1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Got my new PC but it wont turn on...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by -1nf1n1ty-, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    I mean it turns on but It will run for a good 4 seconds then turn off(havent even been able to get to bios or anything) please help

    system specs:

    CPU: i7 920
    RAm: 6g patriot ram
    motherboard: Asus P6T
    Video:ATI 5870
    PSU: 650 Corsair
     
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,140 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,664
    Clear the CMOS and try again.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    how?
     
  4. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,497 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,598
    I think on the back of the board (I/O area), there is a CMOS button. Check there.

    If that doesn't work, try one stick of ram and see if it will boot. If it doesn't, try a different stick (so on and so on)...
     
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,553 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    951
    You did remember to use standoffs right?
     
  6. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    what now?
     
  7. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    also there isnt a cmos button
     
  8. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,140 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,664
    then there is probably a jumper on the board to do it. Read the manual and find out.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,577 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    Unpower the wall-plug or psu switch. Take the side-panel off. Remove the cmos (round shiny) battery for 15-30 seconds. Put it back in.
    Check...
     
  10. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    HSF plugged into the CPU fan header?
    4/8 pin CPU aux power connected?
     
  11. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    I did what the manual said and when I moved the cap over it doesnt even start up(lights are on,no fans are on ) jsut wont even let me get to bios
     
  12. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    HSF?

    the 4/8 pins are in
     
  13. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Heat Sink Fan.
     
  14. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    its plugged in
     
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    Plugged and spinning?
     
  16. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,553 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    951
    Standoffs keep the board from touching the back of the case and shorting out. I'm ashamed to say I built a system a number of years ago without them because all my previous cases had them built in so I had never needed them... but the fact that yours comes on for 4 full seconds makes me think it isn't a short, shorting systems usually only flash on for less than a second.
     
  17. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    Yeah its spinning
    I just screwed the motherboard down into the haf backing, did I need to add standoffs( the gold things screws, at least thats what Im thinking it is)
     
  18. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,577 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    They're the screws the motherboard holes go into. Yes you would need to use them... :ohwell:
     
  19. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    I usually dont and the computer still works
     
  20. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,497 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,598
    Yeah - my bad I was thinking of a different board. I have the ASUS P6T and just looked:laugh:

    You should be using the stand-off screws~

    Out of the manual for clearing CMOS:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    omg I feel retarded as shit! fuckignhell, sorry for the stupid questions, but YES I got my pc running cause I needed standoffs thanks everyone for the help

    HammerOn: yeah Im about to do that right now thank you
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  22. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,553 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    951
    I almost didn't mention it cause I thought "nobody could be as dense as me"... glad I wasn't the only one to do that :laugh:
     
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.
  23. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,497 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,598
    Glad you got her figured out man! I know how much it can suck when you get a rig together and then the danm thing won't work!!!
     
    -1nf1n1ty- says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    Yeah it wasnt the cpu I wanted but, 930 and 920's are practically the same I've done some reviews and saw that it only made 2-3 fps difference
     
  25. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,101 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Winter Park
    Alright problem number 2:

    I did the jumper thing, and placed it back but I still cant see the bios
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page