1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z and PowerColor Graphics Hardware Giveaway

Discussion in 'Contests' started by W1zzard, Aug 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kohan69 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    71 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You can't get a zero. If the FPS is too low, it will say "N/A"

    I had the test running for over 6 hours, max fps is under 0.05, and I got N/A for GT1, and did not get a score.

    It's mathematically impossible, unless the program glitches, to get 1.

    3 is the winning score - it was the winning score last time this contest was held:

    [​IMG]

    I am skeptical of the 2s, but I guess it's possible to get a 2. There are at least 3 people with 2s in this current contest. I am hoping to get a 2, so I can be "randomly selected as the winner" as the rules state.

    The only thing I'm uncertain of is the last time to submit.

    A live timer would've been very helpful, and I hope my last efforts aren't futile.
     
  2. GodfreyOuwens

    GodfreyOuwens New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Land of cheese !!
    I've gotten a couple of 2's and a 1 on my laptop, ( yes I know you cant use laptops for this contest, I was using it for testing purposes ) and it showed me that those scores are possible.

    Its not the low FPS that makes a score invalid, its the total frames per test that does... but the test lengths do vary. So 5 total frames on a test that took 48 seconds = 0.104 but the same 5 frames on the same test could take 107 seconds would = 0.046

    you can view all these results via excel or by adding -verbose to the start up command ( as its been said earlier ) you will see that different conditions will result in different test time lengths.

    ( the above statements are from my observations and testings. They may be wrong, but they are what I go by )



    Also wanted to congratulate the winner ;) I am sure it isnt me, I could not get lower than a 4 on my mainbox. It was alot of fun, I learned alot, and I'll be ready for the next one !!!! ;)
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  3. kns New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    भारत
    Am really curious as to how many of them with high end hw have managed to get a score of 2 or something like that??
    I couldnt get below 860 even with my processor clocked down to 840mhz..
     
  4. GodfreyOuwens

    GodfreyOuwens New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Land of cheese !!
    I used the hardware listed to the left and got as low 4 with it.. just gotta bog it down enough..
     
  5. kohan69 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    71 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The secret is using SSAA_Tool to limit your FPS down to 0.07 or so. The problem is that the FPS is that low on the loading screens as well. So while the test takes a few minutes, the laoding screens take hours.

    The rest of the hardware is entirely irrelevant.

    edit:
    OK so limititng the fps to 0.08 gives me N/A, 0.09 gives me 7 marks, 0.1 gives me 8 marks.

    Not a lot to work with here!
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  6. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,805 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,068
    thats cheating.
     
  7. disturbed117 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wait... who won?
     
  8. kns New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    भारत
    Is it allowed??
    I mean i got a score of 39 by running the benchmark along with a 1080p video, prime95 and orthos. I did not want to get disqualified for the second prize also so i just didn't submit this score.

    I had read this:
     
  9. kns New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    भारत
    Just bogging down the hardware?? Or some software tweaking is also required??
     
  10. GodfreyOuwens

    GodfreyOuwens New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Land of cheese !!
    underclock video card to the lowest I could get it, ran 50+ furmarks on highest res, and atitool's scan for artifacts.. took about 1 hour per test. when I would get a N/A, I would close 1 furmark and relaunch another with a little lower resolution.. I was gettin closer, and it was easier testing it out on my laptop ( didnt need as many furmarks running ) .. It actually took me about 3 hours to get everything up and running before the 1st test... lol
     
  11. m00nr4k3r New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    might also read the rulles , it said default settings(of 3dmark[so orb has to show as the run was on default settings used]) and the only thing u shold not do is modify the 3dmark and the result file.
     
  12. kns New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    28 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    भारत
    I was gonna run furmark and get the score but as i mentioned in earlier post that it was said that no sw tweaking was to be done, i just didnt use it.. :banghead:

    Anyways when are the results coming?
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  13. vavyn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I used accent rar recovery +furmark & a bit of luck. Took forever to finish 1 test.

    Anyway, when are they going to release the result.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  14. Chri New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alps
    No for the first prize all was allowed, but i didn knew this "SSAA_Tool yet :rolleyes:

    So got anyone else (byside me) a two ?

    :) Chri
     
  15. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,558 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,126
    Location:
    Mexico
    No. The only things that were explicitly forbidden are modifying the 3dmark executable or the results file.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    I do not know how to get a zero, but I absolutely believe it is possible.

    I have had one run where I had .12 for GT1, .02 for GT2, .01 for GT3, but got a .1 for GT4, giving me a three.

    Had I managed a .02 for GT4, I would have had the zero.

    It was all very frustrating to get so close, but never quite get the four tests to give the best results in a single run.

    I ended up submitting the last run I made before quitting, a five, for a chance at the second place prize.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  17. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Is that different from setting 8x AA in nVIDIA Control Panel?
     
  18. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Hmm...

    Along with downclocking the CPU through BIOS, I used three apps;

    nVIDIA Inspector to downclock my FX5200 to 30/118,

    Core Damage to load up the CPU,

    And an application to limit the CPU usage of 3DMARK.

    At the end, I was averaging 45-50 minutes per run, some runs completing in a little over half an hour.

    I had no luck using Furmark or other GPU stressing applications.

    I am interested in hearing how others approached it, and what success they may have had.
     
  19. Et3rNa1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sapphire Trixx to underclock my HD5830 to 29/79, and FurMark to stress the card, in that configuration I got N/A for result, because in two of the tests the framerate was less than enough to score points. Now I'm trying with a little higher clock speeds, hoping to score 1 or 2:p
     
  20. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Did they extend the contest?

    Or are you just trying to see if you can do it?
     
  21. Et3rNa1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    For me is not so clear, when the contest ends,
    september doesn't have 31 days, as it is sayd in the rules,
    and I still don't know clearly that the contest is over,
    so I'm still trying;)
     
  22. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,772 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Fair enough, good luck.
     
  23. djxbyrne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    doesn't seem right

    Well I first thought this was a contest of who "has" a slower computer, not who can make their computer the slowest. for people like me who don't know how to underclock more than what we have been given, it's a total fluke. I mean why even try if some super geek can drop it down to 3? o.o

    Grats to the winner tho, that has to be one fast gpu. :)
     
  24. GodfreyOuwens

    GodfreyOuwens New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    59 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Land of cheese !!
    I found that when trying to use gpu stress tests to bog it down, you have to run enough tests to use just about 99% of your gpu memory.. even if its at 90% used I would still get scores of 100+ .. ( took me about 50+ furmarks to do this, even at the highest res )

    I should have tried to just choke the cpu instead and have that be the bottleneck.. which, in turn, I believe would make it more even for the 4 tests ( easier to lower them without 1 being alot lower than the other ) .. hmmm guess I'll try that next time !!! ;)
     
  25. ediutomoputra New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    where is the name of winner
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page