1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z does not show correct core boost speed

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by P4-630, May 12, 2014.

  1. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    C:\Program Files\P4-630\
    Capture gpu-z.JPG
    The maximum Boost speed from my GTX770M is 862Mhz as you can see in this screenshot, I did not overclock the GPU.
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    There are two different "boosts". Kepler Boost, which accounts for an offset enabled if the TDP and temps aren't exceeded, and then normal boost, which is referenced on the primary page.

    My 780...954 boost listed...boosts to 1053.

    780 TI cards... 928 boost listed, cards clock to 1020.
     
    P4-630 says thanks.
  3. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    C:\Program Files\P4-630\
    Ok I did not know that, got it, thanks :D
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Dude, trust me, I was just as confused as you are. I don't mind the free performance boost, for sure, but sometimes I wish I could turn it off in driver somehow to lower temps, since I have more than one card.
     
  5. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    What GPUz reports, IIRC, is the Minimum boost (all things considered). Since the boost levels will vary on the card by temperatures and power levels, that is why just the minimum is listed. I wish GPUz showed the 'actual' boost (like the max function on the sensors).

    Dave mentioned the 780ti... here is what we have seen

    780 ti Classy and 780ti HOF all the same clocks and LISTED boost. The Classy boosts higher than the HOF by 30Mhz.
     
    P4-630 and cadaveca say thanks.
  6. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    C:\Program Files\P4-630\
    My card stays under 70 degrees celsius when gaming, and CPU temps below 75, I have seen MSI laptops run much hotter, in the 90s, so I'm pretty happy with it :D
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Is that how it works? Because I do get speeds between "stock" 863 and "minimum boost" @ 928, by what you say. 889 is actually the most common clock for my cards when playing demanding titles (yes, my cards run "hot, @ 83C). SO I just "scrapped' the whole idea of "minimum boost" whe nmy cards exceed TDP and temps, but don't run @ 863...
     
  8. P4-630

    P4-630

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    C:\Program Files\P4-630\
    Only my gt425 on my other laptop was running cooler at idle (39 degrees celsius), The GTX770m on my new laptop runs about 45 degrees celsius idle and CPU 35~40.
     
  9. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Unless your card is going over 80C and/or its TDP, it should run no slower than 875MHz (stock no boost) and whatever that minimum boost is. But it seems how high it will boost depends on the specific card (again assuming temps/tdp are not breached). I have never seen anything but max boost (well over what GPUz says) since this boost thing has been out... again assuming temps/tdp are in order.

    But uhh, why don't we ask W1zzard... didn't he make GPUz? Wouldn't he know what those values are?
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2014
    cadaveca says thanks.
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta

    I don't like to bug him unless I have something that is actually important to ask. When it comes to GPUs...man, I don't know much any more. Which his rather crazy since I have 3x780TI...the more powerful GPUS have gotten, the more I only care about them working, the how and why doesn't even cross my mind. :p
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,975 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,799
    From what I understand, there is "rated" boost, which is a number determined by NVIDIA, in an experimental fashion, which is the number GPU-Z shows.

    The highest possible boost clock is higher indeed, which is part of NVIDIA's philosophy to provide a more "typical" number.

    I'm not sure how to read max boost clock, and whether it's even possible at all without putting load on the card. I'll look into it
     
  12. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Thanks W1zz!

    @ Dave, you are seeing the 'odd clockspeeds' likely because of your temps. When left at default temp limits, the 780ti throttles (drops boost bins) over 80C. Keep the cards under 80C and you should hit full boost. GL doing that with 3 of them though. :(
     
  13. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,810 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Location:
    South Carolina
    You can flash the bios to a different version so that it is disabled if you want.

    What you see is what you got.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2014
    cadaveca says thanks.
  14. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,557 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    Even when I ran skyn3t's bios on m 780 gpu-z was off by one notch, but the clock and boost did match.

    If it helps here's what my 780 Ti boosts to in reference to the boost tables; 1006 (line 10) on the default 1175 volts and if I exploit a bug in precision/afterburner I can raise the volts, which moves the boost up to 1019 (line 11.)
    [​IMG]
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I know all about skynet BIOS. But I have three reference-cooled cards, and1046 and the voltage given byy that BIOS is too high for me, cards still throttle.
     
  16. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,810 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Location:
    South Carolina
    This bios don't take the voltage to 1.2 unless you increase it yourself.

    Here is a pic with load from GPUZ.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I understand that. :-/. My cards run @ 886 MHz under what seems to be throttle...@ 0.95V-0.925V, depending on which card we are talking about. I know that other BIOSes are out there, and that you can manually set all this stuff. That's fine and good, but I want a one-click disable Turbo, in software, so I can turn it back on without having to flash BIOSes. AMD having dual BIOSes, with "UBER Mode"...brilliant. I want THAT...in software.

    I don't want to flash BIOS. I want full control of the hardware without having to deal with that crap.

    I'll just end up with waterblocks and running the stock BIOS anyway, removing my need for this function.
     
  18. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,557 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    yeah skyn3t's is what I use when I want to make a GK110 more efficient, dropped a good 5C on a 780. I can minimize the voltage with that bios and it won't go past what I set. Unlocking voltage on a stock bios doesn't do any good, still boosts to max possible voltage.

    @cadaveca
    why are they so hot? stock cooler?
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2014
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yep, and no slots between in Tri-SLI.
     
  20. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Why Tri SLI? You rocking 3 monitors? Unless you are rocking 4K (which I wouldn't with 3GB cards) ditch one, create space, problem solved. 2 780's will pound through 5760x1080. ;)
     
  21. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,557 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    Tri still scales, it's only after 4 cores you risk going backwards.
     
  22. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Indeed. Still, Tri SLI/CfX (can be) such a PITA...

    My other reason, particularly if one pays for the cards, is that the scaling isn't great. Its usually nowhere near 1->2. cards. Not sure what Dave did in his case, but, buying 3 cards for 5760x1080, when two will do it, sounds like a waste of MY hard earned money. Especially if they are shoe-horned in there and not even allowing the cards to run its minimum boost...

    Sell one dave... take the wife/kids out to dinner, get the most out of your two cards buddy!
     
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,058 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,223
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Triple-monitor, yes, when I'm not using one for reviews. :p Two isn't fast enough for me, nor as visually impressive.

    [​IMG]



    I chose to play Gibson Les Paul guitars, too, when another much cheaper guitar would suffice. :roll:

    As to dinner... meh. May is normally a broke month for me.. oldest two kids have b-days. I'm doing fine though... :p

    As to two cards not throttling...HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA...yeah right. :p


    [​IMG]
     
  24. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    Try it... you are 'close' with three... you would be surprised I think...
     
  25. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    689 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Rīga
    my epeen just became shorter... screw you :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page