1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GPU-Z problems with NV GT630M

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by silentbogo, Nov 21, 2013.

  1. silentbogo

    silentbogo

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Messages:
    154 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I'm having some problems with GPU-Z on my laptop.
    First problem - jumpy sensor readings.
    It shows the data for about 1 second, then it goes blank for 5-6 secs.
    gpuz.gif
    Second problem is on the main tab of the program.
    No gpu/vram speed info, and the Bus Interface is jumping between PCI Express and PCI-E 2.0 x16.
    Also shows no CUDA support.
    gpuz2.gif
     
  2. Funkeke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm have a same problem
     
  3. zsolt_93

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    301 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Romania
    It is most likely the nvidia optimus technology messing up those readings.
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,944 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,734
    I think so too. Can you disable Optimus to test if that solves the problem?
     
  5. Funkeke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't have optimus technology... But when starting a game or program, the sensors and features of gpu-z works perfect

    Lenovo G400s
    i3 3110M 2.40 GHz
    4 GB RAM 1600 MHz
    INTEL HD 4000
    and NVIDIA 720M GT 2GB
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Funkeke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Active and inactive... Any idea how to fix this?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,878 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    What is there to fix? When the NVIDIA GPU isn't being used, it gets put in a sleep state by the driver until it's needed again, and there's no reason to monitor it in this state. Your Intel HD graphics on your CPU run 100% of the time and is connected to the display outputs, and the NVIDIA card (when it's actually running) uses some "driver-fu" to get its framebuffer over to the Intel chip and display it. This is how most Intel/NVIDIA laptops are set up today, and if the display outputs were actually connected to the NVIDIA chip, it wouldn't be able to turn off at all and the Intel integrated graphics would serve zero purpose.

    [​IMG]
     
    Funkeke says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. Funkeke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks...

    Greetings from Chile
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page