1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z conflict with KIS 7 / Kaspersky Internet Security 7 ?

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by UNICORN, Aug 25, 2008.

  1. UNICORN

    UNICORN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yep, I've got a problem with them.
    I'm using Windows XP SP2, Catalyst 8.8.
    Any time I run GPU-Z (0.2.7), with KIS (Kaspersky Internet Security ver 7.0.1.325) protection enabled, it doesn't start. Just shows off the logo TechpowerUp GPU-Z and stay there until I terminate it by using Windows Task Manager.
    After that, every program that I attemp to run will not start, screen shows nothing, but visible Windows task manager :(.
    Then, I tried to exit KIS, but it wouldn't (can't kill it because of KIS's self-defense system >.< ) => tried to restart the computer but it wouldn't be restarted because it couldn't shutdown, just stop at "Goodbye screen" => pressed the power button in 5s:D
    I tried to add GPU-Z to KIS exclusions threats, but it still doesn't work:banghead:
    Have to exit KIS before using GPU-Z.
    This could be a bug of KIS, but I think I should tell you, W1zz..
    Thanks for reading.
     
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Try updating to the latest version of KIS. Its on 8 now, you can get it from the product updates ection of their website. and they dont charge for it unlike Norton,etc.
     
  3. UNICORN

    UNICORN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's free to update the virus database and some modules, but not for upgrading the program to a newer version. A KIS7's license key cannot be used for KIS8. My license key expiration date is 12/22/2010, can't waste >.<
     
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    It doesnt cost anything to upgrade program. I bought a KIS 7 license, and installed kis 7, then when kis 8 came out i downloaded it and installed and i;m still using the same key.
    The guys behind kaspersky arent greedy like Symantec, etc.
     
  5. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,768 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    @UNICORN,

    alexp99 is correct, I bought and installed KIS 7, downloaded the KIS 2009 installer, used my KIS 7 license key, no problems.
     
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,886 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,633
    so gpuz doesnt work with kis7 but works with kis 8 ?
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Sometimes KIS 7 prevents loading the driver, but it's very rare. Initially it would show "suspicious activity" caution, adding the GPU-Z process to trusted zone got rid of this.
     
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I had it happen once, but adding it to the exclusion list worked for me.
     
  9. UNICORN

    UNICORN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Dear all, I use an .key linsence file. When add it for KIS 8, I've got the message like "this key is not used for this application" ( I lost the seri@l number >_<).
    As I told, I added GPU-Z to trusted zone but it still cannot start, and KIS doesn't show any message to me.
     
  10. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I used a KIS7 key file an it worked fine on KIS8.

    Try going to their site and downloading a new key file. That might fix it.
     
  11. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,768 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    FYI, Version 8.0.0.454 of KIS 2009 is available.
     
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,886 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,633
    i can confirm this issue. with KIS7 gpuz sometimes does not start correctly. this is caused by KAV which somehow tries to pop up the message "software is trying to install a driver" but the message never makes it to the screen for some reason.

    a fix is to upgrade to KIS 8 (2009), no matter which settings are used with KIS8, there are no issues with GPU-Z that I could find
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page