1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU problem? Artifact hell

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by WatakiWatako, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. WatakiWatako New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hey, I'm currently running windows in Safe mode as an attempt to get around this...

    Earlier on I was minding my own buisness playing command and conquer Renegade when *poof* the computer freezes and the monitor looses it's signal. I was left with no option but to restart the computer after a forced shutdown. Upon restart the computer seemed to be running fine.. **Erm it's happening again need to make this quick** however upon attempting to start a game it would crash on the main menu every time without fail. I mean crash as in absolutely no means of input... keyboard seemed to be inefective with shortcuts Task manager ect.. I then again restarted via force shutdown. Only upon the next reboot there were missing pixels even at the BIOS and POST screens however this appeared to clear up by the login screen. Ten minutes later the Computer crashed with similar symptoms as above... Lost signal ect. This was while actually attempting to type this in normal runtime mode. Upon the next restart a few minutes into use after logging in several artifacts began to appear on the screen followed by dislocation of several items and an overall pixulated look with Green and Pink dots everywhere... Crash and Restart now this.

    The problem is actually returning in Safe mode justnow so I suspect It's definately my GPU on the way out as it is quite old. I was just about to upgrade it anyway... Refer to this post regarding the upgrade anway: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=113288 I'm just about to purchase the Corsair power supply that was mentioned.

    Hopefully I will get some use before computer crashes again.. Still becoming more mutilated.

    Thanks, any help would be apreciated. See the above link for system specs anyway.

    Radeon X1650SE with 500w Micro ATX PSU (Currently in use)

    ITS GETTING WORSE! NEED TO GO! BACK IN A FEW MINUTES PLEASE HELP :D
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Seems like your video card's driver is failing, causing the crashes, and the artifacts are probably being caused by your card dying as we speak. Get your new GPU in there when it arrives and see if that fixes things. If not, then we'll continue troubleshooting.

    I always keep a spare GPU around just in case stuff like this happens, or I sell my current card before my replacement gets in. Might not be a bad idea to keep a cheapo around. I use a Geforce 210.
    WatakiWatako says thanks.
  3. WatakiWatako New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Sounds like a good idea.. Not actually crashed yet but it's getting worse. Guess I could try uninstalling and reinstalling drivers if you think it will help? Anyway I will definately be trying the new card when the PSU arrives. Hopefully it will work with the PSU..
  4. WatakiWatako New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I've actually got a Sapphite 5750 sitting in here but without a sufficient supply. That's what I'm hoping to achieve with the new Corsair 550w PSU anyway.. Need more AMPS on the 12v rail
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    You can try reinstalling drivers. Get them direct from AMD's site.

    PS: Make use of the "Edit" button on the bottom right of your posts. We try to keep double-posting down.
  6. WatakiWatako New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Ok, not a problem will try again later, I have a driver install that I downloaded a few days ago however the pc just crashed. Now communicating from from Iphone.
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,606 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    Im guessing that thats the X1650 in PCI-E flavour?? im worried that the 5750 wont be compatible
  8. WatakiWatako New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yep it's PCI-E
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,606 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    alright, just double checking cuz i know they made X16xx's on AGP. take the card out & give it a little hoover. make sure the fan spins freely, and that the fan & the heatsink are both clear of dust. - it is also recommended that you might wanna try re-applying some thermal grease on the GPU if your brave enough (Im not sure of how well trained you are in the dark arts of IT hardware maintenace) the new grease may or may not fix the issue, but you wont know until you try.

    lastly check that the fan on the card is spinning when the machine is on - it could be overheating.

    it all that fails then apply a thick layer of honey & stick it in the toaster.
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    :slap: @ myself for taking a second to realize what you were saying there.
    FreedomEclipse says thanks.
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,606 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    It is the british way
  12. WatakiWatako New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'M on it justnow... Insanely dusty will check the cooler in a sec
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,606 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    there be your problem...

    *~*{Hardware 101}*~*

    always keep your internals free of dust as possible - if not then at leat make sure critical components that are critical for continued system functionality - parts such as CPU/GPU coolers/heatsinks, (less critical/optional) side/front intake fans are also not obtructed by build up of dust which can occur in much older machines or ones that have dust filters.
  14. WatakiWatako New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Problem found, the GPU cooler is completely Idle when powering up. Not even a hint of motion. That explains the artifacts then.... :EDIT: strange tho.. When navigating to the main menu of a game poof.. Complete crash everything worked beforehand however. Guess I will wait to get this PSU. Probably gpung to order from ebuyer on Friday.
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,606 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,243
    thats great - well now you got a few other options. you can either stick with that X1650 by trying to get your hand on a 3rd party cooler - or you could ditch it, your call. 3rd party coolers vary in price. but you dont need the most expensive cooler for a X1650. maybe a Zalman VF1000 or something like that.

    have a look around the Arctic Cooling & Zalman websites for coolers that support your cooler. finding something that still supports X16xx cards isnt too difficult
  16. WatakiWatako New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks for the help dudes, I guess I'll order the Corsair PSU on Friday and fire up the 5750. Guess it's not worth buying a new cooler when there's a brand new GPU waiting to go :D If worst comes to worst I'll have more problems with the 5750 but hopefully this seccond PSU upgrade will do the trick.
    •Thanks Apple you saved the day• Iphone :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page