1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU F@H Crashing

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by ShadowFold, Mar 28, 2009.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    [​IMG]

    New XP install, updated everything... HD 4870 tried stock and overclocked.
     
  2. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Mine had been doing the same thing. Also I am getting a core error. Could not open core.
     
  3. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    ^^^ Same here, randomly stops working. I have to reboot before it will continue a job again. Totally weird because a few days ago I had no issues. Totally out of the blue.
     
  4. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,333 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    This is a sign of a expired core, or a corrupt client, or a firewall problem.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Guys, What version of the catalyst drivers are you using? There's a new core version 1.24 that requires cat 9.3 to work could be that the client is attempting to load that core and it's not working on your systems because of the driver incompatability.
     
  6. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,546 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    855
    I too have had massive problems with the folding under ATI for a few days now, keeps wanting to VPU recover, now going to revert back to older drivers - see if it helps out.
     
  7. jagass New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    You're not alone man...lol...I'm experiencing it too...lol
     
  8. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,333 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    THere is a changelist at the folding forum for the new client and drivers.

    My CPU use has dropped to almost0 to support the new client. Now my SMP runs at full speed.


    FAHMON is estimating 4858 PPD for me now.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Still getting this on tray and console clients :(
     
  10. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    What version of the Catalyst drivers are you using? If it's the 9.3's there's a hotfix for XP and the 9.3's. that's fixes CAL functionality in XP you can get it here: http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/GPU-5-Catalyst93HOTFIXFireStrm.aspx

    Apparently it has to do with Stream being enabled in the 9.3's for folding.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2009
  11. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,546 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    855
    going to check that link out for me when i get home. Did not know there was a hot fix for the 9.3s.
     
  12. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,028 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    :confused::confused:THere is a changelist at the folding forum :confused::confused:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page