1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU change problem (HD6950/GTX580)

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by vychytraly, Mar 5, 2013.

  1. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hello :)

    Today I bought GTX580. I had HD6950 before. While using HD6950 everything was fine. On my motherboard is just 1 slot for GPU. So I put the nVidia to this slot. I connected monitors to this GPU. Turned the computer on... Everything looked fine, fan on GTX580 started to spin. But the monitors stayed black and the motherboard made 2 longer beep - sounds. Then nothing... Then 2 beeps again and nothing more... Computer is running fans are spinning, but the monitors are black. :( But when I disconnect one of them, it shows a table with text "No Signal". But if the monitor is connected to GPU, it doesnt show this table.

    Before I put 6950 out of the computer, I didnt uninstall Cataclyst and drivers. They are stil on HDD. Monitors are connected directly via DVI cables without reductions.

    My PC : CPU - Intel Core i7 870 / MoBo - Intel DH57DD / RAM 2x 4GB 1666MHz Kingston HyperX Grey Series / PSU Cougar CMX700 / GPU now Asus GTX580

    Please what could I do with it? I dont have the HD6950 anymore. But i think that this motherboard and CPU dont have integrated GPU and PC dont know this nVidia GPU. :(

    At home I have Radeon HD6570, could it help?

    Thank you very much for any kind of help or advice :)
  2. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Two beeps on your board means no add-in graphics card installed. Try to reseat the card check again for all connections (power to the card).
    vychytraly says thanks.
  3. hckngrtfakt

    hckngrtfakt

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    93 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    sounds like a lack of power to the card ... As said above,
    did you plug these in

    [​IMG]
    vychytraly says thanks.
  4. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Yes of course :) I wish it was as easy :)
  5. hckngrtfakt

    hckngrtfakt

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    93 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Based of what you experienced, then sounds like the card is sending some type of signal to the screen,.. do you have any spare DVI cables to test with ? perhaps even an HDMI ?
    vychytraly says thanks.
  6. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,411
    I'd put that in, uninstall the AMD drivers and start fresh.
    Law-II and vychytraly say thanks.
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Have you reseated the card? The AMD drivers should not pose a problem but put back your 6570, see if it works and uninstall AMD drivers. After try to connect just one monitor through DVI from the 580 (you say monitors so I assume you connected both).
    vychytraly says thanks.
  8. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hello today guys, thank you very much for your responses

    So today : I reseated the nVidia card, plugged PSU cords, connected 1 monitor, turned the PC on, beep beep... :(

    Ok so, I put the nVidia out of the computer, I put HD6570 inside, connected monitor, Windows started. I uninstalled Sapphire TriXX and Catalyst via DriveSweeper, then I cleaned the registers via CCleaner.

    Turned the PC off. Put GTX580 back. Connected PSU cords, connected just 1 monitor. Then I turned the PC on... and again... black monitors and beep beep. Fans are spinning, nothing happens. :(

    What to do now? Im desperate. Maybe should I configure something in BIOS? Or should I install Nvidia drivers while using HD6570?
  9. R3DF13LD

    R3DF13LD

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Bali Indonesia
    Maybe you should try that gtx580 on another pc i think the card is broken...
    vychytraly says thanks.
  10. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    friend of mine today offered me trying this card on his PC, he has GTX460, but how do I try it?

    Just put it in, and then what? Sorry I dont know :) I think that the drivers from GTX460 will not communicate with GTX580 or yes?
  11. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    BIOS should default to add-in card when detected. I assume it's a used GTX580. Have you checked was it working when you bought it? Might be faulty. If you have a the possibility to test with another PSU, do it - although yours seems to be suitable. Or try the GTX580 in another computer.

    Just saw your post. What PSU your friend has? Uninstall NV drivers on his PC then put the 580 in.
    vychytraly says thanks.
  12. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Yes it is used, when I was buying it I tried it in the computer of guy who sold it to me. I started OCCT, it showed GPU3D... I also started GPU test with error check... everything was fine...

    Ok so today I will try it in computer of my friend... but please sorry for silly question, how should I try it? :) How do I know if it is working?
  13. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I think he has 500W Fortron
  14. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Bad news. It's not enough.
    vychytraly says thanks.
  15. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    So maybe should I bring my PC and this GPU to PC repair shop?
  16. R3DF13LD

    R3DF13LD

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Bali Indonesia
    Well if you try at your friends the screen is up then maybe there is sumthin wrong with the connector to your monitor
    the same with crap daddy post before check your friends psu if the screen is up maybe your psu has some problems with the pcie rail
    vychytraly says thanks.
  17. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Well, I should try it in another machine or with another (good) PSU in your system.
    vychytraly says thanks.
  18. R3DF13LD

    R3DF13LD

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Bali Indonesia
    GTX580 needs 600w or more psu...
    vychytraly says thanks.
  19. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    i have 700W Cougar, I think it is good PSU
  20. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    [​IMG]

    This is my PSU, I have it connected on the PCI-E cables which go "directly" out of the PSU. But there are also 2 optional ports on the PSU, called PCI-E, one is 12V2 and another 12V1, maybe should i connect modular cables and "feed" the card via them?
  21. R3DF13LD

    R3DF13LD

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Bali Indonesia
    after doin some research gtx580 needs minimum 42 amps on the 12 volt rail...
    vychytraly says thanks.
  22. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    It is a good PSU, as I said. Connect modular cables, be sure to use 8 pin and 6 pin. Let's see.
    vychytraly says thanks.
  23. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    2 beeps again, GPU connected on modulars.
  24. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    The only way to see if the card is not dead is to check with another good PSU in your machine, if that fails check the card in another PC, if that fails, well it's bad.
    vychytraly says thanks.
  25. vychytraly

    vychytraly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    117 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hello

    I just got home from PC repair shop. I brought there my whole PC. Guys there thought too that the card is dead. But when they tried it on one their PC, on 520W PSU the card worked... So they keep the PC overnight and said, that they will try to flash new BIOS to mobo, because probably the mobo dont recognize this GPU. (Intel DH57DD)

    I hope that in the end it will be good

    Thank you very much for your advices guys

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page