1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z and Afterburner?

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Arctucas, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,814 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    314
    Does running GPU-Z and MSI Afterburner concurrently cause problems?

    Someone on another forum said there was a KNOWN issue with the two, but I cannot seem to find a reference to it.

    Perhaps someone knows something?

    Thanks
     
  2. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,868 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I have never once had an issue running Afterburner, which runs all the time, and GPU-Z.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,309 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,473
    there should be no issues, everything else is a bug.

    if you have problems report them here and i'll get them fixed
     
  4. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,814 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    314
    I have never had problems with both applications running simultaneously either, but then I am not always upon the latest news and thought I would ask.

    I believe the person is talking out the wrong orifice.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2010
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  5. campb292 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I am not sure which is at fault, but running afterburner and gpu-z with voltage monitoring enabled in BOTH will cause certain 5000 series ATI cards to bump to their highest programmable voltage - 1.65 on the 5870. This also happens with Everest/Aida64 1.20/1.50 and gpu-z both running at the same time. I have experienced this myself and have read of others warning of it on guru3d. I would think this is more the fault of the card, but still 1.65 is not a voltage you want your card running at.

    On quick search here are some other post referencing it:

    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?t=885838
    http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/showthread.php?p=3570275
    http://www.overclock.net/ati/701765-weird-voltage-issue-5870-a.html
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page