1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU heats up big time while idle?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Dano 00TA, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    I noticed that after my computer sits for a few minutes w/no screensaver my GPU heats up to the mid 80s celcius and the fans of course speeds up. What's causing this to happen with it just idling? I can't remember this happening before so I'd assume it's not normal?
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    you sure the gpu is idling? let the gpu z run in the background.
    Dano 00TA says thanks.
  3. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    This happens to my laptop, and I am not sure what the issue is. It never happens to my desktop. It will be idling and get really hot, and it will stay like that.

    A restart usually fixes the problem, but I have never really cared enough to troubleshoot the problem that far.
    Dano 00TA says thanks.
  4. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'll try it and see.
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,883 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,671
    Location:
    US
    Is this the card EVGA 017-P3-1291-AR GeForce GTX 295 1792MB 896 (44... or at least the same kind of cooler.

    Common issue with this kind is that the heatsink little surface area were the dust collects and makes a a wall of dust..

    Normally you can see the dust but i see this design is worse than normal as it looks like you cannot get to the dust without taking it apart..

    What you will need is some Isopropyl, coffee filters and some paste like AS5 Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver ...

    Like 3870x2 said run GPU-z to check temps.. I am not to sure about the nvidia brand but surly they have more than one temp reading for the gpu and if it is a lack of air flow chances are all temp readings with be high.

    And if the gpu is getting hot the vrms might be even hotter.

    EDIT: Can we have a GPU-z screenshot please ?. you can use www.techpowerup.org for uploading and even gpu-z to do it..
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
    Dano 00TA, Norton and Aquinus say thanks.
  6. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    The only thing I'm worried about is heat with the gpu as running constantly in the mid 80s
  7. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    That's the card I'm running, here is a log of gpu-z I just ran, you can see when it heats up then when it drops at the end when I move the mouse. I attached the logfile since a copy/paste was unreadable. View attachment GPU-Z Sensor Log.txt
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,189 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,029
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    +1: One of my 6870s recently was running at 92*C fully loaded at stock voltages and clocks and about mid 60s idle. I removed the cooler, cleaned the cooler and the GPU and re-applied some compound and it was back down to mid 50s under load and ~38*C idle. Assuming the cooler is mounted well it sounds like the compound that came on your GPU has dried out and the thermal contact has got pretty bad. I would give this a try if the cooler has decent airflow.

    All in all, just clean that sucker out and reapply the compound and see where it gets you. It's a good starting place.
    Dano 00TA and Norton say thanks.
  9. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'd pull it apart but I'm afraid the ram has thermal pads under them and I'll rip em up taking it apart. Guess I'll do it and see.
  10. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    if i read that right you've had 92% load on the gpu with something and that raised you temps to 82C
    Dano 00TA says thanks.
  11. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    Still trying to figure out what is loading it up? Trim doesn't use the gpu, does it?
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    if its getting loading up, i suspect driver problems. do you fold or do anything like that?
    Dano 00TA says thanks.
  13. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    No, not even running a screensaver.
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,587 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    try uninstalling and reinstalling the driver. uninstall AND remove from registry too.
    Dano 00TA says thanks.
  15. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    Well, finally found the culprit, checked task manager when the gpu was heating up and I noticed "IEXPLORE.EXE *32" is open even if internet explorer is closed. It also using over 130k memory when closed also. Sometimes it'll have 3 entries in the "processes" tab and if I manually end process on it/them the gpu no longer heats up. What coupld be causing IE to be "open" when it's not? :wtf:

    *GPU was up to 90c earlier when idle:eek:

    I'm sure I should just ditch IE for another browser which I will probably do but am still curious why this is happening.
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,878 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,950
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    probably flash-related or similar. Only so many things are GPU-accelerated in IE. I'd re-install flash as well.
    Dano 00TA says thanks.
  17. Dano 00TA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'll give it a shot, thanks.
  18. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    dust is most likely the contributing factor. make sure to use an air compressor or canned air to clean though! never use a vacuum cleaner.
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,256 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,413
    lets see, do you know why you don't use a vacuum?

    Also you have to take caution to using a Air Compressor or a Gas Duster even
  20. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    When was the last time you ran malwarebytes?
    Might even be some malware causing this although I have only come across malware spiking the CPU.

    Don't blast at the fan without holding on to it.
    While it is fun to see it spinning really fast and make a funny noise, it can potentially damage them.
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,256 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,413
    ya youre talkin about bitcoin mining
  22. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,075 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    693
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I would disable flashes hardware acceleration completely as its useless on modern systems
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,256 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,413
    browser hardware acceleration?
  24. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,075 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    693
    Location:
    Rochester area
    that too can't hurt useless eitherway
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,256 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,413
    ya i look at it this way a webbrowser is a very common task like a word processor. why does it need hardware accel honestly.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page