1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Got new router, now can't surf while downloading

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by kamechi, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. kamechi

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi everyone, i bought a new router modem -> ZyXel P-660HW-T1 v2 (White color). I got a problem, whenever I on DL (torrents) i cant surf net, any browser also hang, kept time out. I did some research online saying that change mode to Bridge then encapsulation Ppoe. Then I just follow and change mode to bridge but after change to bridge I don't see Ppoe but PpoA. Your Help!
    I don have any problem using previous router. After change to this. Everytime open torrent sure very XX7&^%@&*# hard time surf net. So pissing me :banghead:

    P/S: my port is opened
  2. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    What is your upload capped at? It sounds like you're downloading/uploading too fast for your connection to do anything else.
  3. kamechi

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my upload only 10kb/s, download low or high also the same. whenever open torrent, i cant surf net. =\
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,564 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,919
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,805 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,923
    Sounds like the speeds aren't the issue, but the number of open connections is overloading the router...
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Torrents can be hard on routers i've noticed in the past. I've crashed a Linksys WRT54g running torrents, playing wow and my bro playing wow.
  7. kamechi

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my speed is good.. 1300+dl 300ul
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Check for a new firmware for your router. I had this problem with a Netgear router the other day. The problem also happened while transfering files over the local network. A new firmware was supposed to fix the issue, unfortunately it didn't. Router went back and they got a Cisco/Linksys. Problem gone.
  9. Metropolis

    Metropolis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    46 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Try turning off the hardware firewall one if there is one
  10. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,068 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Firewalls.. bleh.. could be.
    1300 up and 300 down.
    thats 13 meg and 3 meg.
    Those numbers sound odd to me.
    I have 18 down and 2 up.

    Whos the provider?
    and if you just got it, save the receipt.
    Return it if it keeps giving you problems.
    No need for you to deal with that crap.
  11. kamechi

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    already update to latest firmware..same..

    :p its not 13 meg and 3 meg..just 1 meg :p the unit i mention is in kbps 1500kbps dl and 300kbps ul. i off all firewall still the same. meh...
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    turn down the amount of connections. i use 15-20 connections and max my 8Mb line out, some weird people use 100+ and choke their routers.


    You bought a cheap router (zyxel isnt high end), so it just cant take large amounts of connections.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page