1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Got 4.8Ghz @ 1.32v

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by OmegaAI, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,291 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    Thats a nice overclock. Well actually the overclock is okay but the voltage is nice.

    I run mine at 4.7GHz 24/7 but can easily run over 5GHz but I need a lot of volts to do it. I envy the 2500k's that don't seem to need a lot of volts.

    I run 1.4v 24/7 for mine right now but if I go over 4.7GHz then I really need to start upping the voltage.

    If I could do 4.7GHz at that voltage you have then I'd be running 5GHz 24/7 for sure. My rig is stable up at that speed but the scarey high volts ....scare me lol.
  2. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,330 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    532
    I think i'm sold on getting an i5 2500k as my next cpu :pimp:

    now for someone to hire me so I can afford the thing (along with a GTX560 TI 448 core and 8GB DDR3)
  3. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    it is a good chip, i mean how much power does the average user really need? i paid 220$ aus for mine,which was cheapish at the time,i run it 24/7 @ 4738 and my temps at idle dont go over 30c basically,under load there relatively stable to maybe 35c-40c tops even when gaming ive noticed,i cant get it above 4738 that wiout bsod,but i dont know how to manually oc yet,

    the closed liquid cooler i got that was oni 89$ does a sterling job,summer coming will be the real test tho,haha,my room gits hot,:)
    see in the pics the advanced mode voltages,should i incrementally reduce or up the vccio,pll,pch volts etc? this i dont know .

    Attached Files:

  4. fusionblu

    fusionblu

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    256 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    London, England, UK
    I would imagine so as to get a stable 4.8GHz at around 1.34v you would have an i7-2600k that is in a good position in the silicone lottery and from a good batch, anything better than this example such as another stable i7-2600K CPU with the same clock, lower voltage or a higher clock, same voltage would clearly be a better champion of the silicone lottery and from a better batch than the main example; all of course could probably indicated by the batch number.

    While I don't have a i7-2600k I do know the clear differences in batches as my i7-960 (1366) OEM can stably overclock more further than other normal i7-960 Retail CPUs at around 4GHz-4.2GHz (probably further with the right overclocking settings since I already have the right cooling for it) opposed to the standard overclocks from 3.6GHz-3.8GHz from the retail models (well that was just from some pre-build overclocked systems I've seen with the i7-960). I have seen pre-built systems with the same CPU as mine running at 4GHz, but it appear from my point of view that 4GHz is their maximum limit before becoming unstable where mine can be stable up to 4.2GHz.
    OmegaAI says thanks.
  5. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    Dude, getting 4.2 on a i7 920 or anything like was god like. Still beastly chips though.

    Not bad.

    You have not seen golden batch 920s have you? I have seen some getting 4.0 1.225v or some crap stable.

    It is called FIRST GEN for a reason. Besides this is a 2500k. It is Sandy Bridge, not Nehalem.

    Hm.... HMMMMMM.....

    I boot into 5.0 with 50 multi @ 1.32 and can pass 5 runs of LinX with 5120MB of ram set. Though it is not 100% stable, still impressive nonetheless.

    Yeah and your voltage for taht chip is killer!
    I....really don't know how to and I am afraid of pushing the voltage too high ont his thing. Care to help me out?

    Yeah, they kinda are. Also my batch is 3113B776

    Bro I haven't even tried pushing this thing. I just set the voltage to something I thought was low (based on other 2500k on OCN.) and thought to myself, I can do that too. And I got lucky :D I MAY be able to push lower votlages though. IDK.

    Thing is a beast. current setting up I am getting over 30k in 3Dmark06

    You make no sense bro. SB overclocks like mad, but some require crap voltage. Like 1.44 for 4.8.... I have seen others needing 1.45 for 4.5Ghz D:

    I am going to go for 5 and see what happens.

    Also, I am going to put this here:

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1523758
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2011
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,186 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    Yes, 4.1gig @ 1.28V on a C0 chip is good, however I can not go past 4.4gig on air, she needs 1.45V + for that and she just gets too toasty.
  7. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,845 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    AFAIK, i7 9XX are very batch independent, meaning a chip from the same batch won't necessarily do anything like the other chip. It really came down to if you were lucky to get a good chip
  8. fusionblu

    fusionblu

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    256 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    London, England, UK
    What I'm getting at is that some Sandy Bridge CPUs of the same model are made better than others and they can clock higher with less voltage, but the examples you've given would appear to me to be standard i7-2600k Retail CPUs that didn't do so well in the silicone lottery or to be more exact those CPUs are not the best i7-2600k around for overclocking.

    That is true and in my case I was very lucky to get a good i7-960, but generally batch numbers can indicate the chances of getting a good quality CPU, however, it is clear that it is not certain that you will get a good CPU as every CPU different in small ways which could mean a lot when overclocking. Despite that I know that fact I will always insist that OEM models are better than the Retail models as that is what experience has taught me. :)
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,149 (13.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,603
    I'll have to test some things out... I forget what voltage I need for 5.1ghz. Our chips are somewhat similar though as I run 4.8ghz 1.34v 24/7. I could try running it at your voltage and I might be stable.

    I didn't catch what kind of cooling you're using, but 5ghz should be easily achievable and hopefully you won't have to start adding a lot of voltage. I'll get back to you with my 5ghz results. :toast:
  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i can run 4.8GHz 1.32v with ht off :p
  11. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    Hm.... 5.0GHz @ 1.375, maybe lower... hmmmmm

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  12. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,067 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Nice chip let us know when you get bored of it...
  13. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    h100
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Can you run vantage @ 5GHz ?
  15. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,398 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,477
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    picture no worky.
  17. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    735 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Nice clock and vcore my shitty 2600k needs 1.3 in bios for 4,3ghz , 1,26 v in os with cpu-z
    Have nOt tried higher, avg cpu temps 60c
  18. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    I can boot into 5.0GHz with 1.32v
  19. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    whats the axe in your sig?
  20. OmegaAI

    OmegaAI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    369 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Stuff
    Got lower on my voltage

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  21. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,067 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Nice job!
  22. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,118 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,993
    This is looking great for you, and it's making me want to give my own OC another go around... very nice!
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page