1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU Database

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by W1zzard, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Fixed... W1zzard put it in order off lowest to highest performance, it can't be perfect.

    -Dan
  2. HalfHuman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i'd preffer them sorted by number. ibelieve that this kind of sorting is non subjective and more logical when u search for a gpu. though, the idea of having them sorted by performance is not bad.
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,788 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,490
    95np has indeed 256bit ndand 95pro has 128bit .. that information is correct

    we are working on a cpu database like the gpudb right now .. should be up in the near future
  4. HalfHuman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i momentarily own a rdeon 9500non pro made by gigabyte and it has 128bit wide memory bus. it's the version with 8pixel pipelines but with only 4 active. don't know about the r9500 pro. keep up the good work.
  5. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    Yeah, a CPU database would be cool W1zz! What are you going to add? Default and stable voltages? Part numbers and steppings?
  6. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    There is a cpu db, it's here. :)

    -Dan
  7. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    lol, it's been a while since I've been on the main site instead of the forums... ;) Thanks.
  8. borab New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Gigabyte card missing

    I could not find Gigabyte X800 Agp card in your database. Here is information fetched by Ati tray tools:
    General
    Display adapter Radeon X800 (554F)
    Core Name R430
    SubVendor GigaByte (1458)
    SubDevice 2124
    BUS 1
    Device 0
    Function 0
    Base Address 0 E0000008
    Base Address 1 00009001
    Base Address 2 F9000000
    Base Address 3 00000000
    Catalyst Registry Path
    System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{CADABCD9-5A2A-4096-B03B-87A8B75AFCDB}\0000

    ______________________________
    Clock Information
    BIOS VPU 390.00
    Current VPU 391.50
    BIOS MEM 450.00
    Current MEM 452.25

    ______________________________

    This value is def, not overclocked gpu neither memory.
    Is possible to mod my card, and unlocked +4pipelines?

    My card has a silent pipe, but at the upper side I mounted P2 cooler. Now Gpu"s temperature is:
    in idle 37C,
    after F.E.A.R game max gpu temp was 68C.
  9. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    Why G70 models have Pixel-fillrate calculated by [GPU clock] * [number of pixel shaders]? Even though there are 20/24 PS units, the G70 has still only 16 ROPs. So, the correct formula would be [GPU clock] * [number of ROPs]. And this applies to any other GPU.
  10. Assimilator1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK,Surrey,Guildford
    The GPU database is an excellent source of information ,as is most of the site:cool: :toast:

    Btw 2 missing cards X800 GT AGP,128MB version & the AGP,128MB version of the X800GTO

    Why do they have to cripple AGP versions???:mad: :wtf:
  11. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    What you mean? How are the AGP versions crippled? X800GT's and GTO's 128MB versions are crippled on both PCIe and AGP interfaces.
  12. HalfHuman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    to sell the so called magnificent pci express cards so one could believe that agp is worthless. they do this kind of crap all the time. one example was with the fx5700 card from leadtek. when the 6000 family appeared they lowerd on purpose the clocks on 5700 version with 50hz or something like that. giving the 6000 family a false higher performance rating.

    it's like the transition from the agp4x to agp8x only now the new standard is not compatible with the old one. maybe some of u remember when the agp4x went to agp8x. the was almost no difference between the agp4x card and the 8x. maybe 1 or 2% because the bandwidth wasn't used then. same is now. pci express is 4 times faster than agp8x. in practice it's only 2 times faster because there are diffrent channel for transmitin g and reciving and only the channel reciving data are important. the agp8x has a badwidth of 2gb/s, pci express has 8gb/s but significant are only 4gb/s beacause the are 4gb/s for reciving and 4gb/s for transmiting and only the reciving channels are mostly used, the transmiting ones are almost not signifiant in traffic. the doubled bandwidth doesn't means too much (almost nothing) above agp8x because the heavy traffic is done internally, between the gpu and video ram. conclusion? pci express is in theory and in practice better than agp but at the moment it brings nothing to performance. agp8x bandwidth is sufficient at the moment and maybe not entirely used. viva la marketing!!
  13. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    If you'are comparing AGP4x vs. AGP8x and PCIe vs. AGP8x, the situation if pretty different. There were never different AGP4x and AGP8x versions, but PCIe and AGP8x yes. But I still don't understand HOW are the AGP versions of current GPU's crippled in someway. What is crippled or worse in AGP versions?
  14. Assimilator1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK,Surrey,Guildford
    Yea my bad, you are right about the 800's ,I should of said 'why do they cripple the 128MB versions?' ,but some other cards are crippled for AGP :(
  15. HalfHuman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    a video card is not crippled for the moment just because it uses the agp interface. the agp is (for the moment as far as i can see) more than enough for any video card. the crippling is done otherways. they disable perfectly good pixel pipelines, use slow memory chips, drivers etc.

    i believe that the x800gto is not crippled in any way. in the contrary it is made to do it's best because now it has serious opponents and the people who made the chip are trying to keep it competitive and for the time being they are succeding making a decent video card for a good price. it has 16pixel pipes, pretty fast memory for it's category, pretty fast core clock (slighly lower than xt) but it has good overclockin potential. it is a recent article in THG that tests x800gto vs xfx 6600 with 256mb ddr2 memory. they also compare it to very high end video card and it seems both cards deserve the money.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/01/05/squeezing_value_out_of_lower_end_cards/

    who wants to read? :D
  16. Assimilator1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK,Surrey,Guildford
    a video card is not crippled for the moment just because it uses the agp interface. the agp is (for the moment as far as i can see) more than enough for any video card. the crippling is done otherways. they disable perfectly good pixel pipelines, use slow memory chips, drivers etc.

    I know that ,that is what I meant :p

    Btw GTOs were all 12 pipes ,many still are ,but some are now 16 pipes:)
  17. stickexy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello!

    Those GPUs/IGPs are missing:
    Code:
    S3 Graphics:
    
    ChromeS27 		ChromeS2X	PCIe	128/256 MB GDDR3/GDDR2	700	700	128 Bits	2 / 4x1	DX9.0, PS2.0, VS2.0
    ChromeS27 		ChromeS2X	PCIe	64/128/256 MB GDDR2/DDR	600	450	64/128 Bits	2 / 4x1	DX9.0, PS2.0, VS2.0
    
    GammaChrome S18 Ultra	Metropolis	PCIe	128/256 MB DDR		500	450	128 Bits	1 / 4x1	DX9.0, PS2.0, VS2.0
    GammaChrome S18 Nitro	Metropolis	PCIe	128/256 MB DDR		450	400	128 Bits	1 / 4x1	DX9.0, PS2.0, VS2.0
    GammaChrome S18 Pro	Metropolis	PCIe	128/256 MB DDR		400	400	128 Bits	1 / 4x1	DX9.0, PS2.0, VS2.0
    
    DeltaChrome S4 Nitro	Columbia	AGP	128/256 MB DDR		325	325	128 Bits	1 / 4x1	DX9.0, PS2.0, VS2.0
    
    DeltaChrome S8 Nitro	Columbia	AGP	128/256 MB DDR		325	325	128 Bits	2 / 8x1	DX9.0, PS2.0, VS2.0
    DeltaChrome S8		Columbia	AGP	128/256 MB DDR		300	300	128 Bits	2 / 8x1	DX9.0, PS2.0, VS2.0
    DeltaChrome S8 CE	Columbia	AGP	128/256 MB DDR		250	250	64/128 Bits	2 / 8x1	DX9.0, PS2.0, VS2.0
    
    
    
    VIA Technologies:
    
    K8M890			DeltaChrome IGP	AGO	128 MB UMA		?	200	128 Bits	1 / 2x1	DX9.0, PS2.0, VS2.0
    
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2006
  18. Gabkicks

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    189 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Sapphire x800gto 256mb AGP 400/490, r430 core. 12pipes 1.6ns memory
  19. Assimilator1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK,Surrey,Guildford
    256MB AGP version? cool! :) ,where did you get that from?
  20. Gabkicks

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    189 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    www.newegg.com :) sofar i've ordered a few things from them. they have great service.:rockout:
  21. Assimilator1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK,Surrey,Guildford
    Thanks :) ,wrong country :(
  22. ElPenguino New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have an ATI All-In-Wonder X800XL.
    According to ATITool, it uses an R420, is AGP, has 256MB of DDR3 memory, has a 256-bit memory bus width, has 16 active pipelines, has a GPU clock of 400mhz and a memory clock of 490mhz.

    I also have a few ancient video cards that I can dig up, if you want to add them as well.
  23. ivanpacheco New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Great work!. May be a "power requirements" or a TPD, as in the CPU database, at full 3D load could be fine. Anyway is a very usefull database!
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,788 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,490
    i doubt you can find tdp or power requirements info online
  25. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    Own pages for each graphic card would be nice, just like in CPU Db... I know they've mouseovers, but they don't work with Firefox. Works with Opera and IE (which I don't have), but I'm too lazy to start Opera just to look mouseovers..

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page