1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU Bios confusion

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Confused Gamer, Aug 1, 2013.

  1. Confused Gamer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    Recently after installing my second gpu to run crossfire I ran GPU-Z to check everything was as it should be and I noticed something I wasn't too sure on and thought the best thing to do was ask before I touch anything,

    Anyway to my concern...

    I am running 2 Sapphire HD7770 GHz Edition gpu's in xfire mode
    the main one in the slot nearest the cpu is running bios version
    015.023.000.002.000000

    whereas the 2nd gpu in the lower down slot is running bios version
    015.029.000.003.000000

    The cards in question are

    [​IMG]

    Card Info and full details

    This is running on this board

    [​IMG]

    Mobo specs and full details


    I am hopeful that you can at least provide an answer to this for me, also do the bios of both cards need to be identical if they are x-fired to get the most out of them and which one would be best to use if that were the case.

    Thanks in advance for any help given.
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,383 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Welcome to TPU

    Well done; so many do not ask first

    PCB Revision?; would need to look on the back of the card for the sku and #'s [*cards "may" be running different memory modules; however this should not effect performance]

    No [Do Not Flash the vga cards]

    note: When providing links to product; link to manufactures web sites would be better :toast:

    nb: if you get a chance the next time you are logged in to the forum; select User CP and fill in system specs, hardware brandnames & OS

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
    Confused Gamer says thanks.
  3. Confused Gamer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    I have updated the mobo's bios 2 times since installing, with the instant flash UEFI, the latest on it at the moment is P2.40

    SKU on main card is 11201-17
    SKU on the 2nd card is 11201-17


    Updated with as much relevant information as possible, I checked on the bios update list and the bios in my 2nd gpu isn't listed as a downloadable option for my particular make and model which is what sparked my curiosity to begin with
    Law-II says thanks.
  4. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Why do you want to change the bios. They don't need matching bios'.
  5. Confused Gamer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Peterborough, Cambs, UK
    I don't 'want' to change the bios I simply wanted to know if this was a common thing and would be perfectly safe under heavy load as my system is overclocked

    Everything works fine apart from a little slow down and speed up problem in Hitman Absolution, but that might be due to running in x16 + x4 xfire mode.

    I simply wanted to double check that this was indeed the norm, it's always best to be 100% certain with any system build.

    Thanks for the input though, greatly appreciated.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page