1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

gpu-z 0.3.9 opencl ati bug

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by human_error, Feb 23, 2010.

  1. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Hey w1zz,

    There is a bug in the new 0.3.9 release of gpu-z. In 0.3.8 it never detected that i have openCl enabled in my system and when opening 0.3.9 it correctly sees that it is installed.

    The bug occurs when i switch from gpu1 to gpu2 in gpu-z - the checkbox for openCl unticks and when switching back to gpu1 again the box remains unticked, even though openCl is installed which was shown when first launching gpu-z. Closing and restarting gpu-z fixes this and switching tabs for gpu1 doesn't seem to uncheck the box - only changing to the second gpu's information does.

    I'm using win7 64bit with my 5970 on the ati ccc 10.2 drivers. I have the ati stream openCl 1.0 v2.0 beta 4 installed.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2010
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,011 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,878
    so you are saying:

    2 identical gpus, 1 has a checkbox, 1 doesnt ?

    2 gpus, 1 has opencl, one doesnt, 1st displayed check is there, switch to 2nd, switch to 1st check is gone ?
     
  3. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    yep - exactly that (though both gpus should have openCl as it's an x2 card). It's as if the code which is run to check for openCl when you load gpu-z is different to what happens when you switch between gpus (if it checks when you switch between gpus that is).
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,011 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,878
    i looked at the code, it runs the opencl detection code when you switch cards (also when you open the drop down and click the currently active card).

    also i cant see anything wrong with the checkbox setting code.

    you are using 5970 + some ati sdk (version?) + which driver?
     
  5. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    I'm using win7 64bit with my 5970 on ati ccc 10.2 drivers. I have the ati stream openCl 1.0 v2.0 beta 4 installed. GPU-z picks up the correct info on open cl when i hover on the box when it is checked, but when i switch gpus and the box clears the on-hover info also vanishes.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page