1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU Upgrade....maybe.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by TheMailMan78, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,896 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,477
    Ok heres the reasoning. The 5850 is going for about 150 to 180 bucks on Ebay (thank you BitCoin idiots) so with that in mind I could in theory get a 6950 2gb for about 50 bucks when its all said and done. On average with the new drivers a 6950 is getting almost 20 FPS more then a 5850. Also a 6950 will be worth more when the 7000 drops thus lowering my cost to transition. So this isnt as much as about performance as it is a money move. The performance boost is just a bonus.

    100%? No but my "sources" on the mountain has been pretty accurate lately. My only concern with the 570 is with the new drivers and such the price over the 6950 almost makes the 570 not worth it. I mean they are within 10 FPS of each other now. Is that worth the extra 30 bucks? Not sure still debating it.
  2. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    If it's only 30$ more then it's worth it.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,523 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,921
    Supreme logic cannot be denied. I didn't think about the bitcoin miners either so yeah, sell that 5850 and like I said earlier, the 1gb 6950 would be a good choice.
    TheMailMan78 says thanks.
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,896 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,477
    No its 80 more. 30 more then the 6950 which Im already dumping 50 into.
  5. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Well I said if it's 30 more above the 6950 then it's worth it.
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,896 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,477
    30 bucks for 10 FPS (maybe), more heat and a higher power draw and less VRAM?
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Don't know about heat, mine stays 33C on idle and with the fans set at 65% it is 63C in BFBC2, the overclocked 570 version, the other two are correct. The FPS I don't know since it depends on lots of factors and are subject to specific games.
  8. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    If you're bored with gaming mailman why upgrade the GPU? :) Seriously, I would just wait it out as Erocker said.
  9. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Was about to said , seems to me like a big waist of money if you're hardly play games anymore...

    Anyways it is your money... GTX570 ;)
  10. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    A new card can make you play and enjoy some games again even though you are not playing the games as much as you are playing with your new toy. I think that's what he is doing too, apart from the money thing.

    MM

    if you think 30 bucks are worth it then go ahead and if you don't think it's worth it go with the HD6950. Helpful? hahaha No seriously I don't think you could go wrong with any of them. I just thought that when HD7xxx is released, a card with no replacement yet (and faster to boot) would sell better than a card that may seem "obsolete" because the new generation has just been released. I'm not talking about value, only about the posible perception of people.

    Of course this is all assuming Kepler will come later, which may not be true if your sources are corrct. I have no idea tbh.
  11. rhino

    rhino

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    129 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    UM, rhino, no.

    Your link on Kepler's release is near a year old, and I'm very much confident nVidia has said March 2012 for the release. I can even tell you it was Ken Brown, nVidia employee, that said so.

    That's two separate nV employees that say Kepler is next year, so I'l ltake it as fact now.
  13. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    MailMan, if your switch to a 6950 or whatever turns out well I may follow suit. Right now I'd loose a bill on my 5850, and that amount does not need to grow at all. My Q9450 will bottleneck the crap out of a newer card, but a SB/IB upgrade around New Year's will unleash it. I'll be lurkin' this thread.
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    He's already decided to save his cash.

    There is a sizeable boost with 6950 vs, 5870, which i did myself.
  15. rhino

    rhino

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    129 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    So what to do?

    Dammit! I was counting on that.
    My 4850 is dying fast.

  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Not nVidia's fault, apparantly. Might affect AMD GPUs, too, not sure at this point.
  17. rhino

    rhino

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    129 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Bottleneck

    Speaking of bottlenecks, I suppose an E8400 paired with a gtx 570 would be a nonsense.
  18. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,158 (5.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,959
    Location:
    Home
    Depends on game
  19. rhino

    rhino

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    129 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I'm gearing up for Rage and ME 3.
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,523 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,921
    It'll be fine.
  21. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    I doubt you'll need a 570 for rage and ME3, 560Ti is enough.
  22. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    I agree... a good example... I first bought Half Life 2 (aka HL2) when I was running an athlon xp 2500 and geforce mx440. The story was enjoyable, and the gameplay a bit fun but performance was meh. I then got an ATI 9600XT. I was able to play my games again at much better detail and gameplay experience. Later I got an 8600GT with a Pent. D. Again I was able to see more effects in game (sm3 missing from the 9600XT) and half life 2 looked soo much better with AA and AF, so I played through it again, and got EP1.

    now i have a 9600GT and e5300, and yep, I'm playing HL2 again. Only this time I found a mod that updates the HL2 engine/resources to use all the new effects from EP1 and EP2. The shadows, Lighting, fire, blood splats, etc... all look soo much better compared to the orig. HL2.

    Oh and its fun playing older games with uber high AA/AF.
  23. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Care to share the mod you used with HL2? I'm due to play that series for the first time and it would be nice to have slightly updated gfx.
    xBruce88x says thanks.
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,896 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,477
    Yeah I decided to wait. Computer parts apparently cost money and thats something I just cant blow right now.
    Damn_Smooth and LifeOnMars say thanks.
  25. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I feel your pain there brother.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page