1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z Not Showing PhysX

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by kzinti1, Apr 6, 2013.

  1. kzinti1

    kzinti1

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Surf City, North Carolina
    It also doesn't work with 0.7.0.
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,381
    does it work with an older version of gpuz? even gpuz without titan support might be able to detect physx support
  3. kzinti1

    kzinti1

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Surf City, North Carolina
    It hasn't worked since installing this Titan videocard.
  4. kzinti1

    kzinti1

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Surf City, North Carolina
    Bought another Titan. PhysX still doesn't show on GPU-Z 0.7.0.
    Still can't uninstall PhysX, or run Repair.
    Can't access Safe Boot for deep uninstall of Nvidia drivers through F8 or SysConfig.
    Probably nothing to do with GPU-Z.
    Completely lost at this point.
  5. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Did you try Driver Fusion (formerly Driver Sweeper) to remove all traces of the Nvidia GeForce video drivers?
    Link:
    http://treexy.com/products/driver-fusion
    Then just restart the computer and try installing the GeForce drivers again.
    Last edited: May 3, 2013
  6. kzinti1

    kzinti1

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Surf City, North Carolina
    Thanks.
    Yes I did. I even bought the paid version last weekend thinking that may have helped.
    It didn't. I ran it about 10 times last Sunday and PhysX always remained.
    If I could find out how to access Safe Boot I think it would solve this aggravating problem.
    On top of that, now there's the Microsoft KB2670838 Update BUG that totally screws up the results of FutureMarks Firestrike benchmark.
    X5123 for one GTX Titan and X2370 for a pair of these cards in SLi is just plain ridiculous!
    This apparently isn't my year for videocards.
    Naki says thanks.
  7. kzinti1

    kzinti1

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Surf City, North Carolina
    It worked! I finally, finally got into Safe Boot, ran Treexy's Driver Fusion Premium and got rid of PhysX!
    After reinstalling, GPU-Z now says that I have PhysX installed.
    Thanks to everybody for helping me with this, I appreciate it more than you can possibly imagine.
    I am still quite paranoid as to why Nvidia would make removing PhysX and their other drivers so extremely difficult to remove.
    I see no reason why they shouldn't go completely out of their way to make this the easiest thing you can do with your computer.
    Nvidia drivers, as well as any other drivers can, and do, become corrupted and need to be completely removed and then replaced. They must have some ulterior motive as to why they make it almost impossible to do so.
    Thanks again for all of your help.
    Naki says thanks.
  8. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    What is Safe Boot??? Do you mean Windows Safe Mode?
    You are welcome, glad you finally got this annoying issue fixed! :)
    I gave you a couple of "Thanks". :)
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,381
    i must have uninstalled nvidia's drivers via control panel->software a few hundred times and never had any issues.

    good to hear you figured it out
  10. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I assume he means the driver uninstall procedure leaves some stuff behind (Registry keys/files/etc), which wouldn't surprise me.
  11. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,290 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    maybe that's why Nvidia has but "Clean installation" under Advanced or what the name is :D
    Naki says thanks.
  12. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yeah, but that is "Clean installation", not "Clean un-installation"! :) :D
  13. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,290 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    724
    it actually checks Windows Registration Database or what u call it, for values in there, or i did last time i looked at it, but that's really long time ago...
  14. kzinti1

    kzinti1

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Surf City, North Carolina
    I always run installs beginning with Clean Install.
    It works to a point. But, Nvidia has buried bits of their software so deeply into the registry that even their own Clean Install pre-Installation program can't get at them.
    AMD is just as bad at hiding parts of their drivers as well.
    After I finally got into Safe Boot I also analyzed for leftover AMD drivers and found a list of around 50 that their new Driver Uninstall program completely missed.
    I believe both companies have been asked why their drivers are almost impossible to completely remove.
    Their answer, as always, is "User Error."
    How clicking on "Uninstall" is a User Error I'll never know.
    Since the Wiz never has any problems removing drivers, he should hire himself out to both companies and show them how to do it right.
    I have no doubt whatsoever that he's a far better programmer than either company has and could help them come up with Uninstall programs that actually work.
  15. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,645 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,381
    been there, done that, gave it up because companies barely want to pay anything for it.

    amd has a pretty nice driver uninstaller software on their website now
  16. kzinti1

    kzinti1

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Surf City, North Carolina
    Thanks W1z. I didn't know these large companies were so cheap when it comes to paying the employees that made them great. Typical corporate greed.
    I have used the latest AMD driver uninstaller. http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Pages/catalyst-uninstall-utility.aspx
    It left all those driver remnants I mentioned earlier. Not much better than AMD's previous uninstaller.
    Any way, this thread is done and, at least for now, all is copacetic.
    Thanks again.
  17. digitalwizdom New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GPU-Z Not Showing PhysX (fixed)

    Hi All,

    If you discover your GPU-Z Not Showing PhysX , (mainly after a Card swap and Driver update ) was my problem.. So stopped here to find a fix ..

    Had no luck here , but it got me looking into the problems with interest , having two computer do the same thing after switching Cards out .. One computer had a XFX GeForce 8800 GTS and the other had a XFX Geforce 9800 GTX , when I switched the card between the computers both loaded drivers and both turned up with PhysX not showing in GPU-z ...

    Now the FIX ..

    one Computer was running Vista 64 bit Ultimate I went to the folder C:/NVIDIA/DisplayDriver/GeForce320.49Driver/ and run the file named ' PhysX/PhysX_9.13.0604_SystemSoftware' ...

    done the same on the win 7 computer with the same GPU-z problem and it's Fixed :toast:
  18. kzinti1

    kzinti1

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Surf City, North Carolina
    I imagine that works very well.
    That is if PhysX isn't already working.
    My problem was lack of detection of PhysX by GPU-Z, which you haven't addressed.
    An initial check to see if PhysX is actually installed and working is, of course, the very first step in determining the problem with GPU-Z not detecting PhysX.
    I've since built yet another computer and GPU-Z works flawlessly with it and the EVGA GTX690 I'm now using.
    When Ivy Bridge-E arrives I'll be building another.
    The fix for my previous computer?
    I removed the Nvidia videocard and replaced it with my ASUS Ares II.
    No PhysX = no problem with GPU-Z, at all.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page