1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-z (0.7.0) and Tahiti LE cards

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Daveburt, May 8, 2013.

  1. Daveburt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SinCinnati, OH
    Hi Folks,

    I recently bought a PowerColor MYST 7870 with the Tahiti LE chip:
    http://www.microcenter.com/product/...8MB_GDDR5_PCIe_30_x16_MYST_Edition_Video_Card

    I've been getting some strange results using GPU-z with this card while overclocking...
    The "Sensors" tab show's the right clocks (OC'd value) until temps hit ~47c. After that the clocks drop back down to stock (according to sensors). :confused:

    Is the card throttling or is GPU-z just a little confused?
    Benchmarks seem to suggest that the cards clocks are staying where I set them with Trixx, but GPU-z says different... :twitch:

    I'm still in the early stages of testing, but if the card is actually throttling is there anything I can do about it?

    Thanks,
    Dave
     
  2. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,118 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Toronto
    i think you're just changing the boost clock? boost never runs all the time if that's all you changed

    did you set powertune to +20%?
     
  3. Daveburt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SinCinnati, OH
    Thanks kn00tcn, I'm using Trixx to adjust the clocks because voltage control doesn't seem to be working with this card in AfterBurner.
    The card clocks really well, 1225/1650 @ 1.2v artifact free!

    I've been doing some research on Powertune, it looks like it should be part of the ccc drivers, but it's not an option from my control center... :confused:
    If it's a separate download I can't seem to find it anywhere either.
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,869 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,811
    go to the CCC Overdrive overclocking thingie in CCC, PowerTune is the third slider down or so.
     
    Daveburt says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Daveburt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    32 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SinCinnati, OH
    Oh Ok.... Thanks W1zzard! :toast:

    I didn't click on that because I thought it would take me to the standard AMD OverDrive...

    EDIT: I just set it to +20% and GPU-z now shows the card holding the clocks under Furmark.
    I don't do a lot of oc'ing on video cards so this was a big help!

    Thanks again. Dave
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)