1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z Is it working for your card or not?

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by newtekie1, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Does not show my vendor(Palit) for my 8800GT.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That's because Palit cards don't have a Vendor ID.
     
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  3. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,629 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    That's just like my Albatron 8800GT-512X:(
     
  4. Marioace

    Marioace New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    memory interface 9600GT is 256bits, 9600GSO is 192bits
     
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    so a 9600GSO is the same as a 8800GS?
     
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    yea
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  7. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    so i would be paying $10 more for the same damn thing... thanks for telling me. :toast:
     
  8. Steveyboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi there

    I need some help. I bought the XFX 384meg 9600GSO last week. The performance of the card is really nice. Assassins Creed, Frontlines fuel of war and SIms 2 all play on high graphics pretty well. I upgraded from a 7600GS and did not have enough money for the 9600GT or 8800GT.

    The problem that I have is that the GRU-Z only shows my memory clock as 900mhz and not 1800mhz as advertised by XFX. The core clock and shader clock is correct at 580mhz/1450mhz. Can someone tell me what can be wrong because I sent the info to XFX support, they are yet to reply back and I went to the computer store where I bought the card but they could not help me.

    Is there something wrong with my card?

    Steve
     
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    No, there is nothing wrong with it. Gfx cards use what's known as DDR ram, also known as Double Data Rate. In other words, it can perform 2 operations per 1 clock cycle, whereas the old SDRAM could only do 1 operation per cycle. The same holds true for all types of sytem memory that's DDR.

    So DDR ram that's rated at 1800Mhz, actually runs at 900, because it can do 2 operations per clock. In essence, they are saying it would be equivalent to SDRAM at 1800Mhz. Like I said, that goes for all types of DDR ram. Even DDR2-800 for example, it actually runs at 400Mhz.
     
  10. Mr.Lilek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Works OK for 9500 GT

    [​IMG]
     
  11. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,501 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Great explanation! :toast:
     
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Sapphire makes nV :wtf:
     
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i didn't know that...

    Also where did you get a 9500 at?
     
  14. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,501 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Kansas City
    yeah the 9500's just came out. Have you enjoyed the newest collection to the 9 series? Any benchmarks yet? I'm interested to know more about this card!!
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2008
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    can you find it in the US? from the benchmarks i have seen it looks to be about equal to a 7900GS/GT
     
  16. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,501 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Haven't looked for purchase. I personally wouldn't buy the card, since from what I've seen the 8600 series is its rival. Why buy a new 9500 card when the 8600 GTS will out preform and cost the same?
    Maybe Mr. Leek will help us out and bounce some benching off the card?
     
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    From what ive seen its on par with the 8600GT.. I would just wait for the HD 4600's or get a 9600GT.
     
  18. Mr.Lilek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry, I do not play games much and I do not have any benchmarking utility installed :eek:
    The only game I play is World of Warcraft.
    With this card, I play WoW at 1600x1200 (max details) with FPS 50+, so OK for me.

    I suppose it is not really great for gaming, but it doesn´t need extra power line and runs bellow 40 degrees celsius with passive cooling only (AC Accelero S1).
    That's all I care about :)


    This card is, in fact, reference sample with no branding. I too was surprised to see Sapphire as manufacturer.
     
  19. Prodigys

    Prodigys New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maaseik, Belgium
    Isn't this wrong ?

    [​IMG]

    Because :

    * GPU: 2x G92
    * Release Date: 03/2008
    * Interface: PCI-E 2.0 x16
    * Transistors: 2X 754 million
    * Unified shaders: 2x 128
    * ROP's: 2x 16
    * Core Clock: 600 MHz
    * Memory Clock: 1000 MHz (GDDR3)
    * Memory Bandwidth: 128 GB/sec
    * Memory Interface: 512 bit (2x 256 bit)
    * Memory: 1024 MB (2x 512MB)
     
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Its reading one of the 9800's. Its completely normal. Its just two cards using the same pci-e slot.
     
  21. Prodigys

    Prodigys New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maaseik, Belgium
    Hmmm, would love to see the double spec's ... I bought a 9800GX2, not a 8800GT.
    If you believe the spec's then I mean...
     
  22. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Its two 8800GTS in a single card. It sees it as two cards because it has two G92 cores. If you want two combined cores, get the soldering iron out :)
     
  23. Steveyboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Why does my 9600GSO look like it's almost a match for the 8800GT - The specs looks almost (maybe not almost but closely) like the 8800GT with the exception of the bitrate and memory and of course the shaders, but the clock speeds looks almost like it can match the performance of the 8800GT > My 9600GSO shows core/memory/shader 580/900/1450. I haven't overclocked the card as I'm running it with only a 400W PSU which is the minumum requirements. I thought a GS is not as good as a GT but as I'm playing Assassins Creed and Frontlines fuel of war on it on high graphics, it's absolutely amazing. I am really impressed with my new AngelFace as she performs really well for a budget card. However if I had a bit more money, I would have gone for the 8800GT. I want to overclock as I read on tomshardware.com that I can go pass the 680 core clock on a XFX as there is no clock speed limiter. Can this be possible?
    If it is, then I need to invest in a 600W PSU to let my AngelFace (9600GSO) become a real Bi**h when it comes to playing high end games.
     
  24. Prodigys

    Prodigys New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maaseik, Belgium
    I know what you mean. But I mean, why doesn't GPU-z show the spec's combined ?
    Because there are 2 cores ?
     
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Because the driver doesn't treat them that way.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page