1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z and Radeon HD 6800?

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by MikyKew, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. MikyKew New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Some guy from China postes this. Is it possbile that GPU-Z can recognize next-gen graphic cards?

    Source
     

    Attached Files:

    cadaveca says thanks.
  2. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    Although i'm skeptical about this, it's that time of the year again so i wouldn't be surprised if this is real.
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,036 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,943
    nothing i can see in the gpuz part of the screenshot that suggests it's fake
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  4. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    904 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    Woohooo! This is getting exciting... XD
     
  5. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    i have never run vantage,so how does the score look? better then todays cards?
     
  6. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,194 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Uh beat this score for a 5870.

    "At the end of the night Sami was able to break the single GPU world record on 3DMark Vantage Extreme with a score of X11364"

    Not by much though.
     
  7. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    lucky son of a bxxxh if it's true :laugh:

    although i'm calling bull poop on this, as why would their not be a bios or device id ?

    me thinks someones been tinkering with rbe 1.25 ;)
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2010
  8. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Damn. That looks like a powerhouse card. :D Wonder if that was the 6850 or 6870. If it is the 6850 by any chance, the 68xx series and 69xx series are going to be some extremely powerful cards. :D
     
  9. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    904 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    I hope it's the 6850 at the most!!

    EDIT: Please be a 6830! XD
    The lower the card this is (if it's not fake), the better the performance the ones higher up will have, so I hope it's a 6830, considering it's saying it's "6800 series".

    @W1zz: have you written the string "ATI Radeon HD 6800 Series" into GPU-Z, as in the name field here? Or does it get that string from elsewhere like the driver maybe?
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2010
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,909 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,686
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    What they do.... write their own driver for the thing? Ati often don't even get the drivers right for cards on release never mind a card not released for months.
     
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Before someone calls BS on that memory clock, it's very much possible with 7 GT/s memory chips (specified for 1750 MHz actual, 3500 MHz DDR, 7000 MHz effective).
     
    AltecV1 says thanks.
  12. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    it would be the logical thing do to!would be more cost effective then bigger bus
     
  13. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,036 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,943
    the string you see in the first field is from the vga driver, the same text that shows up all over your system
     
    inferKNOX says thanks.
  14. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,563 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    My math must suck cause that keeps working out to 50% faster than a 5870 for me. That can't be right.
     
  15. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,546 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    holy hell look at that memory bandwidth, next gen GDDR5 FTW.

    given on this hefty preset and beta drivers its already 25%+ faster than a 5870, my hopes are climbing!
     
  16. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    looking good :) And if its true the card will be a monster
     
  17. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,077 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Im getting all tingerly inside, Im so excited I feel like dat kid on youtube who opens up his N64 at Christmas time:laugh: 205GB/s :rockout::rockout:

    I wonder if they would make another eyefinity6 card, maybe the reference HD6870 will have a 256bit bus width and 2GB GDDR5 RAM then they bring out a HD6870 eyefinity6 512bit Bus width and 4GB GDDR5 RAM, I can't really see that happening but I want it too:laugh:
     
  18. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,563 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    If they make 2 GB standard I'm betting there won't be 4 GB versions, no use. Which is what I'm hoping for. I had a 1 GB card like 4 years ago, time to move up.
     
  19. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,909 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,686
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I don't see them making it standard just yet, I would guess that the majority of PC users worldwide have 19 inch screens or less, at those resolutions they would see no benefit above 1GB and therefore would be flushing their hard earned down the crapper TBH.
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,220 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,260
    There is, but it is blanked out, probably so whoever leaked the screens can't be tracked by the BIOS version and Device ID.:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    IF this true, which I hope it is, these are amazing chips. The 5870 in this Vantage run was clocked at 1250 core/1390 mem and it was beat by a card running a 850Mhz core!!! :rockout::rockout::rockout:
     
  22. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,970 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    Why can't it determine memory size? It knows it's GDDR5, it knows it's bus width, it knows the bandwidth but not the amount of vRAM?

    The RAM used certainly offset the core frequency's difference...and it seems that the mem is still overclockable, as of course the core is.
     
  23. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,909 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,686
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    And that worries me a bit, simply as this is not supposed to be "from the ground up new architecture" where the 5 series was and the 5850 was 17% faster than the 4890 across the board.
     
    JATownes says thanks.
  24. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,036 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,943
    could be misreadings. there is no clear code path for any hd 6000 stuff
     
    streetfighter 2 and entropy13 say thanks.
  25. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    773 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Atlanta/Marietta, GA
    *Sigh, time to start saving up again :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page