1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Got my HD2600XT ddr4 today!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by GLD, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,352 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I got my Sapphire 2600XT 256mb ddr4 card today for the low price of $128! Thanks to "devguy" for posting the Newegg promo code on the 22nd. :cool: Oh yea, and I got GRAW 2 with it for free. With the promo code and the free game it was a $75 savings. How sweet is that? :D

    I just got it in to my Antec NSK1300 (Aria). It's psu is 300w PFC with 18a on the 12v. This rig has XP Pro 32bit, 2gigs, a 3800+ Venice and just onboard sound on the Biostar TForce 6100 939. It is hooked up to my main LG lcd and z640's atm. I fired up the Medal Of Honor Airborne demo setup and this system defaults to 1280x1024 (monitor max), High texture detail, Medium model detail, Medium decals, and Full post processing effects. So to simplify I will say 1280x1024/High/Medium/Medium/Full.

    My main rig in sig is currently in the 2nd station/desk hooked to a 15" analog lcd with max resolution of 1024x768. The MoHA demo setup on this rig defaults to 800x600/High/Low/Low/Full. :eek: I expected the 7900GS to default to at least the same settings as the 2600XT. Guess not. :nutkick:

    So far so Sapphire good! :rockout:
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2007
  2. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    541 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Thats a pretty good deal. I think I can get one direct from ati for about that much but doesnt come with any games bundled.
  3. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Congrats! :pimp:

    Any chance of posting a few benchies (3Dmark06, Aquamark, ect ect)? Would like to see how it compares to the one I just bought for $133 shipped.
  4. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,352 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    I will get to some benchmarks, but I plan to move the 4000+ and X-Fi card in to the Antec first. I just played some BF2. It defaults to the same video settings as my X850XT, 1024x768, all High settings, no AA. I could run 1280x1024, 4x AA though on the X850XT, 6x (max available) would cause the sandbags to look all messed up. This 2600XT lets me run 1280x1024, all High settings with the max available 8x AA. Everything looks and plays good. More to come. :)

    I feel dumb now, I reported BF2 running good with 8x AA enabled. In my haste I didn't realize that the game needed to be restarted to enable any new AA settings. I just restarted the map, not the whole game. So I was running with out AA, but at alll high settings @ 1280x1024. It was late, I fell stupid. Still happy with the card. I will test more later. Sorry for the mis-information.
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2007
  5. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Sounds like you got yourself a bargain. Let us know when you get some benchmarks or run fraps with bf2 to get some fps.

    I just got a new X1950pro instead of a mid range dx10 card (2600xt/8600GT) and would like to know if I chose well?!!?
  6. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Unfortunately the 2600xt gddr4 version is now beating the 1950pros with the 7.8 drivers...
    But its not by far...

    8600gt is crap! 8600GTS is decent.
  7. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    HD2600XT FTW....i love my HD2600XT....plays BF2142 maxed at 1280x1024...but no AA. And i get 94FPS in CS:S stress test maxed at 1280x1024 4xaa 8xaf:rockout:
  8. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    How's that possible? Do you have some proof for that?! :eek: :p
  9. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Can you run this same test at 1024x768 for me so that I can compare my x1950pro. I'm on an old 15" monitor unfortunately so cannot compare!
  10. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I wanna seem some 3dm06 scores. If the HD26XT can beat 6.1k (OCd or not) I'll accept its a smidge faster in lower resolutions than a 1950Pro. Personally, I dont think it can beat 6.1k. Prove me wrong.
  11. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    In some applications it is... I don't remember where I saw all the tests they were very detailed and very well written.. The 1950pro still beat it in a few things here and there, but overall considering they are the same price the 2600xt draws way less power and the drivers are still improving it, its going to beat it flat out very soon across the boards.
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Other way around. GTS sucks, it pales compared to the 8800GTS, and it's only £30 cheaper over here.

    8600GT is a decent card for the money, but the HD2600 looks to be overtaking it now.

    The new drivers are really good. Improved performance on my rig quite a bit, so I'm not surprised the 2600 has improved a lot.
  13. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    other way around ? i think not, 8600gt = crap doesnt oc that far and perf is quite a bit behind the gts not worth it imo only good for htpc?, and the only 8600gts that is £30 cheaper is the xfx XXX 8600gts but who needs that when you can get a vanilla one and oc it past xxx speeds for £100 now where can you get a new 8800gts for £130 ?
  14. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Oops, never noticed the prices had dropped that far. Remember that when they came out you were looking at £140-£160, and when you can get an 8800GTS for £180-£200 it wasn't worth it, but considering how much the prices have dropped, yeah the GT sucks lol.

    Sorry.
  15. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    ^ What kind of improvements could you expect with the 7.8 drivers? Is some 500-1,000 points more in 3DMark06/5-10 FPS more in games an overstatement with the 2600 XT? :p
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Don't under estimate the power of properly written drivers...
    And give up on this silly benchmarking 3dmark crap numbers... They give a general basis not what they really perform like...

    Put it this way my 1300pro and my 1300xt both scored about dead even in 3dmark06 in the same machine, when I got the 1300xt I gained more than 20 fps in CS:S.... So.... Shows how useless benchmarking software can be huh.
  17. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Yeah, np for the coupon code. And iirc it does seem that the latest drivers allow the hd 2600xt to match the x1950pro, but only up to 1280x1024. After that, the 2600xt gets it's ass kicked by the x1950pro (c'mon ati, launch an overclocked 2600xt w/a 256bit memory bus for about $160)!
  18. Paradox

    Paradox New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    80 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lebanon, Tennessee:
    Yeah... uh... XFX 8600GT 540/800 stock
    [​IMG]

    Not too bad, but my 2600XT pulls 4800 stock, with the drivers out now.

    [​IMG]

    I get 5292 with SLi 7600GT's, 4519 with a X1900GT, 5933 with my X1950XT so I don't think these cards are bad at all...
  19. EnglishLion

    EnglishLion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    461 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Peterborough, UK
    Looks like these cards are pretty good now with the new drivers but I'm still glad I got my X1950pro as they both cost the same (ebuyer - ~£85) and the X1950pro has extra memory 512Mb at a faster bus speed 256bit.
  20. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Yea sure....ill post the results later today:)
  21. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    Just asked the 3DMark06 -result as a reference... if the score would improve some 500p or more, it'd surely reflect on games too.

    Well, let's put it this way; would a 2600 XT enable to run Bioshock/Crysis at 1280*1024 & high/medium detail, and still get an average of 25+ FPS (without AA & AF)? :D
  22. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    A gddr4 most likely, but being I don't have one I can't say for certain...

    ****
    A few people did raise a good point in "high" resolution the x1950 is still beating the 2600xt simply because of the extra memory possibility and the 256bit bus.
  23. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Lemme sum up the argument real quick:

    HD 2600XT with GDDR4 = 40W version of X1950Pro GDDR3.
  24. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Just wanted to fix this for ya...

    HD 2600XT with GDDR4 256mb = 40W version of X1950Pro GDDR3 256mb

    HD 2600xt with GDDR512mb = 50W choked version of x1950Pro GDDR3 512mb
    zekrahminator says thanks.
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page