1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z error at launch

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by Tualatin, Oct 6, 2007.

  1. Tualatin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Check out your "Private Messages" folder.
    ;)
     
  2. Slythfox New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Guys, UPX has nothing to do with the problem some people are experiencing. I agree with W1zzard, UPX is a very nice compression utility that can drastically compress dll and exe files. Especially when concerned with web bandwidth, this is very important.

    Two versions, 32 and 64 bit versions is just extra redundancy. It means extra packaging to do for a release, and more bandwidth if a user downloads the wrong version, or chooses to also download the 64 bit version.

    As for UPX being slow: I use UPX a lot for other things. To be honest, I've seen no difference in speed or performance with UPX. It's not something to be concerned about.
    And btw, it takes about a second or so for GPU-Z to load most likely because of all the information it has to pull. Have you ever tried pulling information from Windows WMI objects? This is blazing fast in comparison.
     
  3. PG New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Who said it has somehing todo with the UPX , i just said like others not like the guy whinning about compression, that i have an error on start and dunno whats it about. I use now Vista and dont have the watson here like in XP , and i dont know how to use MSVS debugger :(
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,007 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    if you get the crash at startup PLEASE contact me on instant messenger. thats the fastest way to sort it out
     
  5. Tualatin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  6. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    hey W1zz any chance of maybe allowing S3 and Voodoo cards to run on GPU-Z, noticed they aint supported
     
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,007 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    not true. use the search function on the website to find all people with customized drivers
     
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,007 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    after the nvidia and ati bugs are sorted out
     
    Fuse-Wire says thanks.
  9. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    856 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    thanks!!
     
  10. Tualatin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Using the driver downloaded from Leadtek I've got only GPU-Z crashes.
    Using the driver downloaded from Nvidia I had no problems with GPU-Z.
    Both of them are ForceWare 163.71 WHQL.
    How can you explain that?
     
  11. techno_mancer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    immediately crashes on startup.

    OS: Vista 32bit
    GPU: Nvidia 8600M GS
    Driver: 156.66, 162.62 (crashes on both)

    ---
    Faulting application GPU-Z.0.0.6.exe, version 0.0.6.0, time stamp 0x470945c3, faulting module GPU-Z.0.0.6.exe, version 0.0.6.0, time stamp 0x470945c3, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x0001a2f1, process id 0xf7c, application start time 0x01c809e4f2c79a20.
    ---
     
  12. hemersonmf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, the GPU-Z 0.0.6 dont work at my PC.
    When i clicked, the program didnt start. thus, didnt open and nothing happing.

    My config is Athlon 64 3700+, Asus a8v-x and XFX 6800Xtreme 256mb / 256bit (agp 8x).
    Im using WinXP 32bit SP2
    tkx.
     
  13. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Hemersonmf, I have a similar system to yours and experience no problems. You might want to check your drivers like Tualatin. I also read somewhere that 6800's were finicky because of all the different configurations with memory size and bus speeds. O and Tualatin, feedback is great, but trying to argue about beta software is counter-productive.
     
  14. rafael.f New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brazil
    Hello guys!

    I would like to report same startup problem:

    GPU-z version: 0.0.6
    OS: Windows XP Pro SP2
    GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6200 Turbo Cache(TM)
    Driver: ForceWare 84.21

    Cheers,

    Rafael
     
  15. hemersonmf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi. I dont know if my drivers like Tualatin.
    I noticed that whenever I begin the program and appears in the manager of tasks DrWatson. I verified in my log and I am posting the same here, in order to help.
    I still don't get to execute the program.

    Thanks

    LOG (txt format):
     

    Attached Files:

  16. ksfung New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    although i tried v0.0.7, still cannot work on my vista with my dell m1210 with nvidia go 7400
     
  17. Kainco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    w1z, I've just send you an email, I'm willing to help you as much as possible. I've tried v.0.0.7 with no results.
     
  18. dwax

    dwax New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    180 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Mine dose nothing. Double click on it and nothing happens. Older versions locked up my PC and I had to do a hard re-start.
     
  19. Giux-900 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Italy
    GPU-Z error or freeze at launch

    Hi !

    The software gpu-z crash my system at launch, I've tried all versions with no results..

    OS: Windows XP Pro SP2
    GPU: Gecube X1950XT AGP
    Driver: Catalyst 7.x (same errors with all recent versions)


    [​IMG]
     
  20. Giux-900 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Italy
    up !
    W1zzard ? :respect:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page