1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Got a new toy, show me how play with it :)

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Ev1LrYu, Nov 13, 2011.

  1. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    Hey Guys!

    So I saw an opportunity and jumped the gun: I am going 2500k! :rockout::rockout: This is my first Intel build, and am a bit nervous (especially with such relatively expensive parts). So this is what I got:

    2500K (stuck with the stock cooler till next payday ~7days from now)
    P8P67 Pro B3
    2 x 2GB G.Skill DDR3 1600 CL9

    I need guidance on the following:
    BIOS settings for overclocking (step by step noob level)
    Safe temps (ambient can swing quite wildly here)
    Best budget cooler for ~4-4.4Ghz :D

    I'll get some sleep before playing hard with this tomorrow. Thanks in advance for the inputs!
     
  2. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,270 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    660
    Bios settings. 4.4GHz try 1.35v and 44x multi. You shouldnt need PLL override enabled at that speed and 1.4v should be plenty. You can likely lower it to be honest. But yes, its just that easy.

    Keep the temps under 80C or so under Prime95 type load.

    Hyper 212+.
     
    Ev1LrYu says thanks.
  3. Chewers

    Chewers New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    143 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Latvia
    Depends on cooling solutions u will use. with stock cooling i wouldn't suggest u go higher then 4.2Ghz and for that u dont need to do any bios tune except RAM should be set to 1600Mhz coz by default SB will set it to 1333MHz. To go higher then 4.2 with some decent cooler u still can use AI Suite II and TurboV Evo (ensure TPU on M/B is on). If u like to do it manualy.
    P8P67 Pro With 2500k @ 5.1GHz
    All Cores - 49
    BLCK 104.1
    PLL Overvoltage - Disable
    1.440v in UEFI
    VCCSA 0.925v
    VCCIO 1.05v
    CPU PLL Voltage: 1.8v
    Load-Line Calibration: Ultra High
    Phase Control: Extreme
    Duty Control: Extreme
    CPU Current Capability: 140%

    For 24/7 i choosed to run 4.8Ghz and

    P8P67 Pro With 2500k @ 4.8GHz
    All Cores - 48
    BLCK 100.0
    PLL Overvoltage - Disable
    1.360v in UEFI
    VCCSA 0.925v
    VCCIO 1.05v
    CPU PLL Voltage: 1.8v
    Load-Line Calibration: Ultra High
    Phase Control: Extreme
    Duty Control: Extreme
    CPU Current Capability: 130%
    Speed step Enabled

    To admit - im using Corsair H100 LCS
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2011
    theJesus and Ev1LrYu say thanks.
  4. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    Thanks for the replies so far.


    So i got it installed and running @ stock, HWMonitor reports idle temps @ ~44c, while Asus AI reports 30c.

    tried to bump just the multi to 40 with everything else on auto and the board sets voltage @ 1.356 during prime95, shooting the temp up to ~82c.

    I immediately shut it off and returned all settings to auto. Will prolly keep it this way till I get some proper cooling

    Thanks again
     
  5. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    SO i got the 212+

    Hey guys,

    So i got the 212+ cooler and played around with it. I havent really tried going for 4.5 yet as the ambient here can really get high at noon, so I stuck with a 4.2 oc.

    Looking good so far?

    Side questions:
    I put CPU Voltage to manual instead of offset and set 1.320 in the bios, why does it only show 1.256 in CPUZ?

    Why the temp discrepancy of 10* between ASUS AI and HWMonitor?

    Thanks!


    [​IMG]
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,948 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,071
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    VDroop. ASUS AISuite confirms the 1.25v.

    manual voltage, use loadline calibration. Offset uses it's own form of loadline.

    temps differences are probably the difference between actual core temps, and CPU case temps(IHS).

    lots of temps for Sandybridge:

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Ev1LrYu says thanks.
  7. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    Thanks! I'll try that later. Given that it seems to run stable at this setting though (I will run p95 for an hour or two later too), do I still need to up the voltage using what you told me, or is letting it sit at this lower actual vcore better?
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2011
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,948 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,071
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    nah, if it's stable, I'd try to drop it a bit more, even, if ya can.
     
    Ev1LrYu says thanks.
  9. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Miami
    you can get that sucker to 70C load all day, no problem. If you are at 55C-60C, you have a ton of room. Go higher... moar gigahertz.
     
    Ev1LrYu says thanks.
  10. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    I initially set it to 1.250 at bios (CPUZ 1.216) and it BSOD'd after 10mins of prime.

    Cool (actually, HOT lol)! I guess i'll push over the weekend to see how far I can go... Already 2hours later for work lolol

    THanks all! :toast:
     
  11. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,397 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    563
    Location:
    AZ
    @ thread title:
    That's what she said!
     
    Ev1LrYu says thanks.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,948 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,071
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :banghead:

    Did you try between 1.25v and 1.32v ?

    The lower you get, the lower your temps will be.

    10 minutes of prime is usually a good indicator that a decent jump is needed, maybe up to 1.3v or something, but myself, i'd play a bit and try to find the sweetspot.
     
    Ev1LrYu says thanks.
  13. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    Hey guys,

    so got a bit of tweaking in. Here is the result:
    Multi: 45
    vcore: 1.345 (any less it BSOD's), hovers @ 1.344 during prime run (there was a dip to 1.328 on the screencap)
    set LLC from medium -> ultra (anything lower = 1.31xx and of course BSOD)


    After ~15mins of prime. Will run again, need to hop off to visit the folks. Everything looking ok?

    EDIT 2: Nothing much changed after an hour of prime. Max temp was 72c. So is this still ok?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2011
  14. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Miami
    Nice!!!

    Time to work on the GFX card.
     
    Ev1LrYu says thanks.
  15. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,935 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,211
    Temps are still OK, try getting to 4.6GHz at least? My 2500k reaches that (I haven't tested if I can go beyond that though, too "busy" with playing games; I don't bring my 2600k beyond 4.8GHz either LOL)
     
    Ev1LrYu says thanks.
  16. Ev1LrYu

    Ev1LrYu

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Philippines! :D
    Thanks! Haven't really had the need to oc the GPU, 40% of my gaming time is still on Heroes of Newerth (DotA style game), and the rest on a 'trial' version of Skyrim ;). I think I will buy it on my next payout along with an SSD. :D I also wanna get BF3 if budget permits, maybe then I'll wanna push the GPU.

    Thanks again all!
     
  17. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's pretty much the only reason I clicked on the thread :laugh:

    Then I saw it was about the 2500K and since I'm getting that soon, I'm subbing. Looks like there's lots of good info in here.
     
  18. John Doe Guest

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page