What's happenning is it's first going to update parts of the firmware to let the rest of the update run. Once you get back to a fully booted state, rename it to say maybe "OTAPH98IMG.zip" so you have it later.

    Get with me if you wish to re-root.
    Ahhzz says thanks.
  24. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,081 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    You rule! Thanks, will run it tonite!
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,011 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    manually installed the latest google maps to my btablet and now the touchscreen doesnt work o_O


    format time!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page