1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-z (0.7.0) and Tahiti LE cards

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Daveburt, May 8, 2013.

  1. Daveburt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SinCinnati, OH
    Hi Folks,

    I recently bought a PowerColor MYST 7870 with the Tahiti LE chip:
    http://www.microcenter.com/product/...8MB_GDDR5_PCIe_30_x16_MYST_Edition_Video_Card

    I've been getting some strange results using GPU-z with this card while overclocking...
    The "Sensors" tab show's the right clocks (OC'd value) until temps hit ~47c. After that the clocks drop back down to stock (according to sensors). :confused:

    Is the card throttling or is GPU-z just a little confused?
    Benchmarks seem to suggest that the cards clocks are staying where I set them with Trixx, but GPU-z says different... :twitch:

    I'm still in the early stages of testing, but if the card is actually throttling is there anything I can do about it?

    Thanks,
    Dave
  2. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    688 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Toronto
    i think you're just changing the boost clock? boost never runs all the time if that's all you changed

    did you set powertune to +20%?
  3. Daveburt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SinCinnati, OH
    Thanks kn00tcn, I'm using Trixx to adjust the clocks because voltage control doesn't seem to be working with this card in AfterBurner.
    The card clocks really well, 1225/1650 @ 1.2v artifact free!

    I've been doing some research on Powertune, it looks like it should be part of the ccc drivers, but it's not an option from my control center... :confused:
    If it's a separate download I can't seem to find it anywhere either.
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,788 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,490
    go to the CCC Overdrive overclocking thingie in CCC, PowerTune is the third slider down or so.
    Daveburt says thanks.
  5. Daveburt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SinCinnati, OH
    Oh Ok.... Thanks W1zzard! :toast:

    I didn't click on that because I thought it would take me to the standard AMD OverDrive...

    EDIT: I just set it to +20% and GPU-z now shows the card holding the clocks under Furmark.
    I don't do a lot of oc'ing on video cards so this was a big help!

    Thanks again. Dave
    Last edited: May 9, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page