1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Got to build an i7 rig today.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by thebeephaha, Nov 26, 2008.

  1. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle/Shoreline WA
    Built this for a customer at work. He needed it done in a few hours so I didn't get to run any benches really, but it was fast let me tell you that.

    Intel Smackover Motherboard
    Intel Core i7 Extreme 965 3.2GHz Engineering Sample (also had a i7 920 2.66GHz Engineering Sample as a "spare")
    Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme 1366 + AS5
    3GB Qimonda DDR3 (cheap stuff, temp till he gets a better kit I guess)
    NVIDIA Quadro FX4800 1.5GB
    Intel SSDSA2MH080G1C5 80GB SATA SSD (benches on this later)
    Dual 500GB Seagate 7200.11 500GB
    Dual Seagate 15k Cheetahs w/ 8 port Promise SAS Controller (customer didn't have cables, didn't use these, didn't even check drive sizes)
    ASUS 20x DL DVD-RW SATA
    Antec P182B
    Antec True Power Quattro 850w

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    What little benches I got I will post later.

    EDIT:

    Here is the SSD bench and overall stats on the system:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    EDIT:

    Here are 3D Mark 06 and 3D Mark Vantage scores...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Now what I don't understand is how my computer gets better benches, check my system specs.

    I can understand my 8800 Ultra beating a FX4800 which is a card tuned for CAD etc, but how the heck does my quad core Q6600 at 3.6GHz (being an older cpu design) get 10k more points in Vantage (i7 -> 20347, my Q6600 -> 32054) than a top of the line i7 965 3.2GHz quad core with 8 threads? My Q6600 is only .4GHz faster with my OC.

    I know that 3D Mark can be a poor benchmark but the result is still bothering me.
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2008
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    u cant choose another motherboard. i heard that the worst x58 is the one from intel
  3. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle/Shoreline WA
    I didn't buy the parts, it's not my computer. I just assembled it.
  4. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    So, he bought the parts, and he pays you to assembly it?
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,937
    That rig is all business. What size SSD is that? First I've seen that card installed in a system.:)
  6. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    that is the way to live :D
  7. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    if i bought those parts i wouldn't let anyone else touch it:D
  8. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle/Shoreline WA
    Basically.

    80GB

    It's not bad.

    You and me both.
  9. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    Definitely a workstation. He should have waited to the Asus workstation board to be released. Oh well. Definitely built for speed i'll say that much
  10. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    nice, gona order my now getting sick of waiting to long :p
  11. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i dunno, is it the case, or all i7 boards are orienteed this way: with the RAM slots at the top?? I would've installed the CPU cooler so it draws air from thr front of the case, if thats possible.

    i'm alsp surprised the the Intel board doesnt have SAS ports on it like Asus P6T series and Foxconn, if your customer would've got that he would've saved cash on the RAID controller.
  12. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle/Shoreline WA
    The Intel Smackover is really kind of a joke for the money it costs but hey, not my rig.

    I put the cooler that way so the RAM could be changed without removing it.

    Most other boards don't put the RAM there so most won't have to worry.
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2008
  13. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I would love to build rigs for people.:)

    And yes that Smackover looks like crap, but as stated its not his system so oh well.
  14. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Yeah, the Smackover looks crap.... But at least it's an i7 system :p
  15. Dan2312 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    216 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    England!
    It is at the moment. from the CPC mag i read. dreadful for O/C'ing.
  16. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    woah thats a big cpu cooler! hahaha im jealous i wish i could even touch an i7 system even
    i dont see why the board manufacturer made the ram slots that way:confused:
  17. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I doubt his customer is going to want to OC his workstation, but hey, y'never know.
  18. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    Man that guy has a sweet system
  19. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Seriously, what I'm most envious of is the Intel SSD. Sure, i7 looks great and all, but 200mb/s!
    That's more than three times the speed of my poor primary hdd... and that one has about 14ms accesstimes :(
  20. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    Man that guy must have deep pockets?

    That system would easy be over $5000?
  21. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    He's going to be working with pretty HUGE graphics to need that card right?
    That will be a DAMN powerful computer.
    I'm getting someone to build my rig, that's what I see the local PC shops as being for, TPU's for asking if all the parts would be compatible etc.
  22. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle/Shoreline WA
    Well I can say for a fact the motherboard and the cpu (s) were likely provided from Intel. The 965 and 920 are Engineering Samples and since the board boots up with the words BETA under the Intel logo I am willing to bet it is too. He likely got those for free.

    The rest I'm not sure about. I didn't ask too many questions.

    I do know his intent was video editing, though since he runs a magazine I don't see why video would be at the top of his list. Again, didn't ask too much.
  23. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple

    just do it yourself, seriously, it is very easy, why let someone else have all the fun :D
  24. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,093 (5.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,514
    Location:
    Florida
    OMFG the FX4800 is based on the core of the soon to be GTX270 and GTX290 cards you didnt happen to get gpu-z did you?
  25. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    He did! Last image, down right:toast:
    Solaris17 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page