1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU hardware problem

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by 55blader, Jul 29, 2013.

  1. 55blader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello
    My girlfriend called me last night desperate that she can't play one of her games and that her computer restarts (I thought it was overheating). Then even the monitor was no longer responding when she powered on the comp, it goes straight into stand-by. I went to her today and cleaned it well and it worked, including the monitor, windows, everything. In the first phase it worked, then it was overheating again. I opened it and took the plate down and I observed that the cooler on the GPU was blocked into something and does not rotate at all so I took it down and cleaned it very well also and when I put it back all together exactly as before there wasnt any response at all and now the monitor goes straight into stand-by as before. Any suggestions?
    Thanks

    PS: sorry for my bad english :D
     
  2. pigulici

    pigulici

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    444 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Romania
    Try another vga card, but before that make a bios reset(take out the bios battery for 5 minutes with power cord off from powerline),after that if still not working try another vga...
     
    55blader says thanks.
  3. 55blader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, I took one of my old VGAs with me today, but it will not fit. I think mine is AGP and she has a PCI one, not so sure. My old VGA was an Nvidia FX 5500 and she has an ATI x1550. Is this the problem?
     
  4. pigulici

    pigulici

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    444 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Romania
    Nvidia FX 5500 it is sure AGP,and if it is not fit , you need a pci-e vga card, also agp vs pci-e will not fit physical,at least, so don't try with that agp card anymore...
     
    55blader says thanks.
  5. 55blader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't have a PCI-E VGA close at hand so... assuming that the VGA works, what should I do? Reset Bios or what?
     
  6. pigulici

    pigulici

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    444 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Romania
    Try to reset the bios first, I think the vga card it is dead...
     
  7. 55blader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried to do so today, but idk how much succes I had. I can't really say if I did reset the bios or didn't. My first time doing this. I did it like this:
    power off, removing the battery from the mb and there were jumpers on the mb, including the reset one. So all I did was removing/putting them in place chaotically so idk what I really did and if the bios reset worked. And Google explain like easy-steps, not so well. If you could link me or explain me how to do a bios reset I'll be so grateful :D. Thanks a lot anyway for helping me out
     
  8. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    872 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Pull the battery out of the board and move the clrtc jumper to the other pin. So pin 1 and 2 are covered by the jumper. After a few minutes put the jumper back to it's original position and put the battery back in. Mission complete. It does sound like a dead card though. Since it was plugged and the fan didn't spin probably overheated and died.
     
    55blader says thanks.
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Just a stupid statement. POST THE SPECS OF HER SYSTEM.
     
    Crap Daddy and 55blader say thanks.
  10. 55blader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's the same problem as before cleaning it today. Let me explain in a chronological order:
    - my gf called me that her computer restarts when she is trying to play something/watching a movie/etc;
    - after that when she powered on her computer the monitor goes straight into stand-by mode and nothing appears on screen;
    - today - I clean the components very well of dust and power it on - it magically works - enter windows, browse internet, etc, the only thing that it is in fact overheating;
    - I observe that the cooling fan is blocked in some way by something (not a vga's component), so I take the cooling fan off and then I put it in it's place;
    - powers on the pc - the monitor enters stand-by as before.
    What do you think? Again, thanks for helping me out.

    I don't really know and I can't tell you right now because she doesn't know and I can't reach her place untill tomorrow. I know that her computer is quite ooooooooold (like 4-5-6 yo or longer, maybe) and that her VGA is an ATI X1550 PCI-E and I think that the processor is an Intel Celeron 1.6Ghz. Don't know for sure. Gigabyte mb, don't know which model.
     
  11. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    872 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    You mean you removed the fan from the vga? All the wires are connected?
     
  12. 55blader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually I didn't remove the wires, only removed the fan from the vga for a sec to clean it better and then I put it on the vga like before.

    // So, I close the power supply on the pc, then take out the battery, then take out all the jumpers except the reset one which will take place on the first two pins. After that I will wait for five minutes, move the reset jumper to it's original place, put all the other jumpers back in place, the battery and then open up the power supply, power it on and that's it, right? I had to put it like this because my main language isn't english and I couldn't understand so well the steps.
     
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Can you see the fan is now spinning? Did you take off the heatsink along with it? (you would have seen the GPU chip with paste on it).
     
    55blader says thanks.
  14. 55blader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    The fan isn't spinning. Yes, I know that it will be the same thing even if I make it to enter windows and work, but I only want to make that happen. Yes, thats what I did. But my 'intrusion' wasn't so big, only take it for five minutes to clean it off better then put it all together. Even the wires remained untouched, I only needed a little space to clean it better. Thats why I dont understand why is this happening. The keyboard leds powers up when she starts the pc, the cpu fan is working, the only thing is that her monitor enters stand-by just as before. I already explained the chronological order of the events above.
     
  15. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    i think you killed the card, you could try fixing it again. make sure its all mounted properly and the gold fingers are clean.

    also is she mad at you?
     
    55blader says thanks.
  16. 55blader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    A little. You know, few days without facebook and other sites for her is like taking a lollipop from a child :laugh:
    Killed it? Why? I only took the dust from the cooling fan, nothing else. I repeat: the wires remained untouched. I only needed few inches to clean it better.
     
  17. 55blader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Anyways, turning back... this is how you reset a BIOS if I understood right, yes?
     
  18. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    872 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Yes it is. That's the way you do it. If you removed the Fan and heat sink from the chip, you have to reapply paste before you put it back on. Otherwise there isn't a good contact between the two and the heat doesn't transfer. Have you checked the CPU heatsink and fan is it plugged as well?
     
    55blader says thanks.
  19. 55blader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, I did. I can't really understand why it worked today and later didn't. I'll just try a bios reset and hope for the best. I really can't think of nothing else. Thank you all for helping me out :)
     
  20. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    872 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Video cards overheat and cool it cracks the solder on the PCB. That's whay it may work intermittently.
     
  21. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    dont worry i cleaned my dads graphics card, and a resistor fell off while blowing it out. it had a shed load of dust and kept switching off as well.

    he was pissed i had to lend him mine lol
     
  22. 55blader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    12 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I did get her a new vga and the same thing. Nothing happens, the monitor still enters stand-by mode. That determined me to try her old vga on another pc and the surprise was that it worked fine :|. I really can't understand whats happening right now… the keyboard leds lights up, the cpu seems to work, what could be the problem? I did reset the bios but nothing happened
     
  23. maksic87

    maksic87

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    42 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    SS Muffin
    Psu

    Just asking, randomly...

    Did you checked your PSU? Try with a diferent PSU, maybe the pc will boot, and also check your RAM modules, use compresed air to check slots for dust.

    Happy hunting :cool:
     
    55blader says thanks.
  24. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,761 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    Does her PC has video on board?
     
    55blader says thanks.
  25. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    the pc is playing games with you lol

    so basically its not posting display but turns on. does it beep once with the card in?

    check the motherboard (especially the vga slot) for damage. check everything, try one stick of ram, hdd connections etc etc
     
    55blader says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page