1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

gpu nos vs bios?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by innthe, Jan 24, 2011.

  1. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    which is better overclocking the gpu, i only have a 4250 gpu but im gettin a 6850 soon so which is better overclocking?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Rephrase the question. I have no idea what you are specifically asking. :confused:
     
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I think he is asking for a good program to over clock his card with or if it is better to over clock through a bios flash . but I would have to say stick with things like EVGA precession or MSI after burner .
     
  4. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    wat trickson said
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    It really doesn't make sense to think about overclocking a card before you get it. Performance may be more than enough at stock settings with the applications used. CCC will allow you to overclock as well as set the fan, so will MSI Afterburner.
     
    innthe says thanks.
  6. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    o ya, since my mobo can overclock to 1866 instead of overclocking my ram to 1566, could i change it to 1812 in bios
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Whaa? What does this have to do with a GPU?
     
  8. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    well, so i can increase my voltage...i think:confused:

    on another note, which of these do you think is best for overclocking cpu n gpu http://uk.asus.com/compare.aspx
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    No. Not at all. System memory is completely separate from your graphics card. Go to the Overclocking/Cooling section, there are OC'ing guides stickied there that you should read to get a general understanding.
     
  10. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    can i increase it though, my ram is only 1600 though (im new to this thingymajigg)

    EDIT: ritiyo
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Don't bother, it won't make any real difference. Leave the RAM at it's stock frequency and timings. Since you are new to overclocking, once again I suggest you read some overclocking guides for the basics.
     
  12. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    k, ill post the motherboard thread in the motherboard section, i knew i should of gotten the m4a89 instead of m4a88, should i just sell it or wait till prices go down?
     
  13. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    so ur saying i COULD increase it over 1600,even though its only built for that?
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Your motherboard is fine. You are the one that needs to understand the basics of overclocking. Your motherboard has all the options you need to overclock. :)
     
    innthe says thanks.
  15. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    but could i increase it over 1600?:confused:lol, i couldnt find anything about the ram in the stickys
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    List your system specs in the User CP and be sure to tick the box to display them. For your RAM, post a link to it (newegg or whatever) so we can see the specs of it.
     
  17. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  18. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    they should clock up not too bad depending on IC's

    But b4 you do anything take erockers advice and educate yourself alittle b4 overclocking or you could be a very unhappy person
     
  19. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ic? wats dat?well il probably just move it down to 3.7, and get voltage as low as i can, but would those owld emulators work on it than?
     
    jellyrole says thanks.
  20. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    UK South
    learn what the different parts of your computer are and do before you try to change things you dont understand, you will reap the benifits. do alot of reading there is a wealth of knowledge here for you to learn,its not as simple as moving a slider and all of a sudden your l33t. the issues being if and when you hit a problem (and you will) you wont know whats causing the problem,how to fix it or even worse end up with dead graphics card/processor/motherboard.
     
  21. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    k wat do you think the maximum voltage(while remaining stable) my mobo could take, its currently at 1.475
     
  22. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    UK South
    :banghead:

    this is what others have tried saying, your first post seemed to be i want to overclock my graphics card, then you seemed to be talking about adjusting your memory speed for i assume overclocking your cpu, and now you need to know about what i think is cpu voltage with no regard for memory voltage, timings etc.

    what do you want to do.
     
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Voltage? Which voltage? North bridge? South bridge? Voltage to cpu cores? Voltage for CPU-NB? Need more information from you. :)
     
    innthe says thanks.
  24. innthe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    well i have all the timings ect. done

    im just in a hurry, i wont be on much longer
     
  25. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Being in a hurry to over clock is never a good idea . If you want help I can tell you to read read read learn . You know nothing and want it all now . I can tell . You are to impatient and that is going to fuck things up really fast for you . You need to learn what you are talking about as well . Your OP tells me you want to OC the video card now you want to crank up every things all at once NOT GOING to happen . I will not help some one so impatient they will not take the time to read up on the parts they want to oc and post accordingly . This is also to say your all over the place and your grammar is really bad as well . So once you find out what you want and give us all a clear picture of this then maybe we can help you . Till then read up on things and good luck . I am out !
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page