1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z 0.7.8 / 0.7.9 / 0.8.0 Bios reading not possible GTX670-solved with gpu-z 0.8.1

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by gbt modder, May 2, 2014.

  1. gbt modder

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,
    with GPU-Z 0.7.8 I can not save this Bios from GTX 670, Error see screen, with GPU-Z 0.7.7. all fine, what's wrong with v.0.7.8? Can you fix it please, thanks. :toast:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. gbt modder

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello W1zzard,
    the Problem with Bios reading GPU-Z and nvflash still the same, nvflash 5.163 and GPU-Z 0.7.7 are both Version OK, Error / Problem see picture please.

    Can you Help ?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,613 (3.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,234
    i updated to a newer version of nvflash, which is apparently broken.. i'll look into this later today
     
  4. gbt modder

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK, thanks for your work.
     
  5. gbt modder

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi W1zzard,

    with GPU-Z 0.8.0, same problem as before, Bios reading not possible.
    Possible workaround for this Problem "Bios reading" in sight, or say you, with the older version GPU-Z 0.7.7... :(
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014
  6. gbt modder

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi W1zzard,
    sorry for the late answer, with GPU-Z 0.8.1 Bios saving -> GTX670, it works, Bios-File with Hex-editor... same as orig.
    Thanks for your great work!

    Regards
    gbt modder :)
     
  7. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    269 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Works for me too!
    GIGABYTE GTX 670 (2 GB videoRAM), Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit OS.
    However, I need to disable my Windows Defender antivirus, or else the whole PC freezes and needs a hard reset. :)
     
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,613 (3.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,234
    Can you use nvflash directly (from our dl section) and check if there is a difference between running it from your windows temp directory (ie C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Local\Temp) vs another folder?
     
    Naki says thanks.
  9. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,592 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,192
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    I'm able to save just fine with the NVFlash in temp that GPU-Z extracts using the same parameters GPU-Z uses. Just doesn't work when executed from GPU-Z. GPU-Z runs it as ...temp\\nvflash.exe... I'm no expert on paths in Windows but could the double slash be a problem?
     
  10. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    269 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    @Maban - does GPU-Z fail the same way for you the way it does for me? I.e. total system freeze/lockup, requiring a hard reset?

    @W1zzard - I will try the suggested steps later today, as I am not near that PC at the moment.
     
  11. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,592 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,192
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    Yes, total freeze.
     
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,613 (3.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,234
    nope, no problem, otherwise it wouldn't work for anybody.
     
  13. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    269 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Nvflash works fine - does not freeze the system - both from Windows TEMP folder and from another folder. Hope that helps!
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,613 (3.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,234
    Just for my understanding, that Windows Defender Antivirus is the separate-install Microsoft antivirus that adds a systray icon ?
     
  15. Daemmon

    Daemmon

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    143 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    Argentina
    Not separate, built in on Win Vista / 7 / 8 . Most of the notifications come from the "Action Center" on the systray and I don't actually know when/why it showed as a different icon on the systray (I know I've seen it, but I don't know on what situation/OS) .

    It is apparently also installed + scheduled (1x fast check daily) + have real time all enabled by default on a clean W7 Ultimate + Updates. I just checked on my PC that it's actually in this state, weird as I would have disabled it given the option.
     
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,613 (3.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,234
    Can you try disabling real time protection and see if that makes any difference?
     
  17. Daemmon

    Daemmon

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    143 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    Argentina
    Sorry, don't have a GTX670 (or a nVidia card yet). Naki pointed out that it solved the issue for him.
     
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,613 (3.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,234
    Oh, I'm just wondering if Naki is talking about Windows Defender which is always automatically installed on Windows 7, or MS Security Essentials which is a separate install.
     
  19. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    269 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Neither. Windows Defender in Vista/7 is a malware-defense ONLY.
    In WinXP, Vista, 7, you can install MSSE, which is a full-fledged antivirus.
    You can NOT install MSSE on Windows 8.1, as it contains Windows Defender already.
    Unlike in Vista and 7, in Windows 8/8.1 Windows Defender comes with the OS, but is a full antivirus, much the same way MSSE is on Windows XP/Vista/7.
    But unlike MSSE on those, which needs an installation, Windows Defender is a default part of the Windows 8/8.1 OS.

    Hope it is clearer now! :)
     
  20. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    269 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    No, it is not. There is no systray icon in Windows 8 for Defender. So, it is accessed via a different way (from Windows Start screen, desktop shortcut/etc).
    And NO, it is not installed separately - it comes preinstalled with the OS. :)

    It does not work that way.
    In Vista and 7, Windows Defender is just an anti-malware program.
    In Windows 8/8.1/10, it is a full-fledged antivirus software.
     
  21. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,613 (3.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,234
    Ok, so your crash on BIOS save is specific to Windows 8 ?
     
  22. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    269 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I am not sure. I am not willing to move the videocard around to a Windows 7 system (I do have one, but it is in different location), but maybe I can try a Windows 7 Live CD/USB Flash drive on the Windows 8.1 PC?

    I can try that later today. :) Not quite sure if I will be able to install MSSE to a Live Windows 7 OS, but I can try. :)
     
  23. nageme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    9 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    BIOS saving also doesn't work on my GTX 750, on XP, with both 0.8.0 and 0.8.1. Didn't try older versions.
     
    Naki says thanks.
  24. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    269 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    In what way? Does it show an error? Does it crash? Does it completely freeze your computer?
     
  25. nageme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    9 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    GPU-Z says "BIOS reading not supported on this device".

    Running Nvflash directly returns "Error attempting to map adapter (0x000001E7)". It does work in DOS.

    Maybe it could be also a question of the driver version? I think I was on v347.25.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page