1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Got my new opty 165.. should I let it run or OC NOW??

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by DrunkenMafia, Apr 4, 2007.

  1. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Well I got my new opty 165 from the US 2day. :rockout: I ended up with the LC9BE.. Its one of the newer steppings but I have heard they are doing around 2.8ish.

    My question is this, should I let the thing run for a week or so before ocin it or can I get straight into it? It is a new cpu, one of those oem versions
     
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    i personally would burn it in for 5 hours or so and then clock the holy hell out of it
     
  3. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    heehee.. sounds good to me. Thanxs bro, I hope I can get upwards of 2.8, just doing some more research on the stepping now.

    For some reason my chipset is sitting at 53c!!! wonder why that is, I just removed the waterblock and put new AS5 on there... should it be that high??
     
  4. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,590 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    You have to give it some time to break in, although that is kind of high, especially for water.
     
  5. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    whats the full stepping number on that opty?
     
  6. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    its a LCB9E 0704TPMW

    My nb usually sits around 47.. so maybe it will go down when the AS5 sets in a little...
     
  7. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    lol just did PI 1m and got like 45 seconds... my opty148 did 30...

    Cant wait to see what this thing can do
     
  8. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    from wha ti can find the lcb9e stepping is good for 2.8ghz so a nice 60 or 70 % overclock:toast: my 144 will do 3ghz on air but with 1.7v so with any luck u can hit 3..and u have a really new stepping
     
  9. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    yeah I think is the most recent stepping there is for these.. I will be happy with 2.8. will have to run a massive divider on my ram as it only does DDR460.. will need my fsb up around the 300-320 mark..
     
  10. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    1.7!!!! how long has it been running on that for.. I was never game to take my 148 over 1.5v.... maybe I should have
    :)
     
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    wanna trade ram? mine will do DDR670 @ 2.8v :toast:
     
  12. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    stable 24/7 on air arctic freezer 64 pro idle is 21c load is 31c :toast:
     
  13. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    nice one on the ram.. I would but I need the 2gb.. I just sold my corsair ddr500 for this stuff.. I oinly got it about 2 months ago of some chump on ebay who wanted $80 for each stick... he didn't even know what size they were!!!! I bought both sticks for $160 and managed to still get free postage outa him..
     
  14. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    might do a couple of benchies with this thing at stock to have something to compare with..
     
  15. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,663
    yeah that a good idea,you still have the 148? i might be interested if u have it:D
     
  16. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    yeah man I still have it.. was going to put a thread on here or just ebay it... its a great chip, still under warrantee too.

    I have had it sitting on 2750 since I bought it and never once has it crashed. I have only had the core up to 1.49 though... it may go higher. I can't test it now though as it takes about 1 hour to change a cpu in my rig with all the water n shit everywhere...

    But hey if your interested let me know.. I am in Aussie though so you may be able to pick one up way cheaper over there...
     
  17. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Ok so I was sitting here waiting for 5 or so hours to pass by before I oc'd the 165 and well.... It felt like 5 hours so I figured that must be close enough...

    This chip seems good It booted at 2200mhz on stock v, so I chucked it up to 2700 and it got to windows on stock v then died.. So I put the volts up to 1.39 and I am here now in windows at 2700!!! nice...

    Will leave this run p95 for a while then I will come back and try some more... I am scoring up with the c2 extreme in everest benchmarks... :)

    will keep you posted...
     
  18. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    ok p95 for around an hour stable at 300.. will jump it up a little and see what happens..

    Current volts @ 1.39. Cpu stayed below 40 during prime 95..
     
  19. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Oh man.. I just ran pcmark05 and only got like 2291 points... What the???

    My old 148 gets around 4100

    I pasted the scores here, any ideas what is dragging them down so low??

    I know my HDD's Suck bad...


    System Test Suite
    HDD - XP Startup 8.84 MB/s

    Physics and 3D 219.07 FPS

    Transparent Windows 811.01 Windows/s

    3D - Pixel Shader 138.42 FPS

    Web Page Rendering 3.36 Pages/s

    File Decryption 50.05 MB/s

    Graphics Memory - 64 Lines 1622.73 FPS

    HDD - General Usage 0.0 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 1 / Audio Compression 2496.44 KB/s

    Multithreaded Test 1 / Video Encoding 456.15 KB/s

    Multithreaded Test 2 / Text Edit 159.79 Pages/s

    Multithreaded Test 2 / Image Decompression 32.97 MPixels/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / File Compression 5.73 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / File Encryption 30.01 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / HDD - Virus Scan 0.02 MB/s

    Multithreaded Test 3 / Memory Latency - Random 16 MB 15.27 MAccesses/s
     
  20. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    heres a screeny @ 2880.. only 1.39v core
     
  21. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    try again
     
  22. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    aaargh where is it
     
  23. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    [​IMG]
     
  24. p-jack New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    334 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arheilgen
    :toast:


    also got myself an opty 165 last week, but it won´t go over 2.6GHz @ stock voltage... stepping is CCBWE0603XPMW :)cry: ). didn´t play with the Vcore since i´m still on stock cooling....

    btw how´s your temps? mine gets darn hot, hitting +55°C when running orthos....
    EDIT: never mind, i see you´re on water....
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007
  25. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    A couple more benchies... Im loving this cpu... :pimp:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page