1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU accelerated photoshop

Discussion in 'General Software' started by ShadowFold, Apr 18, 2009.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    How do I get Photoshop CS4 GPU accelerated via CUDA? I have the 181 beta drivers for win7 right now.
     
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Do you not just enable GPu acceleration in the settings/preferences menu?

    Oh and it seems it is OpenGL/DirectX accelerated as opposed to CUDA.
     
  3. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    It should set GPU acel. automaticlly. Goto into preferences just to double check
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  5. wolf2009 Guest

    don't expect much, its not like entire photoshop runs on gpu. just some functions like zoom.
     
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I know, it's kinda slow on extremely large images unlike the video I posted above.
     
  7. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    Edit > Preferences > Performance
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    It's on.. But really big images kinda lag when I edit them :( probably not using my 3rd core, lazy coders.
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    when enabled the gpu is only used for displaying functions. nothing that changes pixels like editing or filters
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page