1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z fails to start

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by ray_gti-r, Dec 2, 2011.

  1. ray_gti-r

    ray_gti-r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    As the title says ...

    I have tried GPU-Z versions from 5.6* back to 4.4.

    Running CCC 11.9 due to incompatability with a BOINC project for later versions up to and including 11.11*.

    Board:- Asrock A330
    GPU:- HD2400 PCI (not PXIx/PCI-e) RV610
    OS:- Windows 7 Pro SP1 64-bit

    Weirdly, ATI Tray Tools (1.7.9.1573) works and even allows me to overclock ever so slightly although no temperature info is available.

    * this combination allowed GPU-Z to work but is incompatabe as above therefore cannot be used.

    Context:- I need GPU-Z to work on this PC as it is destined to be used as a headless server monitored remotely therefore I need as much hardware info as possible especially GPU load & temperature ... which is where GPU-Z is the best tool that I have found for the job.

    Help!
     
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,582 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  3. ray_gti-r

    ray_gti-r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi.
    Thanks for the reply.
    Not an ION motherboard chipset (sadly) - it's an Intel chipset which I don't think makes any difference to the GPU-Z operation of the add-on graphics card.

    I tried 0.3.8 but got the same GPU-Z fail again.

    FWIW I don't need a newer version - I need a version that works, as below.

    Repeat:-

    I have tried GPU-Z versions from 5.6* back to 4.4.

    Running CCC 11.9 due to incompatability with a BOINC project for later versions up to and including 11.11*.

    Board:- Asrock A330
    GPU:- HD2400 PCI (not PXIx/PCI-e) RV610
    OS:- Windows 7 Pro SP1 64-bit

    Weirdly, ATI Tray Tools (1.7.9.1573) works and even allows me to overclock ever so slightly although no temperature info is available.

    * this combination allowed GPU-Z to work but is incompatabe as above therefore cannot be used.

    Context:- I need GPU-Z to work on this PC as it is destined to be used as a headless server monitored remotely therefore I need as much hardware info as possible especially GPU load & temperature ... which is where GPU-Z is the best tool that I have found for the job.

    Help!
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,265 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,376
    what do you mean by "fails to start" ?
     
  5. ray_gti-r

    ray_gti-r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Windows (7) says GPU-Z "Stopped working" before anything actually started - just a completely empty window. Whould a screenshot help?
     
  6. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,582 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Oh, sorry it did not work.
    I assumed you had the A330ION, you got the A330GC then? (I should not assume, this is the result):)
    I have used the A330ION in a build for a friend. He is enjoying it.

    Back on topic:

    You might want to try the event viewer in Windows 7... it would probably give more info on the problem.

    What information appears in event logs (Event Viewer)?
    Event Viewer How To...
    Start Event Viewer
    Event Logs
    Event Properties

    Or, you can try this, it works and is free to use: MyEventViewer v1.66 - Alternative to the standard event viewer of Windows by Nirsoft

    32 bit download
    64 bit download

    Also, just a few ideas you may want to try running GPU-z:

    1. run GPU-z with administrative privileges
    2. Dis-able UAC to test
    3. If, DEP is enabled try it with DEP disabled
    4. If you are using any A/V or firewall; either, dis-able it/them to test or check the permissions
     
  7. ray_gti-r

    ray_gti-r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi.
    Thanks for the reply, really excellent advice which I tried. I would also add "Try running in XP mode" which I have ... both SP2 & SP3 options. Having hit a brick wall with my efforts I thought I'd try asking the experts hereabouts.

    To recap:-

    GPU-Z version 5.6 & CCC 11.11 allowed GPU-Z to work but CCC 11.11 is incompatabe with my BOINC project.

    GPU-Z versions [many, just tested down to 2.4] with CCC 11.9, GPU-Z doesn't start i.e., Windows (7) says GPU-Z "Stopped working" before anything actually started - just a completely empty window.

    Again, I truly appreciate the time & effort you have all put into this issue so far ...

    Cheers, Ray
     
  8. ray_gti-r

    ray_gti-r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Help!

    Please, I need a solution.

    Thanks Ray
     
  9. ray_gti-r

    ray_gti-r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    After MUCH faffing (the polite meaning) around:-

    Found that CCC 11.5 & GPU-Z 0.2.4 work to allow GPU-Z to function on this PC.

    And ATI Tray Tools works OK.

    And BOINC project works OK.

    Explain?

    (FWIW I'm cooking this brew for 24 hrs to confirm no issues and memorising the correct spelling of incompatible :~P )
     
  10. ray_gti-r

    ray_gti-r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  11. ray_gti-r

    ray_gti-r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,265 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,376
    please check if the attached build fixes your problem.

    yesterday i fixed a crash that can happen on old ati cards, especially when using old drivers (this change is not included in 0.5.7)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. ray_gti-r

    ray_gti-r New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I truly appreciate the reply and time&effort, W1zzard.

    This build does not fix the problem.
    Tried with CCC 11.5.
    1st run - blank window, as before. Then ran 0.2.4 to check that was still working - yes.
    2nd run - showed correctly HD2400 but nothing else - all other fields blank. Then after about 60 seconds it errors-out with "GPU-Z ... stopped working" as before.

    Reprise:- GPU-Z 0.2.4 still works OK with CCC 11.5.

    Regards, Ray
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,265 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,376
    ok, i'll try to dig up a hd 2000 class card to find out whats going on
     
  15. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,265 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,376

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page