1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Google Chrome Sheds Its Beta Status

Discussion in 'News' started by Polaris573, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Thursday Google removed the beta status of its new web browser, Chrome. This is a surprisingly fast 100 days after its roll out in September, especially for Google whose popular "gmail" still retains beta status. Google is confident that Chrome is read for prime time since it has fewer bugs, is more secure and runs faster than it did three months ago. While Chrome still only claims about 1 percent of the browser market share it is hoped that since the browser is no longer in the beta stages it will be adopted by more users who are leery of the beta title and the negative connotations that come with it.

    Source: The New York Times

    Google Chrome
     
  2. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    as long as they add more features it'll be good. Firefox still holds the 1st place line.
     
  3. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    I really think simplicity will be the key of success to Chrome... at least thats why im using it! :rockout:
    No unneccesary crap...
     
  4. bigbigmouth

    bigbigmouth New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :toast: that is good, hope it has the good capability
     
  5. Necrofire

    Necrofire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    586 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    When I see some sort of Adblock Plus, I'll completely switch over.
     
  6. csendesmark

    csendesmark

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    345 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    "This is a surprisingly fast 100 days after its roll out in September, especially for Google whose popular "gmail" still retains beta status."

    The Chromium project is running since 2006
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,355 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Fewer Bugs, pffttt, how about no bugs.
     
  8. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Roll out
     
  9. tomkaten

    tomkaten

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    69 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    You can use this proxy to the same effect, more or less. Adblock Plus is still better, but this works as well.
     
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,355 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Pure and SImple, No SCRIPT!
     
  11. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I use chrome simply because is quick, uncomplicated, small and does everything i need a browser to do.
    I also like but it just feels a bit too cluttered and I'm too lazy to install it and copy my bookmarks.
    Would be nice if they brought out a 64-bit chrome tho.
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  12. Jeno Guest

    how can they be past the beta stage when the browser is still full of bugs :wtf:
     
  13. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    OMG FF still has bugs and its been here for years... get real man!

    But as Silkstone said, 64-bit Chrome would be very nice.... I hope we get it soon
     
  14. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    what's the point of a 64-bit browser? what, you keep 500 tabs open?
     
  15. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    Just an example...
    Lower is better, Firefox x86 vs Firefox x64

    [​IMG]

    Maybe?
     
  16. Shyska New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    159 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Example of what?
    You run 32bit application on 64bit OS vs 64bit application on 64bit OS.
    The only thing you prove is that simulated environment is not better that native...


     
  17. Necrofire

    Necrofire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    586 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Good point shyska. The major problem with 64-bit firefox is that I can't go to youtube and watch videos.

    I'll stick with 32-bit FF and Chrome.
     
  18. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    As someone stated before, its not the problem with 64bit FF, but with Adobe not releasing a 64 bit flash...
    But i get your point... i'm just saying it would be better if verything was 64bit, no? :D
     
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  19. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    everything has bug man or thus... problems.
     
  20. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    kinda makes us all wonder why Intel and AMD even came out with 64-bit. hardware may run but all software and drivers aren't 64-bit yet. kinda/sorta screws us over.
     
  21. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    At least we get our expensive 4gb ram counted in :D :D :D.... not that it has any effect over 2gb's but hey e-penis grows larger :D
     
  22. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    4gb make smy rig a lot faster over 2 using vista 64. i can actually play crysis now. however i could play it with only 2gb in xp-32. Photoshop-64 is also much faster
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page