1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Got two problems with my New HD 5830

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by dabread, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. dabread New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hardware:

    Mobo Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
    CPU Type QuadCore AMD Phenom X4 9850
    RAM 4gb ddr2 800
    Video Adapter ATI Radeon HD 5830 (Cypress)

    Software:
    Window XP 32bit
    Windows 7 64bit

    Problem: When i install it it worked fine untill i turned off the computer.

    1) There is no display after i turn off the computer then put in back on, if i restart the computer it work but when i turn it off, I hv to remove the card and put it back in and turn on/off the computer serveral times for it to read. Its like the Bios wont hold the GPU info. Other cards work fine, and i sometime put another card in then put the 5830 back and it works.



    2) GPU idles at 60, its not overclocked but it seems amd overdrive is making it run at 400mhz gpu clock and 1000mhz all the time, so it dont idle. Where i sure online that its run lower idle.

    [​IMG]

    however when i lower it down manually the graphics on the computer flickers ALOT.



    Number 1 is the real problem. Any help??
     
  2. dabread New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    ok done
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  3. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    That screen-shot is from a HD 5770. However, you claim to have a HD 5830.
    Uninstall all drivers with Driver Sweeper, reboot and reinstall the drivers+catalyst.
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    see if this helps

    In regard to your boot issue:

    -Check and then double check all of your power and data cables are secure

    -Remove and then re-seat your RAM

    -If you got a power adaptor cable with the HD 5830, use this to power the card (may help)

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2011
  5. dabread New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yeh its 5830, was jus an example but forget about #2. Il try, Law II.
     
  6. dabread New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hey thanks! it was the Ram the was causing this problem just needed to rearrange them.
     
    Law-II says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page